We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real home, great experience staying at this riad!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Amiris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Amiris
Ranked #298 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a real home, great experience staying at this riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at this riad for 4 days. Khadiaja and Fatima have been extremely helpful and polite. They always tried their best to accommodate our requests and give us advice. They helped us with directions, shopping advice, sightseing info.. Something needed fixing in the shower and was fixed within 10 minutes.
Khadiaja also taught me how to cook morrocan food and gave me tips on tajines! DInner was fantastic, hearty tasty and traditional. I would definately recommend dinner for all visitors. Candlelit dinner was very romantic and atmospheric too.
Practically talking, the rooms are of a good size, are clean and water was always warm. Linen was very clean as well. Decoration was traditional. I loved how we had little windows facing at the courtyeard. The riad was always cooler and quieter than the outside. It is a great place to relax too and plan the day ahead with lots of guide books. It is conveniently located just 5 minutes from Jamma el Fna Also, even though it was unusual for us, the rooms do not have locks or keys. At first i felt a bit insecure, but i soon realised that all my stuff was safer in there than in my own home! Eventually this made me feel as if I was part of the family. Plus it was a great way to experience morrocan culture (architecture, decor, traditions)
Overall, to be honest I do not understand why some people rated this riad negatively. Yes, it is not the sheraton. Hospitality is much more important than a shiny staircase for me, so I definately rate it higher than any other hotel i have visited, even some 5 star ones. Of course I would definitely visit again.
My love and best wishes to Khadiaja and Fatima!:)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmigol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    56
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
32
140
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Michel and his staff were very helpful and welcoming. The whole place was delightful. Our room was Oiseaux and it was beautiful. Air conditioning was very useful, wine and food were good. Don't miss the roof terrace for breakfast and last thing at night with a bottle of wine. We recommend it highly, its a shame we couldn't stay longer!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

just returned from short stay, the amiris is a traditional riad that is in the middle of the medina and 5 mins away from the main square.
the tangines cooked by Khadija are lovely, and you will be welcomed with a mint tea and maderia cake,
the rooms are all different, 3 on ground floor off the innercourtyard, and others up stairs. mine was on ground floor and was long but narrow, but very pretty and rustic, no windows or locks on doors, but felt safe and comfortable in beautiful bed.
the roof terrace was fantastic, and recommend having your breakfast up there, breakfast was breads,crepes and jams, with fresh juice and coffee.
the amiris is traditionally decorated, comfortable and clean, it may be shabby chic in morrocan standards, but i feel it has its own special ambience, and depicts standard that is favouable in this price bracket.
mant thanks to the in house staff, Khadiaja and daughter fatima who catered for my requests for extra coffee and mint teas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elainebrettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We booked this riad on the back of the very positive reviews. One word would sum it up - disappointing! We stayed in the etoiles room. The paint was peeling off the bathroom walls, the sink was grubby with loose taps, when I dropped some clothing behind a chair and picked it back up it was covered in dust, the room was never serviced during our stay and we had to request new toilet rolls etc. If you like breads and jam then breakfast is fine but this was all that was on offer and it was the same offering every day. Rahdija etc were courteous and responded to specific requests but did not go out of their way to help. You are not able to lock your rooms and you do not have a personal key to the riad. The location of the riad is fantastic, very close to the main square etc. We had a really great time in Marrakech but it certainly wasn't due to staying here.

Room Tip: Do not choose the etoiles room - it needs a makeover. I think the rooms upstairs would offer more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Had a lovely winter break in the Riad Amiris! the location was excellent, the staff were really helpful - especially Khadija! - the bedrooms were beautifully decorated and really spacious with en suites and a hairdryer! it was such a calm and relaxing place to stay considering the liveliness of the square during the day and in the evening! The new town was also only 10mins away from here and was great with all the shops & restaurants & amazing food! I would defintiely come back here and have already reccommend family and freinds to stay here!

S from London

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed in the Sun room. 3 night short break. Room was fine except for lack of hot water. bathroom basic with loose taps and peeling paint. Location is perfect for a short break. within minutes you enter the hustle and bustle and NOISE!!of Marrakech, but close the Riad door and all is quiet. Good breakfast with great Jams.
Not suitable for unrulely young children with water pool in centre of Riad.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Arriving in Marrakesh to the traffic, hustle and bustle is a great experience , but what topped it was when Rhadija opened the door to the riad. A beautiful oasis of calm, that is so close to all the major sights. We stayed half board in the "birds room ". The room was gorgeous as was all the decor in the riad. We could not believe how quiet it was inside the riad and also how fantastic the service was, nothing was too much trouble for Rhadija, she constantly had the biggest smile and really took great care of us. she cooked for us every day and would cook us anything we wanted. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning was wonderful, reading in the courtyard was very relaxing and we slept like babies in the most comfortable bed after a day sighteeing. We would highly reccomend this riad, you are guaranteed great service, a lovely atmosphere and a location that is unbelievably close to the square and all the other great attractions of Marrakesh. Thankyou again Rhadija for making our stay so wonderful, we wish we could have brought you home with us!!! Mr and Mrs Ross

Room Tip: Ask for the birds room, gorgeous and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairRoss7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#158 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#104 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hidden
Riad Hidden
#308 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#169 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Agdim
Riad Agdim
#275 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#263 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amiris

Property: Riad Amiris
Address: 47 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Angle Rue Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amiris 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Amiris is located 200 meters from Jemaâ El Fna Square and a 4-minute drive from Koutoubia Mosque. This traditionally decorated riad offers a rooftop terrace, a hammam and a central patio. All of the rooms at Riad Amiris have air conditioning and a seating area. Each room includes a private bathroom with a shower. Typical, Moroccan dishes can be enjoyed for dinner, upon prior reservation. Free Wi-Fi internet connection access is available in the common areas. Marrakech Menara Airport is a 25-minute drive away and public parking is possible near the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Riad Amiris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amiris Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing