We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place and very warm welcome”
Review of La Ferme Berbere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Ferme Berbere
Ranked #173 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place and very warm welcome”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I would highly recommend La Ferme Berbere to anyone interested in spending some quality time away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Marrakech. The rooms are quiet, authentic and comfortable, the garden is very safe (our kids are 6 and 9 and we felt very comfortable letting them roam around), the staff attentive (and very kind with our children- who even managed to speak French, a real bonus for us as we try to go to places where they can practise...) We live in london but are a 1/2 french family so it is always a challenge to go to new places that include ideally all our criteria: Some French speaking, interesting culturally and geographically (i.e. close to some mountains :-) sun but not too hot, not too touristy, small friendly structures, nice food... tought set of criteria to meet for us as a family but I have to say the Ferme Berbere was absolutely brilliant against each of them. I have to make a special mention for the food which was fab and very much appreciated by our kids too. Thank you so much to everyone for an excellent stay, we will be back, -probably in late spring early summer next time so we can enjoy the pool too (still too chilly at this time of year but really nice to look at when you have your lunch outside).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    58
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
79
47
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We came to La Ferme Berbere in May and we felt in love with the place. Particia, Celine and Laurence are so lovely to welcome you. We decided to go back again in July. La Ferme Berbere is like been home but even better. The food is amazing. The rooms are designed to be warm and confortable. It's very easy to go to the Medina (20 minutes by taxi). The SPA is so lovely, so typically Maroccan. It's now hard to go to other places :) as for sure at La Ferme Berbere you make good memories you are never disappointed

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SophM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

After 3 days in Marrakech,we( 2 youngish....couples) headed for the well recommended "la ferme berbere" (berbere spa) by taxi (cost under £ 14.00 for 4 people ) sent for us by the riad Tibibt where we d stayed.
We booked the 2 suites ,next to the spa as we wanted a quiet place in nature!
They both have their own little outside patio in a little private olive grove.
The purple room is the most tucked away,with it s own fountain but the orange one is slightly bigger ,bigger patio area,and nearer the handfull of animals(kept well ,so no smells or noise-)
The rooms are very clean,rustic but cosy and nicely decorated.We had complimentary home made biscuits, and traditional soap and body scrub in the bathroom.We loved it! We chose to have breakfast and evening drinks in the main living room ,next to a warming fire place (The nights ,early mornings are still a bit fresh in early march),but enjoyed a very tasty lunch around the pool,in the sun.
There is also a roof garden ,for more private" sun worshipping",with stunning view over the countryside.
The meals are set,but they accomodate for you if asked..In any case the cook has a very good reputation,mentionned in travel guides,and the meals are truly delicious and generous.(they bake their own bread in the outside oven ,in front of you!)
We also had a few traditional spa treatments,full hamman and massages....BLISS..........
The all place was quiet. A few families were there but it seems that everyone is like minded: relax in natural setting,but plenty to do and enjoy if it s what you want!(cooking classes,excursions,donkey rides, crafts etc...)
There is a reading room as well,well supplied with all sort of books(most in French,of course!)
We went for a little morning stroll outside, it felt very safe , the view on the Atlas mountains is breath taking!
The staffs are lovely ,discreet yet attentive..
We had a magical time there,and feel very lucky to have found this little gem!
Good value for money too!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lialKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We booked for 4 nights between a riad in the medina and travelling to Essaouira, staying the first night in one of the tents and three in a room.

The tent was for experience sake and was reasonably comfortable, though be warned, the toilet is a dry one! Moving to the room seemed like a luxury in comparison and pretty well was, aside from very poor air conditioning and sporadic hot water. The air con needed to be left on all day in order to get the room cool enough for us to sleep, which we didn't work out until the last night.

The pool was very nice, and the surroundings OK, although you do need a taxi to get anywhere. We ate at the farm a number of times, and were always pleased with our meals, however the real highs were the service (particularly from Anna), and the excursion with Mohammed and Abdul who gave us a wonderful day out in the mountains.

Would we return? Probably not, as there is so much to see in Morocco.. if we did, then just for one night

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overthinkingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The setting, the staff, the relaxing accommodations, the entire package of an enjoyable place to call 'home' while in Marrakech. We brought both our young children and our parents to spend the week at La Ferme Berber as we explored the Medina, the mountains and the culture. We booked both the Berber tent and the separate cottage by the spa. The berber tent is really neat as it gives you comfy beds, a shower and all of the modern expectations of a suite while all being encapsulated in a real Berber tent! The cottage is also beautiful and more along the lines of traditional luxury accommodations. We ate most meals in the restaurant and can unequivocally say that the food is fantastic. The children love the pool area and at one point were treated to a Moroccan bread baking lesson by one of the chefs. We will absolutely be back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CDNRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

La Ferme Berbere is a small auberge located 9 km south of Marrakech on route de l'Ourika. As I live in Marrakech I was looking to spend a nice day out somewhere next to a pool and it proved to be the right choice. I had a 3 course meal and a beer and all in all it cost me around 13 euros and that included use of the pool ( towel provided). Don't get me wrong, this is nothing out of this world but for the money you pay it's hard to get any better value around Marrakech. It has a very nice garden with enough scenery to cut you away from the surroundings. A very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristian_martinus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin Tougana Campement & Lodge
11.0 mi away
Residence Dar Lamia
Residence Dar Lamia
#82 of 1,148 in Marrakech
264 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Cazar
Le Cazar
#6 of 1,148 in Marrakech
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coco Canel
Coco Canel
#216 of 1,148 in Marrakech
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Tougga
Dar Tougga
#107 of 1,148 in Marrakech
266 reviews
6.7 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#2 of 285 in Marrakech
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme Berbere

Property: La Ferme Berbere
Address: Km 9 - Route de l'Ourika | Km 9 Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ferme Berbere 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NLIMITED HAPPINESS! An authentic farm restored in line with Moroccan tradition, La Ferme Berbère is a guesthouse owned by three friends,Majd,sophie and Nolane harbouring a passion for cooking and nature. Ten rooms with private terraces and the latest modern conveniences, along with two converted Berber tents, lie nestled within more than a hectare of olive and orange trees, just a few kilometres from the heart of Marrakesh. The Spa, overlooking a garden in full bloom, will captivate your senses with Oriental fragrances. Laid-back or vibrant, days oscillate between poolside siestas, delicious meals at the table d'hôte, wellbeing treatments, craft workshops, activities for children, and excursions to the valleys and mountains. Since opening, this address has nurtured a charming reputation thanks to its strong identity, warm welcome and plethora of services on offer. Owners: Sophie Vaïsse, Nollane et Majd Chetouani International ecological La Clé Verte label since 2010 10 rooms including 4 suites, 2 Berber tents Table d'hôtes SPA Daily excursions and treks, cooking classes, workshops and activities for kids, design workshops with local craftsmen, yoga and meditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Ferme Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing