We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“through the back of the wardrobe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Azoulay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Azoulay
Ranked #26 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Caylus, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“through the back of the wardrobe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in three riads during our stay in Morocco and this was a firm favourite. The location is right on the edge of the spice souk and arriving at the Riad we were not prepared for the impact when the door opened - just like passing through the back of the wardrobe into Narnia! The staff were just lovely - attentive and friendly without being pushy, our suite luxurious and the food superb. The superb roof terrace affords great views and good stork spotting. Any return trip to Marrakech we would certainly look no further than Riad Azoulay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 82SueC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    40
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
140
303
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I escaped here after our wedding in October 2012 (please ignore chosen date of travel). A marvellous place, perfectly relaxing and a delight to be part of real Morroco. Staff, excellent and helpful and generous, particularly the night manager Rada. Owner Mass, superbly helpful, nothing was too much. Tucked away this is a real gem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novice_traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The staff at Riad Azoulay are attentive and very gracious. The riad is clean and fresh with lovely flowers placed through out the hotel. The scent that floats in the air is luscious. Azoulay feels more like visiting family that waits on your every need. Pleasing guests is their daily goal and I certainly experienced the result of that promise. I celebrated my 70th birthday at the Azoulay and was thrilled with the attention to my day! Sandro prepared for me a Risotto and Max made me a cake. It was delightful. So, go to Marrakech and stay at Riad Azoulay. It was a blissful time I will never forget. Most important too, I felt totally safe even at night walking through the Medina after Souks had closed their shops. Thanks Azoulay!

Room Tip: Be prepared to waken early for a few moments when the call to prayer is sung from next door Mask. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midtownttowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had originally booked another riad, but a fault on their booking system meant that they were double booked and so they booked us into Riad Azoulay instead. Initially I was disappointed at this, as I didn't like the look of it, but the website doesn't do it justice - it is lovely!

Do book the airport transfer (30 Euro return for 2 people) as you'll never find the place otherwise. Location is perhaps not the best, down a very 'real' street in the Mellah district, and you go through the spice souk to reach it. However, very conveniently place for the Badi And Bahia Palaces and Saadian Tombs, a 10 minute walk to the main square, and some nice restaurants and bars are close by.

The riad itself is cool, calm and tranquil. Rooms are well equipped and nicely decorated. Service is outstanding yet discreet.

Dining in the riad is worth it, and was our best meal in Marrakech. A selection of salads to start, a delicious meatball and fig tagine, chocolate cake. No choice, so if you don't like something or have any requirements then let them know in advance. 36 Euro/head, so not cheap, but delicious. Wine is available.

We had a hammam - a good black soap scrub and clay bake in a steamy room - good authentic experience but be aware that when the lady asks whether you want a massage afterwards it is an additional cost. However, hammam and half hour massage is 45 Euro, so pretty good value.

Overall, a really excellent riad in the approx £100/night price bracket. Yes there are more opulent places with proper restaurants and bars, but you will pay at least double the price for them.

Room Tip: Superior rooms re definitely worth the slight upgrade cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed three nights at Riad Azoulay and love every minute. The Riad is well located in the fragrant spice quarter of Marrakech and a short walk from the main square / bigger souks.

The Riad is spacious, beautifully decorated with excellent service - friendly and attentive staff - and was such a lovely tranquil haven to return to away from the hustle bustle of the city. The rooftop terrace is a nice spot for breakfast and to soak up the call to prayer with a mint tea.

We'd also highly recommend the food at Riad Azoulay, dished up by a Moroccan 'mama' chef - it was the best food we had by far during the three days we were there, much better than nearby tourist traps and overpriced restaurants. It strikes a balance between authentic and reasonably priced.

Room was very comfortable and we were upgraded on the final night.

All in all, a fantastic stay and we couldn't recommend this Riad highly enough - outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMINLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this beautiful riad and would highly recommend it. The location is perfect with many of the main things to do in the city within walking distance. We were greated from airport and safely driven/walked to the riad to be warmly welcomed with mint tea and shortbreads. The riad is tucked down an alley but the staff took us out the riad the first time to help us get our bearings and provided us with a map. The breakfast was varied each morning and delicious. The rooms were spacious and traditionally designed with a comfortable bed. Marrakesh is a busy place and this was a perfect retreat at the end of the day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank experiencedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Staff and riad are absolutely amazing! from the moment you enter the riad, the staff treats you like royalty and there for anything you may need no matter how small, no matter what time. The indoor pool is heavenly and the Moroccan bath they offer is a must! We enjoyed a dinner poolside by the riad chef and it was superb and very romantic! Breakfast in the morning on the terrace was fabulous and an amazing way to start every day. definitely recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#28 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#45 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#27 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Property: Riad Azoulay
Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir | Near Bahia Palace and El Badi Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. The Riad Azoulay has five spacious rooms, all overlooking the internal patio and all furnished with air conditioning and heating, roomy wardrobes, small safes for personal effects, Internet and WI-FI connection, mineral water and fresh flowers daily. Soft plump pillows and sheets of Egyptian cotton will help to make your nights comfortable and dreamy! All the bathrooms are ensuite, and are equipped with hair-dryers, soft towels and top rate ecological toilet and beauty products. Each suite has an individual theme, giving them a unique and unforgettable character.Some of the rooms can be provided with a third bed. The African, Mauritanian and Syrian rooms have matrimonial beds which can be made into two singles. The Riad Azoulay boasts two magnificent junior suites, the Favorita and the Tibetan Suites, and two large sumptuous suites, the Sultana and Royale Suites. The suites, which have been decorated with great care and attention to detail, come equipped with air conditioning and central heating, spacious wardrobes, private safes for the guests' personal effects, Internet and WI-FI connection, and a daily supply of mineral water and fresh flowers. Soft plump pillows and sheets of the finest Egyptian cotton have been provided to ensure the guests with all one needs for a relaxing night's sleep.All the bathrooms are ensuite, and are equipped with hair-dryers, soft towels and top rate ecological toilet and beauty products. The typical Mediterranean breakfast, included in the tariff of the room, can be served "al fresco" on the patio or terrace, or in the winter months, in the ground floor dining area. Guests will able to begin their day with freshly baked bread, homemade marmalade and jams, boiled, fried, or scrambled eggs or omelettes,oven fresh cakes and biscuits, yoghurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, and of course coffee or tea. Light freshly made snacks are available throughout the day. Thus while you are basking in the sun on the terrace you could enjoy a Moroccan yoghurt made with honey and nuts, or a bowl of fresh fruit salad, or if something a little more filling is preferred, a "trio" of Moroccan salads, or a perhaps a sandwich of grilled vegetables, with goats' cheese and a touch of mint. Our dinners are the result of a fusion of Moroccan and Italian cuisine, served by candlelight, and followed by a relaxing herb tea. We never use processed foods in our kitchen, and all our meals are prepared using traditional methods. Our chef plans a delicious menu of the day with typical traditional Moroccan dishes, prepared with love and the freshest of ingredients. Try our "briouates" (small pastries with savoury fillings) or the famous "pastilla" with pigeon and almonds, Moroccan salads and soups, and our delicious tajines and couscous, and we are sure you will be delighted! As we are only a small hotel, guests are kindly asked to let the staff know if they would like to dine with us. The chef will make every attempt to satisfy any dietary requirements the guests may have. Vegetarians are made most welcome. Moroccan Cuisine is a perfect combination of various traditional cuisines and is one of the best in the world. Its fascinating mixture of flavours, aromas and colours, combined with its capacity to amalgamate vegetables, fish and fruit with delicate and refined spices, have made it renowned and appreciated the world over. Mediterranean, African, and Oriental cuisine have been fused with the local Berber traditions; the bitter-sweet tastes are inherited from the lands of Arabia, whereas the tradition of combining fruit with meat is Persian. The desserts, full of sugar and spice, are instead a Turkish passion. In order to know a country well, the is no better way than to study its traditional cuisine, taste its foods, and enjoy its flavours and aromas. Thus, with this aim in mind, the Riad Azoulay offers its guests the opportunity to join the chef Saida, who will reveal to them all the secrets of the Moroccan cuisine. During the course the chef will teach the students how to recognize and choose the correct spices for each dish, how to cook using the traditional methods, and how to prepare some true Moroccan meals to serve to their friends and family when they return home. Amongst other things students will be taught how to make cous cous with lamb stew and vegetables, how to use the terracotta tajine to braise meat with vegetables and fruit, and how to make some very special Moroccan desserts. The ritual of the Hammam, which heals the body and relaxes the mind, is available to our guests in our Wellbeing Centre. Guests can enjoy a relaxing steam bath or an invigorating body scrub in the candle lit hammam, sitting on the benches of Italian Carrara marble. Or maybe they would like to book a soothing massage by one of our qualified masseurs, and experience the exotic qualities of the locally sourced but world famous Moroccan Argan oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing