We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm with top class service”
Review of Riad Azoulay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Azoulay
Ranked #37 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
312 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm with top class service”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Riad Azoulay is located within a bustling spice market; the small unmarked door is difficult to find within the maze of streets but the locals will guide you. For your first trip back out the staff at the Riad will take you to the main street so you can get your bearings. The contrast from the noisy streets to the peace of the Riad is delightful. The decor is beautiful; clean marble and lush greenery.

We were a group of five and stayed in a suite, which had a large main bedroom with kingsize bed, a living room with a fairly narrow bed and some chairs, and a dressing room which housed another bed and loft/bunk bed. The bathroom was large with two sinks and a separate room for the toilet. Toiletries and hairdryer were provided. All areas were kept very clean and housekeeping tidied daily. There was no lock on the door to our room but this seems common for Riads. There was a safe for valuables and the main front door is kept locked, so we were not concerned about our belongings.

The highlight of the Riad - the staff. All very friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us, including walking us to the main road or airport transfer and booking restaurants. Everyday we were served Moroccan sweet mint tea with biscuits at whatever time we wished. Alcohol is also served within the Riad if you want it and I was not charged for my glass of wine. The breakfasts were feasts every morning, but you don't get much choice, you are simply served everything they have made. Every day this included bread, pastries, cake, Moroccan crepes, jam, yoghurt, fruit, juice or smoothies and one day there were eggs as well. On the final day we ordered lunch and were cooked a delicious three course lunch of meat and veg pastries, lentils, tagines and chocolate mousse, which came to around £10 each!

Only negative was being disturbed by noise from other guests at night, because the main lounge area and rooms are not divided by much. However, one night when we complained the staff immediately told the group to be quiet. The call to prayer is also nearby and extremely loud at 5am, but that's not really their fault!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    46
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
156
344
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I can't rate this Riad and everyone who works there highly enough! I booked on the basis of trip advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. I contacted the Riad directly with a few queries and the responses were friendly, helpful and quick. They organised a transfer from the airport for us, and gave us such a warm welcome after the hectic walk through the souk. Sandro explained where we were on a map, what we should visit and organised lunch for us which was delicious (so we ate dinner at the Riad again on our last night). Our room (favorite) was delightful (just look at the photos). It was really clean, and we had petals in the bathroom, such a nice touch and the toiletries were lovely quality. There were chairs to relax in throughout the Riad, downstairs by the pool (where they'll serve you mint tea), on the balony outside our room and on the lovely roof terrace, where breakfast, which was a lovely collection of breads, cakes,yogurts, fruit, coffee, omelettes, was served. The people who work in the Riad are all lovely - happy to talk to you, happy to leave you in peace, nothing is too much trouble. We'd read about a restaurant that we wanted to try and they happily rang to book us a table. Unfortunately they were full but... one of the others had heard the call and found us another 'contact' who they rang and a table was booked! So helpful! There's also a spa on site - which I'd recommend - amazing massage.

This place is a must stay! It's an oasis of calm in a very hectic city. We loved it, and the people there, and hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'favorite' and it was amazing - we had a look at the other rooms - and they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Riad Azoulay is situated in a warren of streets in the south of the Medina near the Spice Souk. The place was chaotic as we arrived, and we were glad to be met by our dapper Italian host Sandro who guided us to the door of the Riad.

It really is an extraordinary experience stepping out of the chaos and through the big wooden door into the beautifully restored Riad. It is immediately clear that a lot of care and pride is taken in this place as we sat by the little pool and were offered mint tea as we got the formalities of check-in out of the way. Sandro was welcoming and engaged and took evident pride in showing us the photographic record of the extraordinary task of restoring the building to its former glory.

I found my stay here to be the perfect antidote to process-engineered business hotels. The rooms were beautifully furnished using local techniques and materials It was a refreshing experience to arrive into a room with no lock on the door but a simple bolt. The message was clear: "we're looking out for you."

This was borne out in a rather touching conversation with one of the young staff members. "We are like a family, here", he said. I believed him.

The staff are engaged and attentive, and provide great service with a genuine earnestness that shows that they care very much about their place of work. I almost felt bad at making poor Raida run all the way up the stairs to the terrace each morning with our breakfast, but he carried out his task with much good humour and grace.

This is a great place to stay, run by lovely people, and the deserve to do well. I very much hope to have the opportunity of returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eno25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Riad was in the bustling Jewish quarter called Mellah, but on entering, it was like stepping into a haven of peace and serenity! It was beautifully furnished with an eclectic mixture of modern art and old Moroccan artefacts with a lovely central courtyard and plunge pool. Our room was in fact a grand suite (we were upgraded!) and was fabulous; a sitting room where we had an evening meal, our bed chamber with a luxurious four-poster bed, a second bedroom where another family member stayed, and a spacious, well-equipped bathroom with separate WC/bidet. Our dinner was delicious, superbly prepared by their own cook and served in our room and breakfast next morning on the sunny terrace was also excellent. Sadly we did not meet the owner Massimiliano who was visiting Italy, but Alessandro and the staff made us very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This a beautifully private and relax Riad. The place is just gorgeous full of magic and crafted details. The staff was very welcoming and super fun. We travelled with our dog - Pancho - who was totally welcomed and catered for. Overall a beautiful experience I am definitely coming back.

Room Tip: We were going to book a suite but the rooms are so amazing there is not need to pay for the extra, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My family had such a wonderful time and experience. All of the staff were lovely, professional and willing to help at all times. They were also very helpful to guide us to find the best experiences outside of the riad.
The rooms were divine and we felt that it was exceptionally good value for money.
We would definitely go there again and recommend Riad Azoulay.
Our entire experience exceeded our expectations and if you have a chance get Safar to cook you a tagine and eat on the rooftop listening to the sounds of Marrakech whilst sitting in your beautiful haven - pure heaven. Thank you to all of the staff at the riad and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The riad and staff were extremely accommodating to our children however all activities for the child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyLeeHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Riad Azoulay exceeded all of our expectations. The owner, Massimiliano, went out of his way to make sure that not only was our stay at the Riad perfect, but our time in Morocco was enjoyable too. From making dinner reservations, spa reservations, and booking us a car and driver to take us to the Sahara, he went above and beyond with everything. The Riad was beautiful and all the staff were so warm and friendly, it felt like coming home every day, it even has pet turtles that roam around the bottom floor of the riad! We stayed in the Suite Royal, which had a large bathroom, an additional sitting room, and even a little loft. It felt like a little apartment. It was quiet and we didn't hear any noise from the street.

Thank you Massimiliano for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#55 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#35 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Property: Riad Azoulay
Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir | Near Bahia Palace and El Badi Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. The Riad Azoulay has five spacious rooms, all overlooking the internal patio and all furnished with air conditioning and heating, roomy wardrobes, small safes for personal effects, Internet and WI-FI connection, mineral water and fresh flowers daily. Soft plump pillows and sheets of Egyptian cotton will help to make your nights comfortable and dreamy! All the bathrooms are ensuite, and are equipped with hair-dryers, soft towels and top rate ecological toilet and beauty products. Each suite has an individual theme, giving them a unique and unforgettable character.Some of the rooms can be provided with a third bed. The African, Mauritanian and Syrian rooms have matrimonial beds which can be made into two singles. The Riad Azoulay boasts two magnificent junior suites, the Favorita and the Tibetan Suites, and two large sumptuous suites, the Sultana and Royale Suites. The suites, which have been decorated with great care and attention to detail, come equipped with air conditioning and central heating, spacious wardrobes, private safes for the guests' personal effects, Internet and WI-FI connection, and a daily supply of mineral water and fresh flowers. Soft plump pillows and sheets of the finest Egyptian cotton have been provided to ensure the guests with all one needs for a relaxing night's sleep.All the bathrooms are ensuite, and are equipped with hair-dryers, soft towels and top rate ecological toilet and beauty products. The typical Mediterranean breakfast, included in the tariff of the room, can be served "al fresco" on the patio or terrace, or in the winter months, in the ground floor dining area. Guests will able to begin their day with freshly baked bread, homemade marmalade and jams, boiled, fried, or scrambled eggs or omelettes,oven fresh cakes and biscuits, yoghurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, and of course coffee or tea. Light freshly made snacks are available throughout the day. Thus while you are basking in the sun on the terrace you could enjoy a Moroccan yoghurt made with honey and nuts, or a bowl of fresh fruit salad, or if something a little more filling is preferred, a "trio" of Moroccan salads, or a perhaps a sandwich of grilled vegetables, with goats' cheese and a touch of mint. Our dinners are the result of a fusion of Moroccan and Italian cuisine, served by candlelight, and followed by a relaxing herb tea. We never use processed foods in our kitchen, and all our meals are prepared using traditional methods. Our chef plans a delicious menu of the day with typical traditional Moroccan dishes, prepared with love and the freshest of ingredients. Try our "briouates" (small pastries with savoury fillings) or the famous "pastilla" with pigeon and almonds, Moroccan salads and soups, and our delicious tajines and couscous, and we are sure you will be delighted! As we are only a small hotel, guests are kindly asked to let the staff know if they would like to dine with us. The chef will make every attempt to satisfy any dietary requirements the guests may have. Vegetarians are made most welcome. Moroccan Cuisine is a perfect combination of various traditional cuisines and is one of the best in the world. Its fascinating mixture of flavours, aromas and colours, combined with its capacity to amalgamate vegetables, fish and fruit with delicate and refined spices, have made it renowned and appreciated the world over. Mediterranean, African, and Oriental cuisine have been fused with the local Berber traditions; the bitter-sweet tastes are inherited from the lands of Arabia, whereas the tradition of combining fruit with meat is Persian. The desserts, full of sugar and spice, are instead a Turkish passion. In order to know a country well, the is no better way than to study its traditional cuisine, taste its foods, and enjoy its flavours and aromas. Thus, with this aim in mind, the Riad Azoulay offers its guests the opportunity to join the chef Saida, who will reveal to them all the secrets of the Moroccan cuisine. During the course the chef will teach the students how to recognize and choose the correct spices for each dish, how to cook using the traditional methods, and how to prepare some true Moroccan meals to serve to their friends and family when they return home. Amongst other things students will be taught how to make cous cous with lamb stew and vegetables, how to use the terracotta tajine to braise meat with vegetables and fruit, and how to make some very special Moroccan desserts. The ritual of the Hammam, which heals the body and relaxes the mind, is available to our guests in our Wellbeing Centre. Guests can enjoy a relaxing steam bath or an invigorating body scrub in the candle lit hammam, sitting on the benches of Italian Carrara marble. Or maybe they would like to book a soothing massage by one of our qualified masseurs, and experience the exotic qualities of the locally sourced but world famous Moroccan Argan oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing