We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azoulay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Azoulay
Ranked #24 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Riad Azoulay is quite frankly the best holiday accommodation that I have EVER stayed.
The staff especially Rida and Bushra who were absolutely delightful and went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable.
On our arrival Max the owner surprised us with a free room upgrade which was very kind.
The room itself was gorgeous with a huge queen size four poster bed. The bathroom/Shower room was very authentic and the complimentary shower gels and lotions were simply lovely.
Complimentary authentic mint tea is served daily in the riad along with yummy morrocan pastries. I have tried tea in many locations in marrakech, but I must say the tea served in this riad is by far the best!
I will definitely be revisiting Riad Azoulay on my next visit to Marrakech without a doubt and would recommend this is anyone thinking of visiting Marrakech especially for couples who fancy a romatic getaway!

Room Tip: As the occasion of our visit was a birthday Max (the owner) kindly gave us a free upgrade. To be hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honest_Joe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    35
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
133
285
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Riad Azoulay is the most beautiful /romantic/peaceful Riad in Marrakech!  Massimilliano and his staff were more than generous in taking care of us...from arranging the pick up to and from the airport and to guiding us and helping arrange daily tours/excursions. 
Also to mention the food (especially dinner) was the best meal I ever had! (made form Massimilliano himself) in the most beautiful setting by the indoor pool.
Our room was beautiful, very clean and large, the rooftop was so peaceful -it was an escape/an oasis from the madness of the Medina (in which the Riad is situated just a few steps away-amazing location!) In short, Riad Azoulay is just perfect!
I highly recommend to stay at this here! and we will definitely be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youhearditfrommeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Siamo appena rientrati da questa bellissima vacanza in una città che non stanca mai. Si arriva al riad attraverso un dedalo di stradine nella mellah. I profumi sono inebrianti e il calore del caos confortante di Marrakech ci accolgono: siamo nel souq delle spezie. Oltre un bellissimo portone ci accoglie con la sua grande cortesia e gentilezza Massimiliano. Il riad ha un'atmosfera discreta, sobriamente elegante ed accogliente. Un'oasi di pace, relax e buon gusto. La mattina delle buonissime colazioni, sempre diverse ti coccolano, con la presenza della simpatica Meti.
Un servizio attento e caloroso. Una cucina deliziosa, con un'attenzione speciale di Massimiliano alle nostre richieste. Bellissima l'esperienza dei trattamenti benessere: l'hammam e i massaggi. Ci torneremo sicuramente.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrizia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We chose this Riad on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews and were not at all disappointed. Riad Azoulay was a little bit of heaven in Marrakech. The staff could not have been more gracious and attentive, the owner Massimiliano was exceptionally kind and generous. The taxi was waiting for us at the airport. The rooms were spotless. Tea was always available on our return from the Medina. We had two wonderful evening meals. It was all perfect. Thank you to all the staff. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KThomasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Riad Azoulay is a beautiful sanctuary near the Spice Souk; the Riad arranged for a driver to pick us up at the Airport and a staff member was waiting for us outside the souk to lead us to the riad. It's a short walk through the souk and a great first introduction to Marrakech!

The riad is impeccably managed; the staff are incredibly attentive and polite. The breakfasts are served daily in different places in the riad - poolside, rooftop, etc - which is lovely. The food is fantastic and very, very plentiful. Our last day at the riad we had a very early AM flight -- Massimo arranged for a full breakfast for us! He and the staff are so hospitable!

The decor is understated, elegant and chic. Great care has been made in the restoration of the riad and it is very well cared for. I travelled with a friend and we shared a room on the second floor which was lovely -- king sized bed (as 2 singles were not available) - and it was fine. There was a lovely sitting area near a fireplace; the bathroom had a lovely shower with toilet and bidet.

We also ate regularly at the Riad - some evenings we had snacks (brevat) and wine (a very nice Moroccan wine) and one night a traditional Marrakechi dinner, which was superb, again with Moroccan wine.

One day we shared a ride to Essaouira with other guests from the Riad - we had a wonderful time. Essaouira is a lovely city; the driver was extremely professional and shared information and history of Morocco on the ride. Long story short, Massimo can arrange for a number of excursions ... other guests at the riad took the day trip to the waterfalls and said they were impressed.

One thing to note is that a mosque is located just next door so you will enjoy a lovely wake up call to prayer at 5 AM daily. We got used to this and after a few days came to enjoy the lovely singing of the prayer.

I really enjoyed Riad Azoulay and will return when i am next in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

It happens to us and I think,it happens to everyone, who is entering. Just very important thing - if you coming first time there, you need to be shure,that someone from the riad will meet you on the entrance of the medina!!!
Very nice,quiet and stylish place and we can recommend it for everybody! And if you'll come there, please give our best wishes to Massimiliano and all other in riad Azoulay!

Room Tip: All of them are beautiful, but suite on the first floor are really special. And if you want to catch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kestas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We began our trip to Morocco at Riad Azoulay and found it the perfect way to enter a new culture. The immersion began when helpful and engaging Redouen met us at the entrance to the spice souk and we plunged into the wonderful smells, sounds, and sights of the narrow passageway. Breakfasts were the best we had in 3 weeks in Morocco, the two dinners we ate there were tied for our very favorites, the rooftop was a wonderful retreat, and the in-house hammam and massage experience was the height of pampering. We wholeheartedly recommend this as a fabulous place to stay right in the heart of the medina.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor open to the courtyard and salons where meals are served, so going up gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#29 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Property: Riad Azoulay
Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir | Near Bahia Palace and El Badi Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. The Riad Azoulay has five spacious rooms, all overlooking the internal patio and all furnished with air conditioning and heating, roomy wardrobes, small safes for personal effects, Internet and WI-FI connection, mineral water and fresh flowers daily. Soft plump pillows and sheets of Egyptian cotton will help to make your nights comfortable and dreamy! All the bathrooms are ensuite, and are equipped with hair-dryers, soft towels and top rate ecological toilet and beauty products. Each suite has an individual theme, giving them a unique and unforgettable character.Some of the rooms can be provided with a third bed. The African, Mauritanian and Syrian rooms have matrimonial beds which can be made into two singles. The Riad Azoulay boasts two magnificent junior suites, the Favorita and the Tibetan Suites, and two large sumptuous suites, the Sultana and Royale Suites. The suites, which have been decorated with great care and attention to detail, come equipped with air conditioning and central heating, spacious wardrobes, private safes for the guests' personal effects, Internet and WI-FI connection, and a daily supply of mineral water and fresh flowers. Soft plump pillows and sheets of the finest Egyptian cotton have been provided to ensure the guests with all one needs for a relaxing night's sleep.All the bathrooms are ensuite, and are equipped with hair-dryers, soft towels and top rate ecological toilet and beauty products. The typical Mediterranean breakfast, included in the tariff of the room, can be served "al fresco" on the patio or terrace, or in the winter months, in the ground floor dining area. Guests will able to begin their day with freshly baked bread, homemade marmalade and jams, boiled, fried, or scrambled eggs or omelettes,oven fresh cakes and biscuits, yoghurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, and of course coffee or tea. Light freshly made snacks are available throughout the day. Thus while you are basking in the sun on the terrace you could enjoy a Moroccan yoghurt made with honey and nuts, or a bowl of fresh fruit salad, or if something a little more filling is preferred, a "trio" of Moroccan salads, or a perhaps a sandwich of grilled vegetables, with goats' cheese and a touch of mint. Our dinners are the result of a fusion of Moroccan and Italian cuisine, served by candlelight, and followed by a relaxing herb tea. We never use processed foods in our kitchen, and all our meals are prepared using traditional methods. Our chef plans a delicious menu of the day with typical traditional Moroccan dishes, prepared with love and the freshest of ingredients. Try our "briouates" (small pastries with savoury fillings) or the famous "pastilla" with pigeon and almonds, Moroccan salads and soups, and our delicious tajines and couscous, and we are sure you will be delighted! As we are only a small hotel, guests are kindly asked to let the staff know if they would like to dine with us. The chef will make every attempt to satisfy any dietary requirements the guests may have. Vegetarians are made most welcome. Moroccan Cuisine is a perfect combination of various traditional cuisines and is one of the best in the world. Its fascinating mixture of flavours, aromas and colours, combined with its capacity to amalgamate vegetables, fish and fruit with delicate and refined spices, have made it renowned and appreciated the world over. Mediterranean, African, and Oriental cuisine have been fused with the local Berber traditions; the bitter-sweet tastes are inherited from the lands of Arabia, whereas the tradition of combining fruit with meat is Persian. The desserts, full of sugar and spice, are instead a Turkish passion. In order to know a country well, the is no better way than to study its traditional cuisine, taste its foods, and enjoy its flavours and aromas. Thus, with this aim in mind, the Riad Azoulay offers its guests the opportunity to join the chef Saida, who will reveal to them all the secrets of the Moroccan cuisine. During the course the chef will teach the students how to recognize and choose the correct spices for each dish, how to cook using the traditional methods, and how to prepare some true Moroccan meals to serve to their friends and family when they return home. Amongst other things students will be taught how to make cous cous with lamb stew and vegetables, how to use the terracotta tajine to braise meat with vegetables and fruit, and how to make some very special Moroccan desserts. The ritual of the Hammam, which heals the body and relaxes the mind, is available to our guests in our Wellbeing Centre. Guests can enjoy a relaxing steam bath or an invigorating body scrub in the candle lit hammam, sitting on the benches of Italian Carrara marble. Or maybe they would like to book a soothing massage by one of our qualified masseurs, and experience the exotic qualities of the locally sourced but world famous Moroccan Argan oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing