We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Ammonites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Les Ammonites
Ranked #228 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Beautiful decor and a welcoming staff greeted us at this lovely riad in the "Funky Old Medina". We were met by the lady of the road, the lovely Miss Houda, who gave us an immediate tour of the beautiful building and then showed us to our quarters (more on that in a bit). Because we'd taken a fairly early flight and arrived around noon, we were a bit famished. After speaking to Houda, we were promised a "light" lunch (which turned out to be more than light and absolutely delicious). We then retired to our room.

The room was beautiful, from the giant, 4-post bed to the most comfortable mattress. The decor in our particular room was gold and purple, and I felt like Moroccan royalty! The bathroom was beautiful, the sink inlaid with ammonite fossils (which my paleogeologist boyfriend loved) and beautiful tile on the floor. There is no shower door or curtain, but there is a heater in the bathroom, so if you go in January, which can get chilly, I recommend running the heater for a bit before you shower.

We enjoyed a few dinners at the riad, which were lovely (the chef is a magician with aubergines!) and breakfast is included and homemade.

If you need anything, you have only to ask! Houda even went out of her way to infuse an herbal tea for me because I was having, ahem, "tummy trouble". The wine served in the riad is the basic Ethiopian President (white, which is a semillon and red, which is a cab) but both are quite nice.

My only complaint was how short the hot water lasted (and honestly, since most people probably don't go there in the middle of winter it's not such a big deal), and being woken up in the morning when the night guard would disassemble his cart. And watch for flying soccer balls as the local kids like to play footie right outside the front door.

Boyfriend booked this as a romantic little spot and it surely lives up to that. I've already recommended Riad Les Ammonites to a friend and recommend it to you, as well!

Room Tip: Try to book a room that is not facing the little square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    28
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
88
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

A stress free Oasis in the middle of the downtown hassle of Marrakech.

We enjoyed a wonderful 5 night stay here, just to visit the city. We did one full day excursion organised by the Riad and besides breakfast we ate here three times including one lunch and two dinners.

Bed is very comfortable. Rooms are spacious and clean.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all very good and the food is plentiful.

The staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel at home, especially the manager, Houda! Thanks Houda!

Be sure to email the riad in advance and they can organise your transport to and from the airport. Prices are very reasonable.

Alcoholic beverages are available.

On the down side: hot water in the shower does not last very long.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plesiosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Riad les Ammonites for 3 nights. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and we were made to feel extremely welcome. I emailed the Riad before arrival to see if I could arrange airport transfers, Houda emailed back very quickly and made all the necessary arrangements - I would recommmend using this service if you havent been to Marrakech before as the Riads can be difficult to find first time. We stayed in the Marrakech suite and it was beautiful overlooking the lovely courtyard the whole place was immaculately clean and well presented and it is a little piece of paradise hiding in the bustle of Marrakech. The food was traditional Morrocan to a very high standard and we have no hesitation recommending this Riad to everyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BritsinIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinklow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We are on our last day of a short break, Marrakech is truly an experience, the craziness, the smells and sounds and sights really are incredible, and amongst all of that is the welcoming calm and beauty of this lovely Riad. We stayed in the Menzah suite, beautiful room with an amazing ceiling. We could not fault anything, we have had massages here and eaten dinner on a couple of evenings, in a room with a log fire and elegant furnishings, Houda and everyone here make you feel very relaxed and welcome, we couldn't recommend Riad Les Ammonites enough. Thank you for making our first visit to Marrakech so special.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I found picking a riad very difficult in Marrakech, as there are so many to choose from. Riad Les Ammonites got great reviews, so I decided to book the Menzeh suite. Average is probably a little harsh as a rating for this riad, but there were a few things that made me question the EUR 80 per night charge.

Firstly, the positives: the suite was beautiful, and the landlady Houda was really lovely and very helpful. The location is good, as it's a 2 min walk to the souks through which you get to the main square, Jemaa el Fna. Breakfast was pleasant, although a little limited, and the staff are very helpful. It's also very near to a great restaurant for an evening meal Le Foundouk, which I highly recommend (average London prices so not too extortionate, and the pigeon pie is great).

The not so positives: I did ask for fresh towels and for someone to look at the shower, as it appeared to be blocked and filled up with water as you stood in it (this may unavoidable due to Moroccan plumbing). I was told this would be seen to, but when we came back to the room, nothing had been done about the shower and there were no fresh towels. My main issue, however, was a tour we arranged with the riad (EUR 80 for two people) to Ourika Valley. Although I highly recommend doing this trip, it wasn't exactly a tour but more a driver and a car for the morning to take us straight there and back again. I was told the tour would go from 9am to 4pm. In reality, we would have finished at about 1pm had we not paid an extra 100 dirham (less than £10 but described as if it was part of the tour) for a guide to take us up to the waterfalls. The description of the riad's version of the tour was therefore quite different from what was actually presented.

Altogether, a pleasant stay, but I wasn't as knocked out as I was expecting to be.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Riad was just absolutely what we have read about and possibly more. The meals were delicious - in fact we ate in more than we ate out because of that. Also my wife and I came down with the dreaded flu whilst we were there and everyone was very caring. They even invented a "hot Water Bottle" for us - but putting hot water into a plastic water bottle. They donlt get a lot of call for hot water bottles in Marrakech.
The position of the Riad was just perfect for the Souks and the Place. And we found our way around with interesting difficulties. Get lost during the day - just keep walking and you'll find something you recognise. A little less so at night - but the Riad was prepared to find a guide to take us out to restaurants and back again. When the Souks close down it is difficult to find your way.
All in all we had a fabulous time and would recommend this Riad to anyone - Thank youhOUDA AND YOUR TEAM (YOUR FAMILY)

Room Tip: Upstairs rather than down and check whether the room has natural light - some of them don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This Riad is beautifully decorated and spotless. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and treat guests like family. One night my friend and I returned late and the manager was worried about us. She stayed up and was waiting at the door for our return. She had other guests of the hotel whom we were friendly with send us emails to check up on us to ensure we were out of harms way.

The location is also excellent- in the heart of the Medina.

Room Tip: Every room has its own beauty....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#321 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#136 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#147 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#250 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#39 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ilayka
Riad Ilayka
#128 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Ammonites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Ammonites

Property: Riad Les Ammonites
Address: Derb el Cadi 51 | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Les Ammonites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Les Ammonites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing