We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massine II

Riad Massine II
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Massine II
Save
You added Riad Massine II to your Saves list
Ranked #131 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantasic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely hostel and good location. We liked it so much, we went back three times on the trip.

Just watch out for the people looking to lead you there from Rue Bab Daukkala. If the do, they expect a tip, even if you wanted the challenge of finding the hostel yourself. ( there is another route that avoids this )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RestlessGloberrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
2
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's not exactly easy to find this place for the first time, but after that it's pretty simple.
It's pretty close (walking) to most things and it located on a quiet street.
The moment we came in we were warmly welcomed and explained the map. This Riad promises some things upon arrival that never came, a water pipe, tea and a pastry.

They also mention having lockers that don't exist. They have cubbies with locks where you can fit only a laptop and little else. I didn't particularly like this fact but luckily we shared the room only one night with one other girl who left early the next morning. The place is clean but the hot water in the shower comes and goes every few seconds, making it uncomfortable.
I also didn't like that people were allowed to smoke in the common room since it seeped into our room because we were on the first floor.
I would have preferred to pay more for the bed and have breakfast included since 25drm is simply too much for bread, jam, butter, orange juice and tea or coffee. I think for that price you're paying for the fact that its brought out to you by the cleaning staff.

All in all, it was a good stay but I'd only stay again in a private room, which are on the second floor.

Room Tip: Choose a private room unless you don't mind not being able to lock up your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieMagicJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Enjoyed staying there. The staff are very helpful. A few things are fairly overpriced.

Breakfast is definitely not worth 25 dirhams for bread, tea and juice. In fact, you're really only paying that fee so you can enjoy the company of other travellers and use it as a meet-and-greet.

Tours - you can basically get tours for places at half the price if you wander out and look at the main square area. I wouldn't recommend doing it through the Riad as essentially they're the same thing but double in price than from the outside.

Other than that, this is a great place to stay, the staff really are friendly and hospitable. I worked out that given the prices are quite cheap, they aren't making any money if they don't run expensive tours and auxillary charges. However I'd rather they brought the prices up and maintained a more standardised business model, as their guesthouse services are truly excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The riad is nicely decorated and kept very clean by the staff (who were always happy to help fix a problem or just sit and chat). Communal areas on the ground floor and roof terrace provided a nice place to relax and meet the other guests. Free internet is on offer, either by wifi or through a free to use computer.

Location wise it is also great, with the main square is a 20 minute walk in one direction and the train station 20 minutes in the other. The main bus station (with its airport bus stop) is only a few minutes walk away. A supermarket is also very close by.

The open style of the place means it can be noisy depending on the other guests and the shower hot water was a little hit or miss sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair_B_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything about this place is amazing- though the breakfast is very small
The Staff were very friendly; reception and kitchen staff will do anything to make sure your stay is pleasant
The decor is quite traditional; a 19th century building
Great location: only a 20 minute walk from bus station and 10 minutes to Souks and food stalls
I would definitley return and recommend to any type of traveller

Room Tip: Dorms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just got back from a week in Morocco, and if you're going to Marrakech I wouldn't look any further than this place...it's fab!
It's surprisingly cheap for what you get - lovely rooms with REALLY nice bathrooms, air con and beautiful decor. The breakfast isn't included, but is pretty cheap and really nice (fresh oj, tea, bread and pancakes).
But what truly makes this place special is the staff. I've travelled the world, and the staff here are some of the best! Really friendly and helpful - and even had a wee birthday party for my friend! They really made us feel at home and welcome.
Couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichroil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

wow.... i am now preparing to leave riad massine II and i want to share with others my experience

i have stayed on and off here during my trip to morocco and it has been such a treat to stay here

the rooms have air con and are super clean. the bathrooms are spacious and hot water is in abundance should you need it

the riad itself if perfectly situated close to the main square. some 10 minute walk. it is traditional style with a beautiful rooftop terrace
the owners of the property treat you like family and this has been a huge part of its charm.....

its a wonderful place and comes highly recommended. at 5 GBP per night, it is a total bargain

i went for a hammam on sunday, and this experience was one in a life time. the landlady khadija organised this for me, and this acitivity is a must for any traveller looking for something traditional and special to do. it was only 12 UK pounds: again, great price

the cheapest and best place to stay in marrakech. i will certainly come back here.....

shukran to the massine family for your hospitality and kindess

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babs3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#147 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#155 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#100 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Massine II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massine II

Property: Riad Massine II
Address: 50 Derb Sidi Mohamed L'Haj- Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an old principal residential district, in the middle of the souks, you can enjoy the major places of interest of Marrakesh (souks, Majorelle gardens, Koutubia Mosque,Pacha Glaoui Palace…), and the Marrakesh enchanting golf courses. The ancient Riad was restored to its initial state (Spanish-Berber style) using the local and traditional materials of Morocco to provide our guests with all the comfort needed. The Riad can accommodate up to 20 guests, and the whole house can be booked by a single group. With its inventive and delicate cuisine, this magical Riad is the ideal place to digest the delicious flavors of Morocco. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing