We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, fantastic hospitality, peaceful & quiet, just the right distance from the riff-raff”
Review of Riad Dar Shana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Shana
Ranked #420 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed with Moustafa for 3 nights at the start of our family holiday. We could not be happier with the experience. The rooms were beautiful & authentic. The level of service from Moustafa & his female staff was 10 star. The riad itself is nothing short of stunning & it was hard to leave each morning to go exploring.

Three things may deter some travelers: 1. If you are a very light sleeper or you like to nap at times when other guests may be coming/going then you may find the noise levels bouncing around the enclosed courtyard layout too much. This is just the way riads are designed & built - not any fault of the owners. 2. The standard/included breakfast is very simple (bread/yoghurt/t&c) so you will have to pay for a bigger/more varied breakfast.
3. There is no WiFi or hotel computer but Moustafa was more than generous with his personal laptop when we needed to check something online for ten minutes.

None of these things detracted from our overall opinion/experience of the riad - please don't read them as criticisms - just things to consider for some travelers.

The location was nice too - about a 10-15 minute walk (through ever-changing, always interesting streets) to the center of the old city. At night you are away from all the noise & crowds & it feels like you own little hideaway in back of the city.

We would highly recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barneyontheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2010

A very nice little Riad in Marrakesh, only 5 but very nicely decorated rooms in Morrocain style, comfortable beds, a nice little swimmingpool to chill when it is too hot (whe we visited in February it was not the case...); nice reading room and a good terrace on the top
The owner and staff is doing everything for your stay to be perfect, including helping you to find this hideaway when arriving. Diner is excellent fresh and plentiful (you have to order in the morning). Breakfast with nice frech Morrocian pancakes.

Dar Shana is situated a 15-20 min walk away to the main square Jemna el Fna and the Souks. But it is a pleasant walk through a less "touristy "but lively through le quartier d'Aylane and the Madina. Enjoy watching the everyday life of the people of the medina on the way, you pass ocal shops, barbers, mosques...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flobard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The Riad was lovely, the staff very helpful and the food was gorgeous. It may be useful to some to know that the evening meals need to be booked after breakfast, so don't expect to be able to rock up on your first night and have a meal at the Riad. However they were very helpful in our case and could offer us some lovely soup.
The Riad was spotless, and lovely inside, the rooms were great, basic but just what you need, with lovely bathrooms. Great little suntrap on the roof.
The thing letting this place down is the location. It's right on the edge of the Medina, a good 20 minutes walk from the main square. The walk is fine, along alleys full of small local shops etc, it's just the last couple of hundred yards that are the challenging. You will never be able to find this place without phoning the Riad for precise directions, it really is tucked away down some not entirely pleasant alleys.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Lovely Riad within the old walled city, it was an oasis in the middle of the hussle and bussle of Marrakesh. The staff and accommodation was simply fantastic and although we initially thought it was a little bit far away, it was always a nice walk down the locals main street into the Medina - turned out to be a fantastic base for sightseeing by foot.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonydudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lourdes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: El único ruido el de los pájaros :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehareedunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
2.4 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#209 of 502 in Marrakech
773 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#248 of 502 in Marrakech
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Shana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Shana

Address: 80 Bis Derb Mejjat Bab Ailane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #420 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $73 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Shana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Shana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing