We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a tourist trap shop in sight - well done!”

Splash Morocco Day Trips
Ranked #295 of 878 Tours in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Splash Morocco provides adventure activity holidays from their base in Marrakech, including white water rafting, river tubing, canyoning and more in the stunning Ourika Valley, Ahansal River and Ouzoud Waterfalls, trips exploring the breathtaking High Atlas Mountains, Sahara Desert tours, dune bugging, paintball, mountain biking, hot air balloon trips and trekking. Whether you're looking for a half-day trip or a multi-day adventure, Splash Morocco caters for all tastes, group sizes, ages and experience levels.With two stunning riads based in the cntre of magical Marrakech, Splash Morocco are perfectly located to soak up the hustle and bustle of the souks, with easy access to a range of adventure activities. Relax in the rooftop terrace, enjoy the free wifi, indulge yourself in a relaxing hammam (spa) and sample some of the fantastic local cooking. The multilingual Splash staff are always on hand to offer advice on the best places to visit, where to go for the best food and drink and how to discover the hidden gems in this incredible city. Cheap flights to Marrakech from the UK are available with both Ryanair and Easyjet flying regularly from London, Edinburgh, Bristol and East Midlands. Splash Morocco offer trips which cater for all budgets, with a day tour to the Ourika Valley costing £65 / 72EUR, white water rafting just £50 / 60EUR and a full day activity for £90 / 100EUR including transfers to and from Marrakech. Short of time? You can get picked you up staright off your flight and transfer you directly to your activity, with your bags being safely delivered to your riad. Looking for a week's break? Splash Morocco offer 7 days in Morocco staying in one of Splash's Marrakech riads plus activities from just £499 / 550EUR!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked a day trip to the High Atlas and Ourika Valley. Marcie in the office was super efficient even though it was a last minute booking. She always answered my questions without making me feel silly for asking.

Our driver/guide - Mr Hussein - was perfect and gave us a feel for the real Morocco. He took us to a weekly local market where we saw camels' head in the butcher section to goat/sheep auction to "Berber 4x4 park" aka donkey parking. Mr Hussein's driving was excellent throughout. He was courteous to other drivers on the road and even though some of the roads were very pot-holey we had a very smooth ride the entire day. We visited a Berber village which as an interesting experience.

Another super guide was Mohammed who took us on our short hike to see the Sethi Fetma waterfall. He was such a funny guide and we had a great time. It was a shame that we didn't carry onto the higher falls but we felt that the climb would be too difficult for me and Mohammed didn't want me to return by myself and he & my husband carry on. He was right of course as he was responsible for our safety.

The icing on the cake for this trip was that at no point did Mr Hussein nor Mohammed take us to the "obligatory tourist trap shops/stalls" - the one thing that every tourist dread. Well done to Splash!

We thoroughly enjoyed our day with Mr Hussein and Mohammed and would definitely recommend their services and that of Splash.

1  Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splash_Morocco, Owner at Splash Morocco Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your day out in Ourika with us. We always ask our guides NOT to take our clients to the obvious tourist-trap shops and I'm very pleased to hear that this is not happening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked the canoing trip for our birthday. And we had a great birthday. Everything was really well organised from our pick up till our drop off. We did had rain, which is rare i suppose, but that didn't really matter, because we were getting wet anyway. We had a fun group and our quide andy was (is) the best. He even made pictures during our tour and afterwards we could download them for free from facebook. Something we dutch really appreciate, free stuff!!
And if you need any advise on where to celebrate your birthday after the tour, also ask Andy. He showed us Marrakech night live, which is perfect for a night clubbing and drinking. So andy, thanx again for an unforgetable birthday.

1  Thank jootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splash_Morocco, Owner at Splash Morocco Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thanks for such a great review and I'm glad we managed to make your birthday a memorable one! Rain is pretty rare but on the canyoning trip it doesn't really matter - a great way to spend a wet day in Morocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Found Splash via Andy (@marrakechandy) on Twitter - then Marcie dealt with all the booking details fantastically. We had a great time friving through the Atals mountains, stopping off at various Kasbahs and then overnighting, after a camel ride, in the desert. Rachid and Mohammad were just fantastic: safe driving and lots of helpful information. We felt safe (4 girls travelling!) - had a LOT of fun, learnt lots, and met great people. Thanks!!!!

Thank leaheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splash_Morocco, Owner at Splash Morocco Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for the very positive feedback. Hope to see you down in Morocco again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Our day trip to ourika valley was organised by marcie who was very accomodating and changed the date for us last minute to avoid forecast rain.
Good points- Our driver was friendly and we enjoyed seeing a trad berber house and hiking to the cascades. Our local guide was attentive and made sure we didn't slip! Lunch was fine tho nothing special and drink not included.
Bad points - the camel ride was 10mins along a dirt track and a bit pointless. Wd have been nice to have an English speaking guide up to cascades who cd have told us about the area. Were asked twice if we wanted to go to argan oil shop (we didn't).

All in all a positive experience but few areas with room for improvement

Thank HarrietUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splash_Morocco, Owner at Splash Morocco Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

I'm glad to hear we got MOST of your trip right but thanks for letting me know about the areas which we could improve on. We normally get great feedback on the food and also our guides are specifically asked NOT to push commission-heavy, tourist-tat laden trips to places like the argan oil co-ops unless requested by the customers. I'll look into this and make sure we're all singing from the same hymn sheet next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Andy at Splash organised a lovely day out in the Atlas Mountain for our family. A testing walking route pitched just right with us feeling a sense of achievement but at the same time recognising our individual abilities. Good lunch and a nice finish to the day visiting a Berber family.
Where not the cheapest it was worth the little bit extra . Thanks

Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splash_Morocco, Owner at Splash Morocco Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

I'm glad we were able to come up with a fun and challenging day in the mountains for you. We do charge a little more than some of our competitors but we feel that we're worth it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash Morocco Day Trips also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Splash Morocco Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing