We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Riad Basma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Basma
Ranked #262 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in December 2010 to celebrate my 40th Birthday.

The location is superb, just a few minutes walk from the main square down a winding alley. Despite being so near the square the riad is quiet and tranquil, which is a relief after the hustle and bustle of the city.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, a basic knowledge of French is very useful as the day staff have very limited English.

The manager, Hasna, was very helpful and we particularly appreciated her help after we were stranded in Marrakech when our flights home were cancelled due to an air traffic controllers' strike in Spain. The bonus was that we got to spend a few more days in this fascinating city.

You will see lots of riads which are more swanky, but this riad is excellent value for money

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marahaubay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2010

Very nice Dar. Although its called a Riad, its actually more a Dar as its not large enough or with a garden to be officially a Riad. Great location about 5 minutes walk from main square, but on a quiet street so nice and peaceful. Nice rooftop terrace for a drink or breakfast. Room was comfortable & clean although shower drain wasnt great so couldnt shower for more than a few mins before it nearly overflowed. Breakfast was simple but comparable to other Dars we stayed in. The manager was fantastic & spoke English, French, Spanish and was incredibly helpful about anything we asked. Only downside was room wasnt cleaned on 2nd day. Maybe that was normal in Morocco, but not everywhere we stayed. But would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

This riad is truely beautiful. We booked through Ryan air. It was a reasonable price,breakfast was substantial with lots of different breads. The Riad was run by the daughter in law of the owner who is an artist. The Riad had a lot of his work which was truely fabulous,the whole place had the touch of an artist. our room had a beautifully ornate ceiling with a lovely lantern.the bathroom was amazing with a copper basin.The water came out of a spout in an ornate face.I loved the whole look of the place. The staff were lovely and helpful. The roof terrace was lovely to sit on and sunbath you could have coffee and breakfast up there.The Riad was also spotleslly clean.To make it perfect it was just a few minuits from the square...near enough for my husband who hates to walk!
i would however put one word of caution on Riads children need absolute supervision as the middle space is open from the top story to the tiled floors below.There is just a small rail or a wall as protection from falling.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewel567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Once behind the closed doors, an amazingly warm welcome and pure peace and tranquility. This riad is much more than we expected. Within its walls you're a world away from the madness of the jama el fna. All that you can hear whilst on the terrace is the sound of the birds. The art work that is displayed makes the riad feel homely whilst uniquely different. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We have just come back from a great stay in the Riad Basma. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the riad itself is very characterful. The roof terrace is great for breakfast in the morning or for listening to the atmospheric hum of the city and calls to prayer at night. Staff all very friendly and the breakfast was simple but tasty and plentiful. Location excellent - down a quiet but safe side street, only 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna. Highly recommended!
Ben

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjicott2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Son limpias te hacen todos los días las camas y te cambian de toallas
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 512pachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#132 of 501 in Marrakech
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#100 of 501 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#283 of 501 in Marrakech
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#82 of 501 in Marrakech
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#169 of 501 in Marrakech
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Riad Hamdane & SPA
#189 of 501 in Marrakech
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Basma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Basma

Address: Dabachi, Derb Jamaa 22, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $60 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Basma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Basma is a nice and relaxing place, placed in the medina of Marrakech a few minutes walking only from the main square Jemaa el Fnaa and the souks (markets)The Riad is composed of 5 double rooms (Iris, Perla, Ambar, Agata and Zafiro) each one equipped of an en-suite bathroom, a central Patio decorated with Moorish furniture, a nice living room with TV and DVD player and an open air living room corner cool in summer time and very cosy during winter season.The Riad also has a nice terrace where to enjoy breakfast under the Berber tent or simply sunbathing and drinking a refreshing cold-hot Mint tea.The typical Moroccan style that has been used for the details and furniture gives to this Properties a real Moroccan soul.We are located close to the main square Jemaa el Fnaa about 3 minutes walking, once you are on the square ask for derb Dabachi and count 3 small streets (derbs) on the right turn right and keep on until nr. 22. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Basma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing