We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Riad, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Basma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Basma
Ranked #202 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
penzance
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Highly recommend this Riad, Great value for money, clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful owners. Right in the middle of the Souk but quiet and peaceful. Lovely roof terrace to sunbathe and relax. There was a plastic bag stuffed down the shower plug hole when we arrived, which we thought was strange so removed it. However soon worked out that this is the best way to avoid the " funky smell" as mentioned in previous review. Very good Hammam (spa/steam bath) just as you turn left out of the alley way definately an experience not to be missed!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefG435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    28
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This riad was lovely and a great value for the price. The bathroom in our room had a funky smell but I am giving 5 stars because of the kindness of the staff. I was violently ill in the middle of the night and ran out of water and the guy went out at 4:30am to get me water. Nothing was open and he woke up a guy to open up his store (my boyfriend went with him and said he also put a blanket over a homeless man in the street). If you get sick in Marrakech, this is the kind of place that will look out for you. A+ service

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in December 2010 to celebrate my 40th Birthday.

The location is superb, just a few minutes walk from the main square down a winding alley. Despite being so near the square the riad is quiet and tranquil, which is a relief after the hustle and bustle of the city.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, a basic knowledge of French is very useful as the day staff have very limited English.

The manager, Hasna, was very helpful and we particularly appreciated her help after we were stranded in Marrakech when our flights home were cancelled due to an air traffic controllers' strike in Spain. The bonus was that we got to spend a few more days in this fascinating city.

You will see lots of riads which are more swanky, but this riad is excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marahaubay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Very nice Dar. Although its called a Riad, its actually more a Dar as its not large enough or with a garden to be officially a Riad. Great location about 5 minutes walk from main square, but on a quiet street so nice and peaceful. Nice rooftop terrace for a drink or breakfast. Room was comfortable & clean although shower drain wasnt great so couldnt shower for more than a few mins before it nearly overflowed. Breakfast was simple but comparable to other Dars we stayed in. The manager was fantastic & spoke English, French, Spanish and was incredibly helpful about anything we asked. Only downside was room wasnt cleaned on 2nd day. Maybe that was normal in Morocco, but not everywhere we stayed. But would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

This riad is truely beautiful. We booked through Ryan air. It was a reasonable price,breakfast was substantial with lots of different breads. The Riad was run by the daughter in law of the owner who is an artist. The Riad had a lot of his work which was truely fabulous,the whole place had the touch of an artist. our room had a beautifully ornate ceiling with a lovely lantern.the bathroom was amazing with a copper basin.The water came out of a spout in an ornate face.I loved the whole look of the place. The staff were lovely and helpful. The roof terrace was lovely to sit on and sunbath you could have coffee and breakfast up there.The Riad was also spotleslly clean.To make it perfect it was just a few minuits from the square...near enough for my husband who hates to walk!
i would however put one word of caution on Riads children need absolute supervision as the middle space is open from the top story to the tiled floors below.There is just a small rail or a wall as protection from falling.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewel567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Once behind the closed doors, an amazingly warm welcome and pure peace and tranquility. This riad is much more than we expected. Within its walls you're a world away from the madness of the jama el fna. All that you can hear whilst on the terrace is the sound of the birds. The art work that is displayed makes the riad feel homely whilst uniquely different. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjicott2
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We have just come back from a great stay in the Riad Basma. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the riad itself is very characterful. The roof terrace is great for breakfast in the morning or for listening to the atmospheric hum of the city and calls to prayer at night. Staff all very friendly and the breakfast was simple but tasty and plentiful. Location excellent - down a quiet but safe side street, only 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna. Highly recommended!
Ben

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjicott2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#187 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#176 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#157 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Noor Charana
Riad Noor Charana
#215 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Al Andaluz
Riad Al Andaluz
#355 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#249 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Basma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Basma

Property: Riad Basma
Address: Dabachi, Derb Jamaa 22, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Basma is a nice and relaxing place, placed in the medina of Marrakech a few minutes walking only from the main square Jemaa el Fnaa and the souks (markets)The Riad is composed of 5 double rooms (Iris, Perla, Ambar, Agata and Zafiro) each one equipped of an en-suite bathroom, a central Patio decorated with Moorish furniture, a nice living room with TV and DVD player and an open air living room corner cool in summer time and very cosy during winter season.The Riad also has a nice terrace where to enjoy breakfast under the Berber tent or simply sunbathing and drinking a refreshing cold-hot Mint tea.The typical Moroccan style that has been used for the details and furniture gives to this Properties a real Moroccan soul.We are located close to the main square Jemaa el Fnaa about 3 minutes walking, once you are on the square ask for derb Dabachi and count 3 small streets (derbs) on the right turn right and keep on until nr. 22. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Basma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing