We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, did not like the bathroom”
Review of Riad Olema & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Olema & Spa
Ranked #91 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2010

The staff in this riad is extremely service minded and professional, and especially Mubarak and Yassin did everything in order to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Our room was cozy, but I did not like the bathroom. The bathroom did not look as good in real life as it looked on the pictures on the riad's web page. The bathroom had a shower and a bathtub. The corner with the shower looked old and dirty, with cracks on the wall. The floor in the shower was also made in such a way that the water did not drain properly, but got collected in the midle of the shower. In other words you had to stand with your feet in your own dirt while showering. If someone had taken a shower before you, you had to step into the dirty water from last one's shower. I therefore startet to have my showers in the bathtub, which made the whole bathroom floor wet, as there where no shower curtain there. On a couple of occasions there was also no warm water available for showering.

I also would like to mention that the terrace also looked a little bit unclean. All the furnitures on the roof top terrace are in white, but because of dirt and polution they are actually more grey then white.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadolema, Propriétaire at Riad Olema & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Thank you very much for your comment.
How can you rate us as average while at the same time you would recommend us to a friend.
you are rating us on each criteria either as excellent for location and service and very good for value ,rooms,cleanliness and sleep quality.
Your overall rating does not reflect the way you are rating us on each criteria .
What you are basically saying is that the water in the shower dis not drain properly .Why did you not mention it, we would you taken the necessary actions within a few minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 319 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

A friend of mine reccommened a Riad that he stayed at during a business trip to Morroco. What a pleasant surprise. The interior has recently been re-fitted and is beautiful. The food was wonderful and the staff exceptional. Very clean and comfortable. Sandy, the manager, pays attention to every detail, no matter how small.
The Riad is in the Oold Town and very safe with just a short walk to taxi. Had dinner with friends on the rooftop. The compliments I received were embarrassing!
I highly reccommend this place, truley a Morrocan delight!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JameswilsonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My wife, myself and 2 colleagues attended a conference in Marrakech recently. we elected to shun the typical Hotel chains and stay at the Riad Olema & Spa in the Medina (old town). a wonderful experience for all. the Riad is surrounded by the flavor of Morroco, but the interior has all the modern exprctations for today's traveler. The management are French with an eye for detail. We entertained cliens several times and all were very impressed. At the end of the conference I was aproached by several people asking about the place I was staying, all through comments from ym clients. Go to riadolema-spa.com for more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We chose this Riad because of the reviews here and some french sites. We stayed in the Suite Histoire d'O for 4 nights and paid 220 Euros a night. In retrospect we found this quite prizey, compared to other Riads and hotels. For instance you have the marvellous La Maison Arabe, 2 minutes walk away, with 20 - 30 rooms of different styles, three restaurants, a lovely pianobar, swimmingpool, outdoor sittingareas, a wonderful Spa, and complimentary shuttle and access to their closeby Golf Club - all very authentic and high quality, and secluded within a quite large space very close by, - and you are not paying much more for any more for all those services and rooms than for the rooms in the Riad Olema basically. Some rooms were even cheaper.

Although they served nice breakfast, you had to book dinner at lunchtime since the kitchen otherwise was closed in the evenings... They had a Jacuzzi on the roof that seemed nice, but that was out of order when we stayed there - also the Jacuzzi was right above our Suite, - and you could hear the motor going at times unfortunately. They had a tiny cute pool in the patio, but the owner bathed there sometimes so we felt we would intrude his privacy so we did'nt bother since he also had the room next to the pool when we stayed there...... (no further comments)

Also there was a small Hammam and some rooms for beautytreatments that you could order. I did, and was very content, but again you can get the same treatments at approx. the same prizelevel at more exclusive Riadhotels like the La Maison Arabe for instance.

I do have to give some extraordinary compliments though to Sandy (the directrise) and the service of the staff that was really wonderful! She helped us in every possible way with bookings, recommendations ecc. ecc. and was ever so serviceminded - so that made it special for us!

Other than that; nicely situated with walking distance to main sites: the Djmnaa el Fna (10 - 15 min), the Souks (10 min), Cafe Arabe (10 min), Jardin Majorelle (15 - 20 minutes) ecc ecc.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylviad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Stayed in Olema for a week in July and absolutely loved it! The professionality of the staff , the quality of the food together with the luxurious surrounding ( What a spa!) made our stay all so memorable! Will definitely go back with friends and family !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiaraB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Riad Olema is right in the middle of Marrakech down a little alleyway but once you open the door you are in a bright airy hotel that wouldn't look out of place in Paris or a design magazine. We arrived late but had ordered our food over the phone and we were served, unrushed, a delicious meal by charming staff (Ziad). Afterwards we went up to the beautiful roof terrace and soaked up the sounds of Marrakech with a good bottle of wine.
The weather was boiling and so Olema was the perfect place to come back, relax and cool down in the small pool or roof top jacuzzi.
Breakfast was great beautiful fresh orange juice and crepes. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the staff went out of their way to be friendly. Ziad went for miles to find us a taxi when we left.
The only critism I'd have was our meeting with Sandy the owner, perhaps we got her on a bad day but she was hyper defensive when we asked about the 5% surcharge for credit cards, we were not refusing to pay just checking through the bill. Everyone has their off days but she was the only person to make us feel uncomfortable and it slightly spoiled our experience right at the end of our stay which was a shame. I would like to return as it was probably just a once off.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssyMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

A really lovely hotel. Excellent service with such friendly staff.
We felt like VIP's throughout our stay.
Beautiful decoration and comfort!
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmac92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#106 of 501 in Marrakech
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#22 of 501 in Marrakech
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#27 of 501 in Marrakech
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad OMRI
Riad OMRI
#150 of 1,167 in Marrakech
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chayma
Riad Chayma
#72 of 1,167 in Marrakech
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,167 in Marrakech
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Olema & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Olema & Spa

Address: 31-32, Derb Sidi Ahmed ou Moussa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Olema & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Olema & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing