We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful and homely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Alamir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Alamir
Ranked #174 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
261 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Beautiful and homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Riad Alamir is a relaxing peaceful place to stay within the busy medina of Marrakech. The rooms are decorated in a Moroccan style which is very nice. The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely,served on the rooftop terrace, varying each morning, but always with fresh fruit, yogurts, bread and cakes. There is a tortoise called Josephine living in the garden of the riad. Very cute. I would defiantly come back here if I returned to marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navangirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    72
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
149
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Its been 1 1/2 years (April 2011) since I stayed here with 2 of my best travel buddies and I still think about how lucky we were to have found this Riad. We don't speak French (or Arabic), so it was nice to have a place where we could ask questions in English and trust the answers! Upon arriving we were given a short oreintation and some mint tea, and a map so that we could find our way back to the riad, once we left and came back a couple times it was pretty simple. The three of us shared a room, but there was plenty of space. The breakfast was great, and we asked to have dinner on the terrace one night, it was well worth the money! In addition to giving us great food suggestions in the Medina, the staff set up an excersion to the Ourika Valley to Setti Fatma and see the 7 waterfalls up close. In addition they set up an authentic hammam experience, which I highly recommend! I felt very safe there, and they were very accomodating, a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I would strongly recommend this riad on every aspect. Extremely Well decorated, this Riad is 5 min. walk from the Place Jamel el Fna and is located righ into the Medina. The Staff were very attentive to our need, espcially with our 4 year old daughter. Like every place in the Medina, be prepare to walk few minutes before findind the riad, but onece you know it, it's very easy. the pool is small but very cool and refreshing. If we go back to Marrakesh, this riad will surely be our home again! We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeepeeQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I'm not really sure what to say beyond the basics. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated. The staff is extremely helpful. Location is a 10 minute walk to the main entrance of the Medina; 5 minute walk to another section. Breakfast is a great (non-american) meal. You're able to hear a beautiful call for prayer from within the riad. I would stay here again without any hesitation. The most helpful staff I have ever encountered. Also close to an ATM and a currency exchange place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights during July 2012 (probably too long for a visit to Marrakech though)

This was a fantastic Riad. The staff were great, especially Rashid who was extremely helpful, polite and would do his best to sort anything out for you.

The breakfasts were good, with fruit, yoghurt and cake each morning.

The Riad would be extremely difficult to find without prior knowledge so I would definatley go for the 15 Euro charge of getting the Riad to take you from the airport. I would suggest though, just booking it one way because you would be a lot cheaper just going out to the street and getting a taxi back to the airport.

Our bedroom was very good, no faults at all.

My only complaint though was with the owner (I think his name was Stefan but he introduced himself as the proprietor and this was the only time I met him). One afternoon he knocked on our bedroom door and asked to show his 'friends' around our room. I then felt I had to leave the room so he could do this. I thought this was totally unprofessional and rude! How would he like it if while he was staying at his 5 star hotel and the owner came and did the same to him!!

I have not let this affect the rating though because otherwise this place was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSJAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at Riad Alamir for 3 nights in June. With three adults sharing a triple room, there was still plenty of space. The room was nicely done and was cleaned every day. Air con worked well but found there was a good breeze if the windows were left open anyway. The bathroom was fine, although it was quite hard to control the temperature of the shower, and there was only a curtain instead of a door. Breakfast was great, different selection served every morning on the roof terrace. We also had dinner at the riad one night, it was very tasty and lovely service although you will pay over the odds considering how cheap food is in the medina. Plunge pool very refreshing and in a pretty central courtyard. The roof terrace could do with a bit of work, some of the umbrellas were broken and it could have been a bit tidier. However, it was a lovely place to have breakfast in the sun.

Staff at the riad were all very friendly and helpful. I would recommend paying for the airport transfer as i think we would have struggled to find the riad on our own - it's at the end of a dead-end alley.

Riad was only 5 minute walk from the main square and all the attractions/markets were within walking distance - couldn't really do much better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Han7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a lovely small hotel in the old city (Medina) of Marrakesh with lots of atmoshphere and in a very convenient location for exploring the city. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and interesting and was served inside when cool or on the rooftop terrace when warmer. However, if you are a coffee lover, the coffee is not great. During the winter (we were there February) the pool is very very cold. The roof terrace has some nice views of other rooftops and there are nice areas to sit inside. The rooms are clean and well and interestingly decorated but not luxurious. The bathrooms are relatively basic but adequate. Staff are frindly and helpful and very informative about their city. We thoroughly enjoyed staying there and would stay there again. On a previous visit we stayed in a modern hotel in the new city and that wasn't anywhere as good or as convenient. We wouldn't stay in the new city again.

Room Tip: What you see on the website is what you get and all rooms are probably very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#124 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#201 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Riad Chalymar
Le Riad Chalymar
#187 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#68 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#167 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#280 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alamir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alamir

Property: Riad Alamir
Address: My Abdellah Ben Hsein | Ksour, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#146 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alamir is a place which we wanted quite at the same time intimate and friendly, close to the excitement of souks and far from the noise, easily accessible and nevertheless nested everything at the bottom of an alley of the Medina. Placed within one of its most prestigious districts, it is in two minutes of a taxi and in seven minutes on foot of the famous Place Jemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Alamir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alamir Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing