We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay to experience the real Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay to experience the real Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakech and whilst most people we spoke to had nothing but good to say about it we were all a little apprehensive especially about the accommodation. We usually go on beach holidays and stay in large hotels or villas but we wanted to experience Marrakech as close to it's natural state as possible!
This little Riad was absolutely perfect! It's location is right in the heart of the medina - down an alley way - but behind closed doors was a beautiful house and fabulous staff. Breakfast is a traditional Moroccan feast of breads and jams which sets you up nicely for the day.
The rooms are all different. We stayed in room 3 which was nice although a little smaller than the room our friends had (room 7) and the air conditioning in our room could have been a bit stronger. Our friends room was perfect - very cool/cold which is required at this time of year!
The staff were very helpful and did everything we asked of them.
One thing which comes up in all reviews is that there is no iron and that is a pain so I hope the hotel make some changes there as everyone needs to iron their clothes and we really don't want to be spending additional money for the hotel to do it. So take a travel iron!
Overall I would highly recommend this Riad for it's cleanliness, friendliness and helpfulness.
Thank you so much to all the staff who made our stay a pleasure!

Room Tip: First floor room and if you can get the Executive suite I would stay there. We were in a junior suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-fur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    57
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
50
174
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great location within just a few minutes' walk from the souks and the main square. Getting taxis in and out is easy as everyone knows the nearby Riad Larouss. Nicely furnished, modern interior design and friendly staff. The splash pool is large enough for splashing, there is a nice terrace on top which is hardly used but works well for early morning yoga and am sun tanning. Good breakfast with tasty OJ, good coffee with warm milk and Moroccan break & pancakes but no fruit unfortunately. Would not recommend using the spa or treatments however - you get much better quality and value for money outside of the Riad. We also ended up enjoying our afternoon drinks by a bigger pool at another location but very much liked Riad Utopia including their hard mattresses ;-) It was a blessing to come to an A/C controlled room from the 45C heat.

Room Tip: Our room was called Doucer d'Orient, on the first floor overlooking the splash pool which was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riikkaahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful place for a little sweet escape! A-star service.From dawn to sunset everyone make you feel safe comfy:) we enjoyed our stay and felt all a guest stars..many thanks!!!!! We'll come back soon.xxxxx.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the suite called 'Sa Majesté la Rose' (room 5), which is the nicest room of this adorable riad. The interior design of that room is great. Absolute calm, even on the terrace. Very friendly staff. Some points for improvement: the matrasses on the bed are somewhat hard, there was no beer in the bar, no hot water the morning we left, and the breakfast is a bit spartan (no eggs, no fruit).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel - if you go to morrocco and want to stay in the old town then this hotel is a must. Perfect location 2 minute walk to the souks and lovely traditional feel. Would definately use this hotel again and would recommend to friends and family. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Overall experience was fantastic and very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place makes you wonder if half of the world is deaf.
Noisy is not the word, sleeping here (and I fear all other Riads except maybe The Sultana, for obvious reasons) is like sharing a little house with 5 other relatives. The kitchen doesnt even have a door so you can see 4 o 5 women chatting cooking or sitting on the floor gossiping the whole day. Some nice cleaning ladies are always wandering around, working a lot but being non efficient at all.
They make your bed sure but don't expect clean sheets, an if you tend to take out the bottom of your pijamas while sleeping like I do, don’t worry, it will stay there for the whole week.
The people were really kind and helpful but a few suggestions would make bug improvements:
1. Lose the reception with a door so people staying in the Riad don’t hear phone conversations (which can take place at 1am).
2. Choose better ambiance music (we all agree, Hip don’t lie but it is not the kind of song you would expect for a relaxing afternoon in Marrakesh) and stop it after 23.00 o’clock.
3. Don’t allow employees to put the table for breakfast at 24.00 or 6.00 am when everybody is trying to get some sleep.
4. If you allow your employees to park their bike INSIDE the kitchen at least hide it!!
5. Offer tea with breakfast, not just coffee, its Marrakesh! People is expect some sweet mint tea!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcn_2009_catalunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice Rhiad, right in the old town down a small alley, well designed in all respects. Nice roof terrace and small ground floor pool, the only thing i would say is pay end bill in euros cash not their exchange rate to morrocan dirham which was not great!! apart from that and a dullish breakfast. Its a nice place and is very well appointed!

Room Tip: upstairs probably a bit quieter, but all Rhiads a bit small and noisy, thats just how they are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glen555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Utopia Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Property: Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
Address: 280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Utopia Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans la tangente de la célèbre place Jamaa El Fna, vous serez accueilli dans l'art de la tradition marocaine : chaleureusement et respectueusement. Vous découvrirez la magie de l'Orient alliée au design et au calme d'Utopia Suites & Spa. Toujours à votre écoute et à votre service, notre équipe vous recevra avec les prestations d'un hôtel de luxe et fera du Riad votre demeure : senteurs fleuries, massages délicats, soins de beauté, mets aux mille et une épices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Utopia Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Utopia Suites And Spa
Riad Utopia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing