We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A perfect stay in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Sidi Omar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Sidi Omar
Ranked #319 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect stay in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My friend and I went to Riad Sidi Omar for a cultural week away in Marrakech. We decided to pick this Riad because of the brilliant reviews it had received on Tripadvisor. We were 100% delighted with our choice - this Riad made our trip. Omar and his family run the Riad and it really does have a family feel to it. He told us that he wanted us to feel at home and we really did. Omar and his brothers took it on themselves to make us feel very comfortable at the Riad and they would bring us traditional Moroccan mint tea and even fruit if we felt peckish. They would also come and socialize with us in the evenings, if we wanted to, and we met some other travellers in the Riad because Omar and his brothers introduced us to them (we later went on a camel trek with that group of people). Omar's mum made us an incredible Moroccan dinner that we had in the Riad for a very reasonable price - he even walked us to the public baths to show us how the pot was buried in the ashes from the furnace and slowly cooked all day. As other reviewers have said, Riad Sidi Omar is a haven of tranquility in the craziness that is The Medina and it really did feel like we were coming home to it every day after trekking around the city in the heat. Finally, I want to point out that we met a 19 year old Australian girl during our trip to the desert who was travelling on her own and didn't have anywhere to stay. After our desert trip she was very ill with quite severe sunstroke - Omar, after asking his other guests, helped accommodate her for the night so she wasn't wandering around Marrakech sick and on her own. I would 100% recommend this Riad purely for the family-like care and atmosphere. And for those who like to know about the rooms, food and price, the rooms were beautiful, the complementary breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel and the price was fantastic and well within most people's budget. Thanks Omar from Rachel and Zanny!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelb2692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Best thing is the price - only MAD 1069 for 2 twin rooms 1 night.

The airport pick-up by taxi was well-arranged and the driver was on time. Omar, the owner, came out to the main street to pick us up at the drop-off point (since car cannot reach the Riad) to the Riad. It was well-organised at this point.

We arrived at 12pm, but Omar still served us a nice breakfast. Food was simple and nice but nothing special.

Service – we booked 2 rooms for 4 people. They were not ready when we arrived, so we went out. When we returned at 10pm, the rooms were ready. Omar took the time to have a personal chat with us, which was pleasant and interesting.

Rooms – A bit dated but decent. Hot water was available but limited. One of my friends (who took the later turn for shower) did not have hot water mid-way through. Shampoo and shower gels were not available. The toilet did not have any window, so any smell would go straight into the room. One of the beds was right next to the entrance of the toilet.

Worst – Departure – Our tour desert trip guide was meant to pick us up from the Riad when we check out. On the day of checking out, Omar said that the tour guide suddenly requested us to be ready 30 minutes earlier, and that Omar himself had to lead us to the pick-up point. However, Omar in fact went to pick-up his own car. We carried our own luggage ourselves to walk to the pick-up point, with Omar right behind us in his own car. He did not offer a ride (I felt that he was like a shepherd and we were the sheep). When we reached the pick-up point, Omar drove off without greeting us goodbye.

I suspect Omar was the one who was in a hurry and had to leave 30 minutes earlier. I was truly disappointed by this. He could have been honest to us and I would be fine.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JC-relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Riad Sidi Omar is an outstanding Riad in the medina of Marrakech. The hospitality of Omar and his family is the best care we have experienced in any of the Hotels, Riads or Dars throughout Morocco. Its location in Marrakech in the heart of the medina, but is uniquely insulated from all the sounds of being that close to the markets. This Riad is unique because it is their family house that they converted into a Riad for a family run business for tourism. We had the best time and also saved money staying here versus any other Riad in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReggioCalabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This Riad was an absolute gem in the craziness of the Medina. 100% reliable hot water showers, comfortable beds, clean quiet rooms, lovely roof top terrace, huge breakfasts, free laundry (yes, free!) and great location (5 minute easy walk through a fascinating labyrinth and entertaining souqs to the Djaama el-Fna). But the best part of the Riad was Sidi Omar himself (and his family who also helped with the running of the hotel). He met us at Marrakech airport and was nothing but polite, friendly and super helpful from that point until we left. He was the best host we could have ever ask for and arranged our whole 5 day trek, for a reasonable price, in the High Atlas.

Another thing to note is that Sidi Omar and his family are locals that have converted their home into a guest house. So by supporting Riad Sidi Omar, you are supporting the local Moroccon communities (a lot of other Riads have been bought out and turned into guesthouses by foreigners).

If either my partner Peter and I are back in Marrakech, we will definitely stay in Riad Sidi Omar again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Staying at this Riad was the best possible choice for our holiday in Marrakech. Omar made us feel so welcome and comfortable that we were able to completely relax in his riad from the off...a great thing when the souqs and the medina begin to feel hectic and frantic after a long day of haggling! Omar gave us lots of great advice and guidance: going so far as to even walk us to his local hammam and explaining what we wanted in arabic to the people working there. This made for incredible experieces that we couldn't have organised without him. We're very grateful to and fond of Omar and all at the Riad.

The room was very clean - the bed was changed every day - and spacious. Our room was on the ground floor and in the morning the sound of the birds in the interior courtyard would wake us up. This was by no means a bad thing - what a lovely way to start the day! The riad is generally very secure and safe.

The provided breakfasts are lovely and plentiful, served on the roof when weather permits and are served whenever you want them.

It is hard to find though, I would definitely recommend contacting Omar ahead of your arrival. If possible, get picked up from the airport (he charges €15 which I feel is fair based on what taxis would charge) and the driver will walk you to the riad. If you don't do this then I'm afraid I don't see how you'd find the place without a guide, it would be almost impossible! Once you know how to get there (which isn't complicated once it's been explained to you in context), the riad is perfectly located. It's about 7 minutes walk to the main square and only about 5 minutes from a really fantastic bar - Cafe Arabe.

I highly recommend Riad Sidi Omar, I know that I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unterwegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I had such a wonderful time staying with two female friends at Omar's beautiful Riad in October. Omar has a heart of gold, an incredibly warm and welcoming host. He puts you at ease immediately. You arrive as guests but leave as friends! The location of the Riad can seem complicated at first but actually it is very simple once you understand the 'labyrinth' which Omar explained. A very intelligent and insightful man, I would not hesitate to recommend Riad Sidi Omar. Each morning we were greeted by most spectacular breakfast on the roof terrace, overlooking the city. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Thank you Omar and family for an unforgettable stay in Marrakech and hopefully we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1980six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

we were emailed some directions by the owner however the riad is very difficult to find! Once you eventually find this riad you will be greeted by a friendly family who offer brilliant hospitality.
The breakfast was amazing and the building is beautiful.
Rooms are clean and spacious.
Can get a little cold at night!
Would highly recommend this riad but would recommend the owner creates better directions to find this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01flora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.6 mi away
Riad Omar
Riad Omar
#524 of 1,186 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
9.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
9.0 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#140 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
14.0 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#98 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Omar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Omar

Property: Riad Sidi Omar
Address: mouassine N 85, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bougainviller on the patio of the riad gives an added value to the beauty of the riad. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing