We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing stay, fantastic hospitality, great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Sidi Omar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Sidi Omar
Ranked #320 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, fantastic hospitality, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We visited Riad Sidi Omar over New Years 2012 and had an absolutely wonderful time. Omar and his family (who have lived in the riad all their lives) made our stay absolutely first class and very memorable. We stayed in the room with the fireplace, and Omar made sure we had enough wood each night so we could make a fire. The room was clean, big and beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts in the morning were massive and very tasty--and prepared by Omar's lovely mother. They were happy for us to take our breakfast to-go when we had daytime excursions. Any questions we had and anything we needed, Omar was happy to help. I'd highly recommend staying here, and we'd definitely stay here again next time we're in Marrakech!

Room Tip: The larger deluxe room with the fireplace was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NilikutaShani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Riad Sidi Omar is a beautifully tranquil sanctuary from the excitement and 'circus-like' feel of the souks, medina and the famous busy Djemaa el Fna. Myself and my friend stayed here for 5 nights in October and I couldn't recommend anywhere better to stay if you want a truly authentic Moroccan experience. The Riad itself has been lovingly restored using traditional materials, methods and colours, with the result of a calming of the senses as soon as you enter the beautiful large doorway. As soon as you arrive you are made to feel like you are one of the family and Omar makes certain that your stay is the most comfortable and pleasurable. All of his family welcome you into their home and they are very cheerful, friendly and helpful. There is always someone around to help if you need something or just have a question. We experienced some daily life of Marrakech which included visiting the local hammam and seeing how authentic Moroccan dishes were prepared and cooked.... and eaten! (Yummmmy). The breakfasts are also amazing and huge - they keep you going all day!
The rooms are very comfortable and clean and beautifully furnished. The courtyard is wonderfully quiet and cool, with only the sounds of the birds in the morning (the fountain was turned off at night!). The roof terrace is an excellent place to relax and catch some sun, and there were also a couple of lounges that were very cosy to read a book in during the evenings. All in all I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Marrakech and highly recommend this riad for any type of traveller whether solo, friends, couple or family..... Ten out of Ten! Oh and the mint tea is fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilayeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Let me start of simply by just saying if we didn't meet Omar i can grantee are holiday would not have been as good. Omar literally put that cherry on top for our holiday making it truly amazing. I feel when people go to moroccan they forget the real reason why they are going. its not about the fancy hotel its about the people and riads. The traditional Moroccan houses. Omar's place is beautiful and im sure anyone who goes there will fall in love with it. Just have someone about to talk to and tell you where to go was amazing.

Dont even get me started on his breakfast plater. Even still now i dream of his breakfast, nothing has even come close to yet. Truly amazing platter for a great day to come.

To sum it all up Omar was the best reason why we enjoyed Moroccan, i can confirm this as others who have gone without a person like Omar felt Morocco wasn't so exciting. Plus just after i went i recommend my brother within months he went and loved it. He shared the same feeling I have with Omar, and excellent host but more importantly a great friend.

P.s just on personally note Omar Moroccan tea is amazing that alone would want you to come back for more.

To those who are reading this trust me Omar places is the jam stop looking and just trust us =D.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khairul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

My friend Manu and I had a fantastic time at Omar's riad in march 2010. Everything was perfect from A to Z. You just feel at home. Your experience with Omar and his family does start with a warm welcoming, a tea, a chat and you already feel at home !! The riad is extremely well located, very clean, super lovely, the roof is very nice and it is quiet. We wanted to go to a traditional hamman and Omar accompanied us to the local hammam for woman. We just loved it - so authentic ! Omar's mum is a very good cook and the breakfast was generous and yummy. I can not recommend enough to go there !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudsDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Riad Sidi Omar was a real discovery... situated in the midst of a true labyrinth of small streets, this riad is is a true haven of peace. Omar and his family really go out of their way to make your stay a succes and to help you out with any questions you may have. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, breakfast is absolutely delicious.
Marrakesh itself is absolutely breathtaking and our stay in this riad, a real home away from home where made this holiday one to remember for many years to come.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneken_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was my first time in Marrakech and Omar and his family made us feel very welcome and actually part of the family. The riad is beautiful, typical Morrocan and the food is amazing! Omar and his family has given us all the tips we needed to get around and the riad is very well situated so it's easy to get back to. I would recommend this place to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech as Omar will make sure you experience the real vibe of the city and have a fantastic time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Riad Sidi Omar family have really nailed a wonderful travel experience. You are made to feel welcome and comfortable from the moment of arriving. It's the perfect balance of beautiful, attentive service, sincere friendliness, loads of information and assistance available at any time of the day or night and the best food we had in Morocco cooked by the matriarch of the house. I have been traveling for 14 years and would have to honestly say this is one of the best accommodation experiences I have ever had. Marrakech was made a very special place for us because of this wonderful family. It was particularly brilliant staying with a Moroccan family - every experience I had in Morocco of staying with an ex-pat owner was just not the same and no where near as wonderful. Not only would I highly recommend this Riad I hope to get back there again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatRomaGreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.6 mi away
Riad Omar
Riad Omar
#526 of 1,186 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
9.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
9.0 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#143 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
14.0 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#98 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Omar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Omar

Property: Riad Sidi Omar
Address: mouassine N 85, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bougainviller on the patio of the riad gives an added value to the beauty of the riad. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing