We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Riad Sidi Omar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Sidi Omar
Ranked #225 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Riad Sidi Omar was a real discovery... situated in the midst of a true labyrinth of small streets, this riad is is a true haven of peace. Omar and his family really go out of their way to make your stay a succes and to help you out with any questions you may have. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, breakfast is absolutely delicious.
Marrakesh itself is absolutely breathtaking and our stay in this riad, a real home away from home where made this holiday one to remember for many years to come.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneken_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was my first time in Marrakech and Omar and his family made us feel very welcome and actually part of the family. The riad is beautiful, typical Morrocan and the food is amazing! Omar and his family has given us all the tips we needed to get around and the riad is very well situated so it's easy to get back to. I would recommend this place to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech as Omar will make sure you experience the real vibe of the city and have a fantastic time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Riad Sidi Omar family have really nailed a wonderful travel experience. You are made to feel welcome and comfortable from the moment of arriving. It's the perfect balance of beautiful, attentive service, sincere friendliness, loads of information and assistance available at any time of the day or night and the best food we had in Morocco cooked by the matriarch of the house. I have been traveling for 14 years and would have to honestly say this is one of the best accommodation experiences I have ever had. Marrakech was made a very special place for us because of this wonderful family. It was particularly brilliant staying with a Moroccan family - every experience I had in Morocco of staying with an ex-pat owner was just not the same and no where near as wonderful. Not only would I highly recommend this Riad I hope to get back there again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatRomaGreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My friends and I had a nice stay in Marrakesh and we owe a lot of that to the Riad Sidi Omar. They were very nice hosts who always offered to help us out with planing day trips and our itinerary in Marrakesh. We got to know the true moroccan hospitality and were always greeted with a smile.
The location is central, close tot the heart of the old city. The breakfast was delicious even at very early hours of the morning and I strongly recommend the house cooked traditional dinner. The rooms are very nicely decorated and you get to sleep in a traditional moroccan house. The atmosphere is relaxing and authentic. As a guest you feel nothing like a stranger but more like visiting a friend.

Many thanks again to Omar and his family for everything!

Irina Fronescu

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irinafronescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for our birthdays and we couldn't have wished for a better time. A very relaxing place to stay, a paradise inside the city. It is run by a Moroccan family so you get a truly authentic experience. Omar will help you if you want to find anything. This is the best value for money place I have ever stayed in. Such a warm vibe and the breakfast was lovely. They even bought my boyfriend a cake for his birthday! I whole-heartedly recommend this Riad

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanbag024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

If you are after a very authentic, low cost riad then this is a good option. Omar and his family are incredibly kind and helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay with them good.

The Riad is in a central location near the main square and the souks, it is a bit difficult to find at first, but after that it is pretty easy.

The rooms are authentic and the bathroom basic, but does enough. The breakfast is phenomenal and it would never be possible to eat it all!

Overall the service is what makes this place so good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommygun147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We very much enjoyed our few days staying at the Riad owned and run by Omar and his family. The atmosphere was peaceful and a welcome relief after a day wandering around the medina. Our room was comortable and beautifully decorated with doors that open onto the patio where we savoured the delicious breakfast in the shade of the orange trees. We were made to feel extremely welcome and were only sorry that we were unable to return. Another time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
8.6 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#229 of 499 in Marrakech
185 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 499 in Marrakech
1,945 reviews
20.8 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#47 of 499 in Marrakech
1,222 reviews
9.9 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#101 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
9.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Omar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Omar

Property: Riad Sidi Omar
Address: mouassine N 85, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bougainviller on the patio of the riad gives an added value to the beauty of the riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Sidi Omar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing