We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sidi Omar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Sidi Omar
Save
You added Riad Sidi Omar to your Saves list
Ranked #299 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Riad Sidi Omar was a real discovery... situated in the midst of a true labyrinth of small streets, this riad is is a true haven of peace. Omar and his family really go out of their way to make your stay a succes and to help you out with any questions you may have. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, breakfast is absolutely delicious.
Marrakesh itself is absolutely breathtaking and our stay in this riad, a real home away from home where made this holiday one to remember for many years to come.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneken_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was my first time in Marrakech and Omar and his family made us feel very welcome and actually part of the family. The riad is beautiful, typical Morrocan and the food is amazing! Omar and his family has given us all the tips we needed to get around and the riad is very well situated so it's easy to get back to. I would recommend this place to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech as Omar will make sure you experience the real vibe of the city and have a fantastic time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Riad Sidi Omar family have really nailed a wonderful travel experience. You are made to feel welcome and comfortable from the moment of arriving. It's the perfect balance of beautiful, attentive service, sincere friendliness, loads of information and assistance available at any time of the day or night and the best food we had in Morocco cooked by the matriarch of the house. I have been traveling for 14 years and would have to honestly say this is one of the best accommodation experiences I have ever had. Marrakech was made a very special place for us because of this wonderful family. It was particularly brilliant staying with a Moroccan family - every experience I had in Morocco of staying with an ex-pat owner was just not the same and no where near as wonderful. Not only would I highly recommend this Riad I hope to get back there again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatRomaGreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My friends and I had a nice stay in Marrakesh and we owe a lot of that to the Riad Sidi Omar. They were very nice hosts who always offered to help us out with planing day trips and our itinerary in Marrakesh. We got to know the true moroccan hospitality and were always greeted with a smile.
The location is central, close tot the heart of the old city. The breakfast was delicious even at very early hours of the morning and I strongly recommend the house cooked traditional dinner. The rooms are very nicely decorated and you get to sleep in a traditional moroccan house. The atmosphere is relaxing and authentic. As a guest you feel nothing like a stranger but more like visiting a friend.

Many thanks again to Omar and his family for everything!

Irina Fronescu

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irinafronescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for our birthdays and we couldn't have wished for a better time. A very relaxing place to stay, a paradise inside the city. It is run by a Moroccan family so you get a truly authentic experience. Omar will help you if you want to find anything. This is the best value for money place I have ever stayed in. Such a warm vibe and the breakfast was lovely. They even bought my boyfriend a cake for his birthday! I whole-heartedly recommend this Riad

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanbag024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

If you are after a very authentic, low cost riad then this is a good option. Omar and his family are incredibly kind and helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay with them good.

The Riad is in a central location near the main square and the souks, it is a bit difficult to find at first, but after that it is pretty easy.

The rooms are authentic and the bathroom basic, but does enough. The breakfast is phenomenal and it would never be possible to eat it all!

Overall the service is what makes this place so good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommygun147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We very much enjoyed our few days staying at the Riad owned and run by Omar and his family. The atmosphere was peaceful and a welcome relief after a day wandering around the medina. Our room was comortable and beautifully decorated with doors that open onto the patio where we savoured the delicious breakfast in the shade of the orange trees. We were made to feel extremely welcome and were only sorry that we were unable to return. Another time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.6 mi away
Riad Omar
Riad Omar
#511 of 1,177 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
9.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
14.0 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#105 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
8.3 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#273 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Omar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Omar

Property: Riad Sidi Omar
Address: mouassine N 85, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bougainviller on the patio of the riad gives an added value to the beauty of the riad. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing