We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend at RIAD AWA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Awa to your Saves list
Riad Awa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great long weekend at RIAD AWA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A perfect stay in Riad Awa with a group of friends in our first time in Marrakech. Good location, great food in the Riad, nice and friendly service with all we need and ready to help in anything you might need. We, really, enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo_Motta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    23
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
112
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a lovely time at the Riad, my friend turned 30 and they had red roses put in the room which was lovely. The food was the best I ate whilst there. Loved the plunge pool spent a couple of days around the pool so I came back very chilled out. Thanks again for everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treacle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent stay in Riad Awa in Kasbah district so in the Medina - an oasis of calm in the madness of Marrakech.
The service was superb all needs catered for, taxi to and from airports trips to Atlas mountains, nothing was too much trouble.
Thanks for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJohnson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gata de Gorgos, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Marrakech which has become something of an annual pilgrimage.
We decided it would be a nice change to stay in a different area on this visit and friends who we travel with had previously stayed at Riad Awa which is in the Kasbah area. This riad is quite well situated for visits to the tombs and palaces but is a bit of a trek up to the square and the souks, particularly on this visit as it was an unseasonable temperature of nearly 40ªC.
The riad is very well designed and we stayed in the suite which was very comfortable with good a/c, excellent shower and very spacious. The roof terrace is large and has the added attraction of a pool which was well used in view of the high temperatures. We ate at the riad on our first night and had an excellent meal. The owner, Henri, was about for a couple of days but you got the impression that perhaps he has lost a little of his passion for Marrakech and in some places the riad was in need of a little TLC.
However we enjoyed our stay but there was one big let down and that was the attitude of the majority of the staff. They were quite offhand when requested for something and there were very few pleasantries exchanged which has not been our experience in other riads we have stayed at in previous years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I went for a 5 day break. We loved the cozy rooftops for breakfast. Great location in the Medina, about 10 mins walk from the main square, and very near some good restaurants.

Henri was a fantastic host, spending loads of time with us to make sure we had everything we needed, and some great advice. Staff were great, and very friendly - highly recommend this Riad. Best Riad experience in Marrakech so far....highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikC187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Marrakech and I am so pleased we chose Riad Awa. Henri emailed before we arrived offering any assistance we might need. He arranged a car to pick us up from the airport and we had a wonderful meal at the Riad on our first night.
We had an early flight so arrived mid morning - Henri was there to great us arranged refreshments for us and took a lot of time and trouble explaining where to go and what to see. Everyone at the riad was very friendly and all wanted to make our stay special. Mohamed was a total joy and we had some lovely chats with him.
Breakfast is served every morning on the roof terrace at any time you want it. The food was all delicious and there is plenty of it. I especially enjoyed the proper English tea as I always miss a good cup of tea when travelling.
Marrakech is a wonderful city full of lovely people. We had a wonderful time and can't thank everyone at Riad Awa enough for making our stay very special.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, it was clean and the room was simply furnished. The staff were pleasant enough and the breakfast was perfectly acceptable. The WiFi is intermittent and can only be accessed in certain parts of the building. All in all, an okay experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiecrewBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#293 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#2 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#25 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#32 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Property: Riad Awa
Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing