We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Awa
Ranked #273 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I went for a 5 day break. We loved the cozy rooftops for breakfast. Great location in the Medina, about 10 mins walk from the main square, and very near some good restaurants.

Henri was a fantastic host, spending loads of time with us to make sure we had everything we needed, and some great advice. Staff were great, and very friendly - highly recommend this Riad. Best Riad experience in Marrakech so far....highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikC187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    24
    6
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
119
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Marrakech and I am so pleased we chose Riad Awa. Henri emailed before we arrived offering any assistance we might need. He arranged a car to pick us up from the airport and we had a wonderful meal at the Riad on our first night.
We had an early flight so arrived mid morning - Henri was there to great us arranged refreshments for us and took a lot of time and trouble explaining where to go and what to see. Everyone at the riad was very friendly and all wanted to make our stay special. Mohamed was a total joy and we had some lovely chats with him.
Breakfast is served every morning on the roof terrace at any time you want it. The food was all delicious and there is plenty of it. I especially enjoyed the proper English tea as I always miss a good cup of tea when travelling.
Marrakech is a wonderful city full of lovely people. We had a wonderful time and can't thank everyone at Riad Awa enough for making our stay very special.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, it was clean and the room was simply furnished. The staff were pleasant enough and the breakfast was perfectly acceptable. The WiFi is intermittent and can only be accessed in certain parts of the building. All in all, an okay experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiecrewBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing 5 nights here, the Riad was exactly like the photos and the service was second to none. All the staff at this place couldn't have done anymore to make our stay any better. The food is great, especially the breakfast on the roof terrace, in fact the dinner was also amazing too! They arranged a car to collect us for the airport and gave some great recommendations for places to see and eat out at! Thoroughly enjoyed it and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we come back to marrakech! Thanks again for an amazing stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidACowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this delightful Riad. Very clean room, good value and possibly the best continental breakfast we have had in a long time. The staff were all very friendly with the owner Henri quite attentive and pleased to recommend good places to eat and visit. We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this Riad, particularly to any first time visitors to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first time staying in a Riad in the Medina so do not really have anything to compare it with. However my overall feeling is one of disappointment. I felt that everything was just "OK".
Nothing to really criticise but nothing I would rave about either. The staff were pleasant but not what I would describe as friendly. We were never offered tea or coffee or asked if we were enjoying our holiday, if everything was ok, what we had done … etc.

The Wi-Fi was not working at all during the five days we were there. I had stated before booking that Wi-Fi was essential. I ended up running up considerable mobile costs phoning and keeping in touch with home, which due to circumstances was essential.

We had a great time in Marrakesh. We loved shopping in the souks and found the people to be very friendly.

However regarding the Riad Awa, I would say everything was “fine” but not “outstanding”. I feel there could be much friendlier Riads in the Medina and for this reason would not stay here if we were to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cacbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews I can only agree whole heartedly with all the positive comments about Riad Awa and the people who run it and work there, particularly Mohammed.

The location is great, welcome fantastic (even offering mint tea to four of my family group who came to visit), rooms comfortable and breakfast on the terrace a lovely touch.

When I return to Marrakech I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#131 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tasgua-Yan
Tasgua-Yan
#52 of 177 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar White
Riad Dar White
#382 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Lilen
Riad Lilen
#96 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad La Villa Marrakech
Riad La Villa Marrakech
#395 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad Dar Al Amane
Riad Dar Al Amane
#150 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Property: Riad Awa
Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing