We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, rooms and welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Awa
Ranked #297 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms and welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews I can only agree whole heartedly with all the positive comments about Riad Awa and the people who run it and work there, particularly Mohammed.

The location is great, welcome fantastic (even offering mint tea to four of my family group who came to visit), rooms comfortable and breakfast on the terrace a lovely touch.

When I return to Marrakech I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    23
    6
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
114
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to Mohamed, Henri and all the staff for making us feel so welcome. A perfect balance of friendliness, warmth and discretion.

Our stay started with a firm handshake and welcoming smile from Mohamed. We arrived around 10pm and were offered beautiful mint tea to relax and feel at home. Mohamed then sat down with us and calmly talked us through every aspect of Marrakesh including maps and advice about where to eat, visit etc. he happily answered any questions we had. All this was done without any pressure.

The hustle and bustle outside completely disappeared on entering the Riad and closing the door. It was absolutely calm and silent. The Riad is situated in a fantastic spot - right by the Kasbah Mosque- 10-15minute walk from the main square (close enough to feel like your "in the action" but far away enough not to feel intimidated as soon as you step out of the door!).

Mohamed's help and warmth did not stop there, at any time you saw him he greeted you with a smile and was on hand to assist in any way. "We are one big family here" he explained to me.

Breakfast was served on the terrace every morning by Mohamed and the fantastic ladies in the kitchen (from 9am but "if you want breakfast at 8am or even 8pm we will do it!" said Mohamed). A lovely selection of fruit, yoghurt, breads, preserves, orange juice, tea and coffee with a tasty "dish of the day" - which ranged from cinnamon doughnuts, pancakes and crepes etc. Henri appeared every morning to say hello to his guests and discuss any plans or news for the day. He is as chatty as you want him to be - happy to leave you alone or happy to partake in any conversation you may want to have.

Henri helpfully organised a trip for us to the Atlas Mountains (cue an air conditioned, comfortable, 4x4 driven by a great guy called Freud - who also took us to the airport when we had to go) This was organised smoothly and without a hitch! Perfect!

After a long day trekking the streets, or the Atlas Mountains, the Riad Awa was a great place to return too - to enjoy a mint tea by the fire and plan the evenings festivities. They were happy to cook dinner also if you required.

I can't fault this place. Missing them all already. Great location, great staff, great breakfasts, great facilities.

Riad Awa I will be returning soooooon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baptiste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After weeks of trepidation on our first trip to North Africa, let alone Marrakech, all i can say is what a fantastic and out of this world place this really is and all the more better for staying at Riad Awa. Henri and his wonderful staff, especially Mohamad, could not do enough for you and were always very attentive for what ever you required. Riad Awa is perfectly located and stylish and tasteful and a quiet oasis away from the madding crowds of the Medina and the Souks. The room was simple yet stylish and the shower was a welcome reward after trudging around the souks and the heat all day. If you're going to Marrakech for the first time, dont do hotels but be more local and adventurous and stay at a beautiful and quiet Riad near the Medina. Riad Awa is definately one to look into. Breakfast on the roof terrace each morning watching the storks make their nests while planning your next trip into the city is a perfect way to start the day. 10 minute walks into the heart of the city makes Riad Awa a perfect location and after several nights out we ate in on the last night and this is well recommended. Henri gave us a choice of Tagine or cous cous for mains and the beef and Pear Tagine was to die for. Morroccan salad to start with was superb and much better than what you will get in the Tourist restaurants of the Medina. Again, Mohamad and the girls in the kitchen were fantastic and made our last night in Marrakech very comfortable sitting by the fire drinking a bottle of local Morroccan Rose wine.

Thanks Henri and we hope to come back soon. Tres Bien!!

Room Tip: All six rooms are more than one needs for a short stay in Marrakech. All have A/c and en-suite and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at Riad Awa was fantastic. The hotel is very good located, it's in the medina, but the street isn't to busy and noisy. But be prepared to wake up early, at sunrise there were a number of crowing roosters. The hotel is very tasteful decorated and the roof terrace is amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's a cozy and familiar atmosphere and it's easy to feel at home. On arrival day we had dinner at the hotel, the food was great, and the breakfast is really good too!

Room Tip: First floor room seem more private, than the rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Henri and his staff will make anyone feel at home in this beautiful 6 room riad conveniently located right by the Kasbah Mosque.
The roof top terrace is a great place for lounging with a splash pool and cosy booths for meals and snacks.
Compared to other places and prices this is a true bargain for anyone who want to get into the Marrakech Medina.

SPA Les Bains de Marrakech is next door and Jemaa el-fna square is a 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyttfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Perfectly located at the edge of the Kasbah, the Riad Awa is at strategically position in the city. Close to all attractions in a authentic street. A luxury interior, made in a traditional Moroccan handcraft with a taste of modern art and an awesome comfort. The roof top over looks the city with a pool. The owner makes you feel just at home with a perfect dosage of discretion and warmness. A restaurant a Hammam, everything is taken care of seamlessly. The perfect balance for an exotic week.

Room Tip: The room we preferred is on the second floor with the musharabiah ! Comfort is equally awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Such a great place with friendly hospitality and charming chic vibe.
We had a great time there and still keep talking about how wonderful time we had.
Thank you Henri to show us around and charming personality.

We all miss you and AWA
cheer from big mango (bangkok)

Natt, Michelle, Natasha and Ian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orbit_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#130 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#102 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar White
Riad Dar White
#397 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
5.9 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#1 of 258 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#12 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Property: Riad Awa
Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing