We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Awa to your Saves list
Riad Awa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at Riad Awa was fantastic. The hotel is very good located, it's in the medina, but the street isn't to busy and noisy. But be prepared to wake up early, at sunrise there were a number of crowing roosters. The hotel is very tasteful decorated and the roof terrace is amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's a cozy and familiar atmosphere and it's easy to feel at home. On arrival day we had dinner at the hotel, the food was great, and the breakfast is really good too!

Room Tip: First floor room seem more private, than the rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    23
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
112
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Henri and his staff will make anyone feel at home in this beautiful 6 room riad conveniently located right by the Kasbah Mosque.
The roof top terrace is a great place for lounging with a splash pool and cosy booths for meals and snacks.
Compared to other places and prices this is a true bargain for anyone who want to get into the Marrakech Medina.

SPA Les Bains de Marrakech is next door and Jemaa el-fna square is a 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyttfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Perfectly located at the edge of the Kasbah, the Riad Awa is at strategically position in the city. Close to all attractions in a authentic street. A luxury interior, made in a traditional Moroccan handcraft with a taste of modern art and an awesome comfort. The roof top over looks the city with a pool. The owner makes you feel just at home with a perfect dosage of discretion and warmness. A restaurant a Hammam, everything is taken care of seamlessly. The perfect balance for an exotic week.

Room Tip: The room we preferred is on the second floor with the musharabiah ! Comfort is equally awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Such a great place with friendly hospitality and charming chic vibe.
We had a great time there and still keep talking about how wonderful time we had.
Thank you Henri to show us around and charming personality.

We all miss you and AWA
cheer from big mango (bangkok)

Natt, Michelle, Natasha and Ian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orbit_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a fantaastic stay at AWA. Our pick up from the airport I arranged with the hotel was on time, the evening meal in the riad was the best we had during our whole stay so I would strongly recomend eating one meal in there. The staff couldn't have been any nicer, the location any better and the owner was so welcoming. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Henri and his team of staff offer a truly amazing service.

We were upgraded on arrival and had the most amazing time in Marrakech.

Breakfast was served to us on the roof whatever time we surfaced and all the staff were on hand for any help/advice we needed.

The pool on the roof was a nice touch as June was boiling hot! Much needed every day.

Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DadN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Riad Awa is the perfect balance for the chaos of Marrakech - a place of simplicity, calm and tranquility. Henri, Mohamad and the other staff provide a very high level of service and were always keen to go above the call of duty. Perfect location ten minute walk to the square and souks. Great restaurant - Kasbah cafe - just round the corner. I highly recommend booking your stay now! We hope to be back in the future...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#293 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#2 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#25 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#32 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Property: Riad Awa
Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing