We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“50th Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Awa
Ranked #274 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“50th Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Riad Awa with a group of 9 friends to celebrate my 50th birthday and couldn't have asked for more. Arrived to a lovely welcome from Henri (the owner) and everyone fell in love with the beautiful riad, cool and stylish and very comfortable. Henri and his staff provided a fantastic meal on our arrival in the evening in front of a log fire and made us feel at home immediately. Location is as good as it gets and Henri provided priceless information on how to get around and where to eat etc., couldn't have been more helpful. Roof terrace provided a lovely setting to relax after a busy day in the souk. I would highly recommend this riad without hesitation and hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    23
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
113
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Awa for five nights in January. We were completely bowled over by Marrakesh in general; by the people, the souk, the sheer vibrancy of the place. Loved it far more than I expected. The riad was a calm, soothing retreat to come back to every night. There is nothing rushed, jolting or intrusive about the place. It is decorated and furnished with neutral colours, clean lines and consummate style. The staff is low key, but always available and always helpful. If you want advice I'm sure you'd get it. Henri, who is the owner, made a phone call to a carpet salesman in the souk on our behalf and asked him to give us a good price. I have multiple food intolerances and particularly appreciated the efforts the staff went to provide me with a breakfast I could eat - you don't get such helpfulness everywhere. Thank you Henri, Mohammed and the ladies in the kitchen - you're stars!

For my take on Marrakesh, see http://pimpmybricks.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/a-monstrous-long-post-sans-oomph-but-avec-pictures/

Room Tip: We stayed in La Suite - it was larger than the others and lovely. There was sometimes a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemalmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We' ve stayed here for 5 days and we' ve been very impressed with the style of this b& b, the service was exceptional and the food delicious, so i strongly recommend if you visit marrakech or its outside area. We' re also like to send a big thank you to Henri and all his staff at Riad Awa for all their help and advices. See you soon

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyingreen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just returned from Marrakesh, we spent 4 nights at this Riad and we loved it.
The place itself is very nice, the owner and the staff friendly but very proffessional at the same time.
We enjoyed the cozy evenings at the fireplace.....hammam and massage very good.
the only regrets: we should have asked to cook for us more often, we only taste their delicius food on the last evening!
GRAZIE HENRI!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0riagl0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I went away with a group of 14 ladies for a hen weekend. We had the Riad exclusively to ourselves. We arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner Henri and his staff. He gave us a tour of the building and then sat down with us to tell us all we needed to know about Marrakech, where to go, what to do, what not to do.
The location of Riad Awa is superb. Right in the old town with a 10 minute walk to the square.
We had a fantastic weekend. Marrakech is a great city. However, this trip was trumped by having the best accommodation ever. We didn't want to leave!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you are looking for something traditional, charming and FABULOUS!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoz_Flashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our first trip to Morocco and Marrakech. Riad Awa is in a great location, 15 mins from the airport and just inside the city gates. Owner Henri meets you on arrival and runs through some local places of interest. There's something quite liberating about not needing a room key! Riad staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace is a treat and very tasty. Our favourite moments at the riad were on the roof terrace when all was quiet after a the hustle and bustle of the souks

Room Tip: Some rooms with interior windows have less street noise. First floor rooms seem more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneille2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Hi, we stayed at Riad Awa in September 2011 and found our stay absolutely delightful. The Riad has an wonderful charm, fantastic breakfast which is included in the room price, and the staff are so friendly. It really just feels like you are at home. The Location of the Riad was absolutely perfect, it was a short but interesting walk to Jemaa El Fna Square, as well the Riad is surrounded by great shops and cafe's. Nothing is really more than a 10 minutes walk from the Riad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLM577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#145 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#98 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Akka
Riad Akka
#150 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
5.9 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#3 of 251 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#14 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Property: Riad Awa
Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing