We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday”
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Awa
Ranked #411 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Riad Awa with a group of 9 friends to celebrate my 50th birthday and couldn't have asked for more. Arrived to a lovely welcome from Henri (the owner) and everyone fell in love with the beautiful riad, cool and stylish and very comfortable. Henri and his staff provided a fantastic meal on our arrival in the evening in front of a log fire and made us feel at home immediately. Location is as good as it gets and Henri provided priceless information on how to get around and where to eat etc., couldn't have been more helpful. Roof terrace provided a lovely setting to relax after a busy day in the souk. I would highly recommend this riad without hesitation and hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 235 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Awa for five nights in January. We were completely bowled over by Marrakesh in general; by the people, the souk, the sheer vibrancy of the place. Loved it far more than I expected. The riad was a calm, soothing retreat to come back to every night. There is nothing rushed, jolting or intrusive about the place. It is decorated and furnished with neutral colours, clean lines and consummate style. The staff is low key, but always available and always helpful. If you want advice I'm sure you'd get it. Henri, who is the owner, made a phone call to a carpet salesman in the souk on our behalf and asked him to give us a good price. I have multiple food intolerances and particularly appreciated the efforts the staff went to provide me with a breakfast I could eat - you don't get such helpfulness everywhere. Thank you Henri, Mohammed and the ladies in the kitchen - you're stars!

For my take on Marrakesh, see http://pimpmybricks.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/a-monstrous-long-post-sans-oomph-but-avec-pictures/

Room Tip: We stayed in La Suite - it was larger than the others and lovely. There was sometimes a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemalmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We' ve stayed here for 5 days and we' ve been very impressed with the style of this b& b, the service was exceptional and the food delicious, so i strongly recommend if you visit marrakech or its outside area. We' re also like to send a big thank you to Henri and all his staff at Riad Awa for all their help and advices. See you soon

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyingreen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just returned from Marrakesh, we spent 4 nights at this Riad and we loved it.
The place itself is very nice, the owner and the staff friendly but very proffessional at the same time.
We enjoyed the cozy evenings at the fireplace.....hammam and massage very good.
the only regrets: we should have asked to cook for us more often, we only taste their delicius food on the last evening!
GRAZIE HENRI!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl0riagl0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I went away with a group of 14 ladies for a hen weekend. We had the Riad exclusively to ourselves. We arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner Henri and his staff. He gave us a tour of the building and then sat down with us to tell us all we needed to know about Marrakech, where to go, what to do, what not to do.
The location of Riad Awa is superb. Right in the old town with a 10 minute walk to the square.
We had a fantastic weekend. Marrakech is a great city. However, this trip was trumped by having the best accommodation ever. We didn't want to leave!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you are looking for something traditional, charming and FABULOUS!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smoz_Flashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our first trip to Morocco and Marrakech. Riad Awa is in a great location, 15 mins from the airport and just inside the city gates. Owner Henri meets you on arrival and runs through some local places of interest. There's something quite liberating about not needing a room key! Riad staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace is a treat and very tasty. Our favourite moments at the riad were on the roof terrace when all was quiet after a the hustle and bustle of the souks

Room Tip: Some rooms with interior windows have less street noise. First floor rooms seem more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneille2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Hi, we stayed at Riad Awa in September 2011 and found our stay absolutely delightful. The Riad has an wonderful charm, fantastic breakfast which is included in the room price, and the staff are so friendly. It really just feels like you are at home. The Location of the Riad was absolutely perfect, it was a short but interesting walk to Jemaa El Fna Square, as well the Riad is surrounded by great shops and cafe's. Nothing is really more than a 10 minutes walk from the Riad.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLM577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7 mi away
Palais de l'O
Palais de l'O
#495 of 1,172 in Marrakech
208 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#51 of 1,172 in Marrakech
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 500 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 500 in Marrakech
1,314 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Address: 6 Derb El Hajra Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $87 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing