We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome,main square location, beautiful surroundings!!”
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Awa
Ranked #406 of 1,165 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We' ve stayed here for 5 days and we' ve been very impressed with the style of this b& b, the service was exceptional and the food delicious, so i strongly recommend if you visit marrakech or its outside area. We' re also like to send a big thank you to Henri and all his staff at Riad Awa for all their help and advices. See you soon

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyingreen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 235 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just returned from Marrakesh, we spent 4 nights at this Riad and we loved it.
The place itself is very nice, the owner and the staff friendly but very proffessional at the same time.
We enjoyed the cozy evenings at the fireplace.....hammam and massage very good.
the only regrets: we should have asked to cook for us more often, we only taste their delicius food on the last evening!
GRAZIE HENRI!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl0riagl0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I went away with a group of 14 ladies for a hen weekend. We had the Riad exclusively to ourselves. We arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner Henri and his staff. He gave us a tour of the building and then sat down with us to tell us all we needed to know about Marrakech, where to go, what to do, what not to do.
The location of Riad Awa is superb. Right in the old town with a 10 minute walk to the square.
We had a fantastic weekend. Marrakech is a great city. However, this trip was trumped by having the best accommodation ever. We didn't want to leave!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you are looking for something traditional, charming and FABULOUS!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smoz_Flashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our first trip to Morocco and Marrakech. Riad Awa is in a great location, 15 mins from the airport and just inside the city gates. Owner Henri meets you on arrival and runs through some local places of interest. There's something quite liberating about not needing a room key! Riad staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace is a treat and very tasty. Our favourite moments at the riad were on the roof terrace when all was quiet after a the hustle and bustle of the souks

Room Tip: Some rooms with interior windows have less street noise. First floor rooms seem more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneille2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Hi, we stayed at Riad Awa in September 2011 and found our stay absolutely delightful. The Riad has an wonderful charm, fantastic breakfast which is included in the room price, and the staff are so friendly. It really just feels like you are at home. The Location of the Riad was absolutely perfect, it was a short but interesting walk to Jemaa El Fna Square, as well the Riad is surrounded by great shops and cafe's. Nothing is really more than a 10 minutes walk from the Riad.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLM577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Being our first trip ever to Marrakech, we scoured websites for days looking for the ideal place to stay. Riad Awa did not come up on our radar for a while, as we were only looking at the top 10 Trip Advisor riads. It actually came as a recommendation from the No.1 or No.2 riad who was fully booked at the time of us enquiring. I don't usually give reviews for anything, but this is so worthy of it!

Our requirements were - 5 nights stay with the experience of living in the old city, a clean room, safe and within walking distance to the main sites, a pool on the roof, close to the action with a peaceful night's sleep. Riad Awa was all of these and more.

Henri, the owner gave us a map highlighting all the places we might want to visit and we carried this everywhere. From looking at the Riad's interior which he designed, it's obvious what fantastic taste he has so we trusted his recommendations for restaurants and sights. We were not disappointed.

We walked all over the place and it's also in the ideal location to catch the little yellow taxis, which are so cheap.

One day we took a trip to Essouira on the coach, being a full day we returned late. We emailed Henri during the day from the beach asking if we could have dinner at the Riad. It was all laid out on the roof terrace when we returned and the meal was delicious. The other big treat was the long and lazy breakfasts we had every morning, fruit salads, croissants, home made pancakes, fresh orange juice, pots of tea and coffee.

If you have time, spend a morning enjoying the Riad, reading by the pool or lying on the sun loungers. I felt a sense of peace and tranquility every time I walked through its doors and returning after excursions, it felt like coming home.

The only thing to be aware of, being a traditional Riad there are no locks on the doors. It is perfectly safe as the staff are completely trustworthy but for peace of mind, you may want to bring a small padlock for your wardrobe to lock away your valuables. (There is a small safe for passports & jewellery if you don't have one.)
We were so pleased that we chose here, Henri and his team were so hospitable and made our trip perfect. Just like a home, if you want some tea they will make it for you and even if you have some laundry, they will do this too and all with a smile.

We have beautiful memories of our first holiday in Morocco and this is largely due to Riad Awa. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world but I'd definitely give this a 5 stars recommendation!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fashionspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The location of Riad Awa is perfect. Just a short walk to the Medina and easy access to taxis and public transport. When you arrive you are greeted by the friendly staff. Henri, the owner joins you for breakfast and a chat during the evening. They all strive to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable. The lounges are relaxing, clean and inviting. The rooms beautifully decorated, functionable and comfortable. The pool and outdoor area, peaceful, relaxing, clean and inviting. This is our third stay there and each stay we meet repeat customers. Would not stay any other place in Marrakech.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#29 of 501 in Marrakech
654 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 501 in Marrakech
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 501 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 1,165 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing