We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A true italian job!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Italiano Casanova

Ristorante Italiano Casanova
Ranked #123 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A true italian job!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Finally a true angle of Italian gastronomy! After visiting many exotic places, but with the characters gastronomic eccentric or confused, here is the right atmosphere for lunch or dinner in an intimate or even if you want, along with a group of friends.
The owner is attentive to its clients and runs gracefully through the tables advising and listening to the needs of the customers. We, for example, traveling with a child and they have prepared promptly, a portion of pasta with meat sauce, exactly fit.
We chose a pizza (coocked in a real traditional brick oven) a pasta with seafood and a mixed grill of fish enough for both of us! All very good, tasty and fragrant. We later discovered by the Italian chef, taht at Casanova, they prepare a lot of things in the house, from bread to pasta, from desserts to ice cream and even the limoncello that we were then offered at the end of the meal.
What can I say again, thank Casanova was a good idea to stop after visiting the beautiful Majorelle garden, not far away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinosarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    133
    23
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - good service - good Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very pleasant with good service , good ambience and good pizza . Most enjoyable and would return for Italian / Pizza

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best Italien food in Marrakech. Period!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me, my family and my friends have all eaten here dozens of times so I am well placed to state that Casanova has the best Italian food in Marrakech. This place is very popular with locals, ex-pats and tourists.

The Italian owner is a what I call a "true professional", not an armchair restauranteur. He is always on duty on the floor to greet all the customers and make sure the running of the ship is ship shape (a dying breed these days) and you can see this in the product.

Service can be a bit forgetful but only when the restaurant is full and the wait staff are simply working flat out.

Food. Ok here we go!

The Neapolitan style Pizza's are in my opinion the best in Marrakech and even better than a lot of pizzeria's in England. The thing I like most about the Pizza's is the thin and crispy dough. Its chewy, salty and charred on the edges and the tomato sauce and low moisture mozzarella merge seamlessly together to form the classic base for an excellent Neapolitan Pizza. Its also a great example of a Pizza that does not suffer from ETS "Extreme Tip Sag". Toppings are many you can customise your own and are made from top quality ingredients. Choose from one of the many on the menu. Eat in or take away I do both. My favourite Pizza is the Capriciosa and Casanova 2 where the minimal of ingredients. Oh god there so good, i'm getting hungry right now just thinking about them.

Pasta, is always cooked to order "al dente" served simply with great fresh ingredients. My favourites are the Bucatini a la Metriciana, Linguini Pescietora, Tagliatelle with Gorgonzola, Artichoke and Walnuts and the Ravioli with Rocotta and Spinach and portions are not to much so you cant eat two or three courses.

When its hot its good to have a nice salad or antipasto. The antipasto plates are great for sharing and the meats and salami are all imported. Sardines n Sour are delicious combination of fish sweet n sour and the bresola is excellent.

Primi, Veal escalopes (you cant get milk fed veal in Morocco) is great either with lemon and white wine or with Marsala. Both come with a little plate of side vegetables. Theres also lots of fresh fish and crustacea.

Desserts, my favourites are the Cantouchi with Vin santo and the pannacotta Quelle Suprise!

There are a good selection of Italian wines on offer to combat the high mark up on local wines but in general its excellent value for money and consistently consistent which is the biggest issue when dining out in Marrakech.

Casanova is the sort of place you go there with out thinking of another place to have great food, wine and service in a friendly professional atmosphere for a great time with friends or family. It never disappoints, in fact i think ill go now for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrGourmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Went because of the rewiews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Staff very pleasent, food was okay, but have had better for less as it was not cheap.
We came here because we wanted pasta as we running in the Marrakech marathon,
So got what we came for.
In summary , nice rest, nice staff, food avg, not cheap.

Helpful?
Thank xxxxgman44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited this restaurant three times during our stay and enjoyed it very much. The waiters were friendly and curteous and all the food was excellent. They have a proper wood fired pizza oven and the Calzone is huge! It's not the cheapest by Marrakech standards but is very good value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Italiano Casanova also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ristorante Italiano Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing