We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intriguing.”
Review of Riad Pachavana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Pachavana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed here for one night while passing through Marrakech on a bit of a road.
Sure it looks quaint inside, the pool is more of a pond but the staff were very friendly and serve small bottles of beer at €5 a time with a smile.

But the big question is it really worth the hassle of getting to? Taxi drivers don't know where it is and take a while to find it, which increases the tension about the argument over the fare and even when they drop you off you have no idea how to get there from the street. You have to follow youths who lead you a long way round, through dark alley ways and then demand excessive money for their troubles. All part of the Moroccan fun? Maybe, but it's more intimidating than amusing and I'm well travelled and familiar with various environments and am aware when intimidation tactics are being used.

Stay once at a Riad and then book into a hotel in Marrakech away from the medina and Souks, it's pointless staying in the medina as you can walk into there from the square anyway and won't have to pass through it when you are trying to get home at night, in the dark, lost with hundreds of locals hassling you.

Ps - don't get a room on the ground floor unless you want to feel like sleeping in the reception/breakfast room of a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rojsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to comment, even if I have been surprise on some points. We always offer our guests a shuttle service from the airport to the riad to avoid inconvenience you have encountered, and often make that people pay at the end more than the service we provide with our supplier, who knows the riad and accompanies the guests to the door of the riad. Concerning pools in the riads, they are related to the size of the institutions, and I think that you are more used to big hotels. I regret that the experience of the riad does not agreed you (luckily for you, it only lasted one night), but fortunately it suits at very great majority of our hosts! I'm sorry if you have experienced a little noisy people at their breakfast, this rarely happens.
Cordialy.
Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Riad Pachavana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 407 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently chose to spend 4 nights here based on previous reviews, and like others would 100% recommend to anyone who wants to experience daily life in the old city.

Our taxi driver from the airport wasn't familiar with the Riad as it is located off a narrow cobbled lane, but after a quick phone call he found it and helped us with our luggage. Once through the main door you are in a peaceful and beautiful oasis of calm. As a base it is great as not in a noisy neighbourhood or a touristy one but close enough to the souks and main square to be walkable. The petit taxis offer a cheap way of getting round too.

Our room (Rubis) was large and tucked away on the first floor. As we had let them know our visit was to celebrate our wedding anniversary the room was scattered with rose petals, I was touched!

All the food we had there was lovely. We ate in one night for our anniversary dinner and requested a pastilla - the cook made us a beautiful one.

The Riad has a small spa and massage room, so we had a hamman and massage their rather than having to go out, which was handy. Good too.

The service from Khamissa, Abdoul, Mohammed and the team was first class, lovely genuine people, we were very well looked after.

We wish the Riad Pachavana all the best for the future

Room Tip: Rubis was our room and so would recommend, but they all look good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butter_cup37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hello,
We were very touched by your comment, and very happy to welcome you, especially for your anniversary. The team joins me in wishing you all the happiness in the world.
Warm regards.
Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Riad Pachavana is one of the best places I have stayed in the world. It is located only 10 minutes away from the main square and offers guests tranquility and peace after a day exploring the bustling city. The food served at breakfast and dinner were the most delicious meals we had whilst in Morocco. The staff, especially Abdoul, Mohammad, and Heemsa, were very welcoming and friendly and made sure we had a fantastic holiday. I can't recommend this Riad enough - please stay here!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

All the staff, and specially Khamissa, Abdou and Mohamed, joins me to thank you for your lovely comment about the riad, the staff and services. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we wish to see you again another time maybe.
Best wishes.
Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

One of the best and most beautiful places to stay in! We really enjoyed our stay here for my birthday and were really pleased that the staff Abdoul and Hamisa were so friendly and helpful at all times. The breakfast was wonderful and we definitely would recommend this riad and would love to be back.
Thank you for the birthday present Natalie!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hello,
Khamissa Abdou and the entire team joins me in thanking you for your comment so nice. We were pleased to meet you and welcome you. You form a beautiful family with two lovely daughters, and we keep a good souvenir of your visit. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best wishes.
Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We picked the Pachavana through the pictures and write up via Expedia. It turned out to be an inspired choice. As others have said it is an unexpected oasis and feels like you have stepped into a different world from the street outside. The room, the terrace, the courtyard were all great. The food compared well with restaurants outside (we ate dinner there a few times during the week) and the fish tagine was outstanding. But above all was the quality of the service - Abdoul and Hamsa contributed a lot to our having a really good holiday and we were lucky enough to meet the owners on our first night.

I just wish we had had the wit to ask for breakfast on the roof as the other reviewer did!

Its probably not a place for small children as there is an unfenced splash pool in the courtyard but that suits couples like us.

Room Tip: We had one of the suites, which was well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear guest,
A very big thank you for your so nice comment about the riad and the team. We were also pleased to make your acquaintance.
You have done well to ask your breakfast on the terrace. We always try to please our guests whenever possible.
We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Best wishes.
Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from 4 nights at the Riad Pachavana with two friends. The Riad is clean and comfortable and it was great to stay in such traditional surroundings. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and a special mention must go to Abdoul for arranging for us to have breakfast on the roof terrace each day.
The Riad is located within the medina with a 15/20 minute walk through the souks to the main square.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The Rubis room was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your nice comment. I'm glad you had a good stay at Riad Pachavana, and that you could enjoy your breakfast on the terrace. Thank you to the weather and Abdou!
Hoping to have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Best wishes.
Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in march and it was excellent. The place itself is beautiful and very well maintained. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and contained a very comfortable bed. The staff are some of the best I have encountered and couldn't have been more helpful. They were more than happy to book guides and excursions for us at short notice and someone was available whenever we needed anything. One of the night porters even lent us his umbrella to go to dinner and then went out in the rain himself without it. We ate here one night and the food was excellent. All in all it made a very pleasant experience and we will definitely be visiting this Riad again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tomuk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you very much on behalf of the entire team and mine for this comment so appreciative. All the staff is happy to give pleasure to our guests and it shows. I am very pleased that you keep a good memory of your stay at Riad Pachavana and would be delighted to welcome you again next time.
Best wishes.
Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#44 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#39 of 502 in Marrakech
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Pachavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Pachavana

Address: 172 Derb Lambsober, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 294 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $74 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Pachavana 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Pachavana is a charming residence, which is also one of the most picturesque and the oldest of the Medina Riad Pachavana is a traditional Moroccan house, combining luxury, calm and voluptuousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Pachavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Pachavana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing