We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“TRIED TO RIP US OFF BE WARY!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Pachavana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Pachavana
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TRIED TO RIP US OFF BE WARY!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Taxi driver was late and grumpy to start with but upon arrival everything was great although the riad appeared to be in the middle of nowhere, Nice warm welcome lovely looking place although when we advised we didn't require meals or a guide we could tell they were put out. Got to the room all looks lovely. Hot water tap didn't work in the room and if you use the shower, toilet or sink you get a putrid smell of sewerage engulfing your room. Upstairs on the terrace once again all looks beautiful but the towels and sunbeds smell of cat urine so it's not all that relaxing plus they have 12 rooms and 6 sunbeds so if it's fully booked you'd have a job to get a bed cat pee or not!

Day two we paid by cash in euros which was on the invoice after adding the tax up 3 times on her phone calculator the lady on the front desk came to the total which we had worked out before we arrived. She checked the money at least 3 times struggling to add it up eventually agreed it was all there printed a receipt and signed it. more than 24 hours later she comes over to say the amount we gave was out by 20 euros and bought over some cash, Now I handed over the money all in 50 euro notes plus 1 x 20 the cash she bought over was a mix of twenties and tens so after pointing out I didn't pay with small notes she went back into the office with what looked like the manager and tried to add up the money they had in the office again she then came out again and said it's actually 30 euros short. Now I am a million percent sure the money we gave was correct and so was she after checking it several times. I have never known anywhere that would come back a day later and say it is short after anyone could of pocketed the cash. For the next few days there was a horrible atmosphere at the Riad which if I'm honest put a dampener on the holiday. There was a large group in the previous night so the mistake could of been made there but as they had checked out it was aimed at us. Now it's not a lot of money but it's not the point.

It's in the middle of nowhere and the alleyways you have to navigate by foot once you get out of the taxi are intimidating when it's dark as they are full of male youths hanging around in big groups.

You don't get a key to get in you have to be let in. We were left waiting outside one night after ringing the bell several times in the dark surrounded by gangs.

It's noisy there is music blasting out until 11-12pm every night which is no good if you have to be up early for a trip.

After being in the pool we put swimming shorts out to dry which doesn't take long in the heat we were told to remove them as it spoils the ambience yet a massive rug being aired out and dangling off the same place all day is not.

Breakfast gets boring after day 3 although it is nice and the lady cooking it is lovely!

No fridges in the room.

Sheets and towels were changed after 8 days...The day before we went home!

Rooms aren't very private.

Not really a place for kids any small sounds just echoes about so it's noisy when kids are there.

Showers aren't very good no pressure water just trickles and to top it off on the last day nobody was about to do breakfast before 8am and we ordered the taxi on the last day via the riad which is 20 euros each way. He didn't bother to turn up which could of meant missing the flight so we walked into the medina with our heavy cases and got one for less than half the price!

The place seems to me to be all fur coat and no knickers. We saw plenty of other Riads and hotels for the same price in better locations and I doubt they try and rip the customers off!!

The riad itself is beautiful and the kitchen staff and cleaners work their backsides off but so much lets it down...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amberbambam1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments that help us improve to satisfy our customers. We would still make a number of explanations for your complaints. First, we regret that the driver was late and bad mood you say, however it is an independent person riad. We never had any admonitions about his services, but we are aware that it does not happen again, and if that were the case, then we will change the shipping company. It is not an ordinary taxi that are at a lower price because the service is not the same. We use professional drivers who transport you in luxury air-conditioned minivans, while the status of taxis can be very random, which explains the price difference.
Our customers are free to dine where they want and choose to use or not to different services or excursions that we offer to compliment your stay, our whish is to do everything to make it as pleasant as possible. We respect everyone's choice and it does not change the attitude that we have with each of our guests.
It is possible that some unpleasant odors back a few times and there is little water pressure, but we are in Morocco, Medina and it happens that you are in a riad or palace without us be held accountable. We are sorry but we can not do anything unfortunately, as it is difficult to keep cats coming on to the terrace. It would have been sufficient for you to tell us that we give you clean towels. Furthermore, the surface of the terrace is important but it does not install Pernet 27 chairs (capacity), and our experience has shown us that never happens that all those present will want to take sun at the same time!
Not being present during your stay, I will not allow me to reply to your second paragraph that I have also not well understand to be honest.
The area where the riad is safe but can be intimidating for those who do not know the Medina. It is best in these cases to choose another area rather than Medina. If we do not question the key to our guests, this is for good reason that there is a guardian 24 /24 and no one has been out all night! We piped music in the riad not very much that we stop as soon as the first guests are in their rooms at night, and you would have reported to us that it was an inconvenience for you, we would have stopped immediatly.
The riad is a space for all our guests, out of respect for all that we ask everyone not to dry her clothes on rails, that all we can to dry out the terrace in a placeholder.
We are regularly praised for the quality of our breakfasts which change daily, as well as for the quality of our bedding is one of the great palaces. I therefore find it difficult to understand your criticism on this subject. We change the sheets you towels regularly, not once a week, as you claim, otherwise we certainly would not be classified sixth on Tripadvisor!
You should know that the riads are not very soundproof whatsoever, but this generally poses no problem because our guests are normally friendly, including those with children.
We hope that your stay in Marrakech has still been nice,
and we are surprised by much criticism because your comment is the opposite of all that we receive. It is useful to the extent that we will strive more than ever to make every effort to satisfy all of our guests.

Nathalie Bonnard
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    67
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
182
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in the Ambre room for 3 nights (a lovely upgrade by Thierry!), and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Riad Pachavana. Mohammed and Adil were also always helpful, and absolute assets to the Riad.

The Riad is a beautiful space, and such a delight to return to after traipsing the streets of Marrakech. Breakfasts were delicious - omelettes on order, fresh breads and sweet doughy delights with various jams and cheeses to accompany them, can't understand what there could be to complain about. We had dinner there one night, which I found a tad salty but I was the only one at the table who thought so. The harira was excellent though.

We asked for a driver to collect us from Casablanca airport - Rashid was great (EUR120). We also asked about a tour guide for a day, which didn't turn out as well. A guide called Mohammed was recommended (apparently he used to be a soccer player for the national team). It cost EUR50 per person, which included the guide, a driver with his van and lunch. The driver was good (actually better than the guide!), and lunch was quite tasty despite being at a super-touristy place. The guide was not particularly informative, and would race miles away from us, so good luck trying to ask questions along the way. Definitely not value for money. We didn't get the chance to feed this back to Thierry, so please consider this review as our feedback.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad itself. The room, Riad, staff, breakfasts and location (not hard to get your bearings) could not be faulted, plus they accept credit cards! I'd be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed for five nights at Riad Pachavana and cannot rate it highly enough. The riad is a real oasis away from the manic streets of Marrakech outside the door. From the sundrenched roof terrace, to the quite and cool coutyard, this place is beautiful. The rooms were excellent, extremely comfortable and very spacious. The cost per night for a twin was very reasonable. There seems to be a few negative comments on TA about the breakfast, but I think there may have been some confusion. The breakfast is huge and very tasty with a variety of omlette, cakes, fruit, breads, jams, tea, coffee etc, however.... if you are leaving early to go on an excursion you may not be offered the hot elements of the breakfast as there simply isnt time before you leave.

My only other comment would be to ask Thierry's advice for excusions, nights out, restaurants, as he really know his stuff. We booked the Three Gorges day trip with a private driver and really got an amazing experience - our driver was knowledgeable, spoke excellent English and was really friendly. You wouldnt get the same attentions on a group bus tour.

Room Tip: We had Onyx on the first floor - a twin on the courtyard, was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren25c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Directeur général at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello,
What a pleausre to read you, and be sure that the staff is happy to know that you'd really enjoyed your stray.
We will continue on this way, trying to make all the stays of our customers unforgettables.
Hope to see you again,
Best regards from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Perhaps firstly and most importantly, definitely make sure you have an airport transfer arranged through them. The driver walked us straight up to the door which otherwise would have been difficult and intimidating to find at first, as the alleyways leading to it seem somewhat dark and confusing. I'd like to stress though that actually we ended up realising this was totally misleading, the area is actually surrounded by a school and rather nice families and little shops. It just looks very different from what we were used to but by the last night we felt perfectly safe and comfortable walking there even at night.

We also arranged to be served a meal in the Riad on arrival which turned out very nicely. The food was homely and traditional and very tasty, not a gastronomical explosion but that's not really the idea. It was also a pleasant surprise that there was actually a very good value drinks menu available with Morrocan wine and various spirits/mixers etc.

As for the place itself, I think we were both immediately impressed and very pleased by the look of the place, really does feel like a very comfortable haven in the middle of what is quite an intense city. The courtyard is lovely with a very nice (but too cold to be useable in March) plunge pool with seating around it and a few nooks and crannies with sofas and comfy chairs. Then the rooftop terrace is a marvelous spot and somewhere I don't think we will forget in a hurry. You can see the snow covered Atlas mountains in the distance, the beautiful Koutoubia mosque silhouetted in front of them. The weather was great while we were there and it made a great relaxing and private place to soak up the sun.

I feel a little harsh only marking the service as 'average' because on the whole it was very attentive and breakfast/drinks/meals etc were done just in the way we would have hoped. However on a couple of occasions we asked for help organising meals out in restaurants that we had specifically chosen and this wasn't as easy as it feels like it should have been. They didn't seem overly keen to even call in the first place and also seemed to want to persuade us to go elsewhere which made it a little awkward needing to be 'firm' and stick to our original plan as we knew exactly what we wanted to do.

Room was lovely, nice courtyard, nice staff, great terrace, nice location, all in all a great trip and will very happily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Directeur général at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guy,
Many thank's to take time to write reviews about your stay in our Riad. Be sure that all your remarqs will boost us to make guests stay more confortable. We always try to make our best to give some good advices, but as we are not a travel or guid agency, we only give tips about places we use to go; Of course, each guest have his own budget and idea about what he would like to find, and it's not easy for us to adapt our tips, specially because guid books are not "on time" always!
Anyway, we are happy to read your good reviews about the gastronomic restaurants you'd tried.
Hope to meet you again, and hope the best for you.
Regards, The Pachavana team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We would highly recommend this Riad and after a day in the hustle and bustle of the streets of Marrakech it is the perfect Oasis of comfort. The whole Riad is beautifully decorated in a traditional style. There is a small plunge pool with a tranquil courtyard set around it that made an ideal place to drink, read and unwind. There was also a rooftop terrace with sun loungers and views across the rooftops of the city, stretching far into the desert and Atlas Mountains. Breakfast was plentiful for our needs. I would not hesitate to recommend this place.
Our one piece of advice would be to book a taxi from the airport through the Riad. It is located down one small alleyway, in a labyrinth of unsigned alleyways that is the Medina. The taxi will not be able to get further than the 'main road' leaving you to walk the final stage. Other guests said their taxi drivers didn't even know where the Riad was but because our taxi driver was booked through the Riad he was able to walk us through the alleyways right to the front door. As we arrived after dark I think I would have been quite apprehensive finding our way around on our own initially. It soon became familiar though and by the next night we were confident finding our way home. If you are put off by the thought of navigating dimly lit alleyways then you are better off in one of the big hotels, but if you want to experience true Marrakech at its best then this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room on the upper level as I imagine they are the most peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Directeur général at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hy, many thank's for giving us some good news about your stay in our guest house. I agree that Marrakech is a busy town and of course, it's better to ask us what's the most practical to join us.Beleive that all the guest comments will help our futur guests.
Best wishes, team of riad Pachavana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from four days in Marrakech. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the riad. Thierry was very friendly and efficient and made us feel extremely welcome. The riad is about a 10/15 minute from the main square and less from the entrance to the souk. It really is an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It has been lovingly restored and our room was beautiful. We had dinner here one evening which was delicious. The roof top terrace boasts views of the mountains and the courtyard, and with its comfy sofas, is perfect to drink mint tea (or wine) and rest your feet after hours of walking around the city. The young man who served us our tasty breakfast was also excellent, although unfortunately, I can't remember his name but he too is an asset to the riad. We would certainly recommend the riad to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moggo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My friend and I had a short break in Marrakech in January and stayed at the Riad Pachavana. We had a super time and really enjoyed the riad. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was tasty and totally adequate and the dinner we had on one night was the best food we had in Marrakech. Before going I read a review that complained about there not being enough hot water but with two people in the room there was plenty. The riad was really well located, within walking distance of the markets and the main square and also for getting a taxi to the museums and palaces when we got tired of walking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letitshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#35 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#27 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Pachavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Pachavana

Property: Riad Pachavana
Address: 172 Derb Lambsober, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Pachavana 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Pachavana is a charming residence, which is also one of the most picturesque and the oldest of the Medina Riad Pachavana is a traditional Moroccan house, combining luxury, calm and voluptuousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Pachavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Pachavana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing