We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Most atmospheric restaurant we have been to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Fenn Cocktail Bar & Restaurant

El Fenn Cocktail Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #168 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Most atmospheric restaurant we have been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although I wouldn't recommend this restaurant during the day because of lack of natural light, the restaurant at night turns into the most charming and atmospheric place ever.
The walls are covered with a large array of art pieces, which I could not stop taking pictures of. The art deco furniture matches wonderfully the moorish details and the dim lights and candles give the place a very magic feeling.
Service is fast and attentive and English is understood well. The food is above average and definitely the best we had in Marrakech. The chef made our children whatever they asked for.
There are very cosy sofas by the fireplace where you can enjoy a glass of wine. More sofas are near the bar. Although the restaurant is, overall, quite chic, we felt perfectly at ease with our three (at times boisterous) children.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nicest chef ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate for 2 nights in the El Fenn, one night on the roof terrasse, one night in the downstairs restaurant. Both are very nice, but the roof top atmosphere is very special, with gorgeous lightening, view over the medina and a breeze of fresh air.
The food on both occasions was very good. We celebrated a birthday, and had ordered a birthday cake. That was delicious and the the staff made that event very special.

We had a chance to talk to the chef. He is a very friendly, dedicated and knowledgable man. He cooks with fresh ingredients and has a special finesse to flavour food. He does magic in his small kitchen. Thank you!

Waiting times for the food can be longer than normal, due to the large number of settings in the restaurants in relation to the kitchen size.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steph2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at the Riad El Fenn and one of the things I loved the most was the food and the general atmosphere of the restaurant. We did try to eat out a couple of times in different places, but at the end of the day, nothing beat this place and so we vowed not to bother trying anywhere else after that!

Take a drink at the bar or on a seat by the candle lit pool before indulging in the most incredible food and beautiful wine. It's not often that I eat three courses but here I did almost every night and am now paying for it in the gym. I highly recommend the chicken kiev (strange as it sounds to put this on the top of the list in a Moroccan restaurant) and you must try every desert.

The evening was never quite complete without that final glass of wine, cosied up by the fire with friends on huge sofas.

I will be heading back for another round of indulgence in the spring.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerpNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
348 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had our best meal in Marrakech at Riad El Fenn. The service was nice, but not much English was spoken here, mostly French. I had the el fenn burger (beef plus lamb) and it was the best burger I ever had (of all the places in the world). The chicken salad, sea bass and salmon ordered by the rest of the family were very good as well. The prices were slightly high for Marrakech, but not all that bad for the quality of the food. A nice break from the Moroccan food that we had for 3 straight days. Highly recommended, but the place is small so you should get a reservation if you know when you will be eating there. It was not very noticeable from the street (a very small sign), but it was very close to our riad and right next to our place for our daily coffee, so we had no problem finding the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigFishDiveClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

A really stunning setting.
Food was very good and very good service.

This was little raid with a big personality!!!

Beautiful garden with a small pool.
Watch yourself as I fell down a small hole!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikedelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fenn Cocktail Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to El Fenn Cocktail Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing