We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A quiet corner in bustling Marrakech” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Suites Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Ranked #255 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet corner in bustling Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you want a very pleasant and spacious room in a quiet section of the city, this is the hotel for you. It is located across the street from the elegant Sofitel (also an Accor hotel, go in and visit the pool and gardens) and just down the street from the casino. The suite slept four of us in comfort. The hotel's pool area is also quite nice, though there are not enough lounge chairs (as is so often the case). There is a good breakfast but the staff gets overwhelmed and the food gets thin by 9 AM, try to eat early.

We were able to sleep with the windows open and the only noise that greeted us in the morning were the birds - remarkable!

It is a ten minute walk to the craziness of the souk, you would never imagine that you are about one kilometre away from all that activity. There are also some decent restaurants in the area along with a club or two, if you are looking for a quieter or more elegant evening away from the frenetic pace of the old city.

What I like about the Novotel chain in general is that the hotels are clean, modern, and offer the best mix of value and service in the Accor chain. Their new line of suite hotels continues that offering and I will look for the other suite hotels in the future if we travel as a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RPresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    424
    274
    129
    77
See reviews for
394
355
92
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very Basic hotel. I almost have to bring my own breakfast with me.
pool is cold.
location is good near everthing. Good thing is they have free wifi ( i used the hotel next door).
They have free movies on Tv

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ash200589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world wide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent 4 nights here.
The rate was good and the location excellent.
The room is a good size and the bed is comfortable.

However, the following aspects are worth considering if you plan to stay here:
1. Carpets in the room look and smell dirty. In general, the hotel does not "feel" clean.
2. The drains in my room stank, despite requesting housekeeping to address the problem.
3. The knob in the bath to switch from spout to shower house fell off in my hand and the bath plug would not release when operating the plug selection.

The staff try their best but the reception was badly under staffed in my opinion-the same people (max 2-mostly one) trying to check guests in, sell drinks from the fridge, like water and also take phone calls.
The breakfast was the same with one poor guy trying to replenish cutlery and crockery and the food. The breakfast is very average continental.

There is no restaurant to speak of -its just a lobby area with a rip off bar!!

Not sure if I would return here-rather pay a few more dollars and enjoy myself more.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 37irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I would agree that some of the reviewers are being quite harsh about this hotel. The hotel, location well place right next door to the rather fabulous-looking Sofitel, is actually rather good for the price we paid after booking through expedia.
Positive points:
- generally friendly, yet discreet staff (borrowed glasses, ice cubes and bottle opener from the bar)
- good location
- has a gym
- spacious bedrooms with fridge, kettle and microwave
- good consistent breakfast (croissants, pain au chocolat, eggs, dates, etc..)

Negative:
- The key card demagnetised almost every time we went back to the room
- The pool is cold, but I bet in the high summer this is probably a good thing
- Some days the staff didnt set out all the sun-bed pillows so you had to ask for one
- Room service food is just an enormous fridge with frozen ready-meals. Drinks are also rather expensive - there is a carrefour 5 minutes down the road.

One trip advice for Marrakech - don't pay over the odds for a guide in the souks - we weren't hassled at all and managed to find our own way.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms overlooking the pool. One which gets some sun on the balcony, others wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I do not understand what the previous reviewers are cribbing about and what are they expecting when they only have to she'll out about 100 USD per night to stay in a four star hotel. To begin with the best part of the hotel is its location, located very close to all the main attractions in Marrakech. The main square is about ten minutes from the hotel and it is also close to a very good Cafe (Cafe Extrablatt) right at its backside. Talking about the room fairly decent with a small but comfortable bed, it has a microwave as well as a tea coffee maker, the shower area is small but manageable but the best part of the room is its interactive television - this would be the best interactive television I have seen even if I compare with various five star hotels. Talking about the services the breakfast spread was small but edible. One of their employees who stood out was Youness at the reception - he checked us into the hotel and was extremely polite and professional during our entire course of trip. Would highly recommend this hotel to people who are looking at a mid budget range (100 to 120 USD) as I consider this as an extremely safe option than a Riad.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the Sofitel it's gives you a good view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yog_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I agree with the 2 previous reviews. I shared the same experiences, but here are my additions;

Negatives;
- told on arrival we demand to pay 99 dirhams tax, there was no mention of this when booking (if so, probably in super-small/invisible print)
- The soft drinks/snacks located in lobby were extortionate, at least £2 per can - better off walking to the small Carrefour supermarket round the corner (5-10mins walk from hotel)
- It says 24/7 room service. The food is frozen, microwaveable dinners, which again are located in a fridge in the lobby
- We wanted proper drinking glasses (not the small disposable cups in the room) which we requested from the bar, only to be told no - they are for the bar only
- To Iron clothes, you need to go to the 4th floor, where there is a room with only 1 ironing board in there
- The receptionist (mainly the women) are moody, not willing to assist
- We went to the bar to get some coffee, only to be told that their coffee machine was not working, so we ended up with a coffee, mixed with chocolate/milky froth (NOT EVEN REAL COFFEE)
- Hotel had no Dirhams to exchange for us
- Air conditioning did not work, just a really loud and annoying
- Balcony was just a small landing outside, where 2 people can barely squeeze through

On the positives;
- Brilliant location, all the amazing bars/clubs/restaurants are no more the 3-5min walk
- Good size pool
- The concierge staff (mainly men) were very very helpful, brilliant service
- Room was clean/spacious, but not immaculate
- Free wi-fi, although slow
- We had an interconnecting room, handy for a group staying together

If you are going for a short weekend, and no frills - then i would recommend, otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_sahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

LONDON
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms - are good for two people and not big enough for a family of 4. There is a tv but no English speaking channels apart from bbc news. There is a fridge and a microwave. Also a couch which turns into a bed and bed that pulls out from under the bed. The balcony if you can even call it that is poor.
The bathroom has a bath, shower cubicle and a sink. There are no glasses in the room only paper cups to make tra for one not even two. There is a separate toilet with is handy actually.
The floor in our room had a rubber mat and our friends had carpet.

Reception staff were unfriendly and in my opinion rude. They had no money for us to change up at any time and so we had to go to the Sofitel hotel next door.
The room one day wasn't cleaned and when I complained the cleaner turned up and didn't clean the bathroom properly.
The breakfast area is poor and the bar is poor in terms of tea and coffees.

The location is great near all the excellent hotels, resturants, bars and clubs. For a no frills hotel book it if you want service at least then book into another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STRADBROKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#225 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#169 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#123 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#152 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#98 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Marrakech

Property: Novotel Suites Marrakech
Address: Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Suites Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing