We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you can stand traffic noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Ranked #428 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The location is not in the center but fun walking there. In summer the pool must be nice only you can look into it from the street side. Don't know if you want that since a lot of woman are dressed with veils.

BIG MINUS:
Noise is hell! When I asked for another room they gave me one on the same side and I ended up in a discussion that I had issues with the noise and they told me there was no noise. I gave up but will never return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IngetH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed for 8 nights. Sometimes the reception staff were friendly and helpful but more often they were disinterested. They did not seem to have an efficient admin system. My bill was paid in advance from the Uk but they had no record of this and they became uncomfortably confrontational and accusing. When a phone call clarified the misunderstanding, no apology was given to me.
I had one room at the front which was reasonably spacious with a balcony. Then I was given another room at the back which was small, no balcony and poorly furnished.The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.
The breakfast was very basic and not good value at the price although the staff in the dining room were courteous and seemed to enjoy their work.
Overall its asset is its location and then its pot luck what you get .

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maltonian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a holiday with a walking company. The hotel was roomy, plumbing in bedroom poor dripping taps no plugs., Water however was hot and plentiful. Bed very very hard. Breakfast hard roll and danish pastry, took 3 days to get bread. No choice of jam during stay. Coffee luke warm. Service dreadful, it was quicker to get your own breakvfast. No plates used only very thin paper serviette to place on table or your lap. Dinner boring same soup served each evening until request for atlernative made. Likewise no choice other than tagine. Pudding either fruit or yoghurt.. On one night we had creme caramel I asked for fruit told no fruit available. Difficult to eat food around the low round table of 7 people. Most people ate their food on their knee. Collapsable chairs were litarally that,when I pushed my chair back it folded and I fell flat on my back the waiter was amused and did not take my complaint seriously. Chairs still reappeared at other times despite their unsafe condition. The worst hotel for service and food variety I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bahrainhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

For: Reasonable sized rooms, very clean, new aircon, room-width french windows onto balconies, 15-minute walk to the Medina, quick drive to airport. Breakfast until 10 and checkout until 12.
Against: General dilapidation. Plumbing in need of attention (leaks, drips, loose taps etc.), french windows ill-fitting, resulting in a lot of noise from busy road outside. Staff fairly witless, especially at breakfast.
To sum up: Ok for a night but not an extended stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Woohouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The concierge was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast food was good. Pool was refreshing. Would consider staying here again--good value for money.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank RogerL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

rooms are ok: enough big, average cleannes. it's not too close from the street, so you'll hear some noise but not too much. average service too. the swimming pool is clean. 490 dh a double room + 45 dh for breakfast in 10/2009

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guduains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The Imilchil has been a regular choice for our last night in Marrakech when we travel to southern Morocco. It's a good size and if you have one of the newly decorated bedrooms high up, you can have a panoramic view with some amazing skyscapes. I usually only have a room here and have meals either near the centre or in Guéliz. If you arrive in the wamer months, it has a nice little pool. Just a gentle warning - if you like soft beds, you need to go elsewhere. The mattresses are rather firm (which I like)! If you're looking for a good standard 3 star at a good arm's length from the madness of the centre, you might find this will suit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#458 of 502 in Marrakech
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 502 in Marrakech
1,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#34 of 502 in Marrakech
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#340 of 502 in Marrakech
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#144 of 502 in Marrakech
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $37 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Imilchil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing