We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. Seriously just dont bother.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Save
You added Hotel Le Grand Imilchil to your Saves list
Ranked #474 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible. Seriously just dont bother.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This sad hotel was old and the staff were rude and unhelpful. It was just terrible. Don't do it. Nothing nice to say about this place. I stayed here as the start of a tour, I don even know how they stay in business.

Helpful?
Thank curioster
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    34
    21
    10
See reviews for
7
12
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the hotel at the start and at the end of a tour we had in Morocco. This hotel is located in the westernised part of Marrakech and isn't particularly great if you want to throw yourself into the culture. For some of our trip we stayed in a riad in the old medina which wasn't part if the tour and was much more exciting.
But back to the hotel, it's clean enough but the rooms are basic. It has everything you need though: tv, clean bathrooms, comfy beds. If you're looking for somewhere to crash and eat breakfast then this is perfect, if you're looking for something a bit more fancy, I'd suggested booking somewhere else. Luckily we were not, so it was fine. I can't comment on the price unfortunately, as our stay was paid as a part of a the tour. Our first room had a balcony which was great, but when we returned, our view wasn't particularly brilliant and we had had no balcony.
The only complaint I really had was breakfast; it took a while to come as you have to sit down and wait to be served, so just leave plenty of time for breakfast if you need to get off somewhere. Breakfast was good though, typically Moroccan!
The walk from the hotel to the old Medina and Jemma Fna Square is simple, easy and only takes about 10 mins. The supermarket is about 2 mins away and sells everything.
The hotel also has a pool which was clean, although always seemed a little quiet. Staff were friendly and always willing to help.
I gave an average rating due to the breakfast, location and lack of a real Marrakech experience - but all depends on what you want!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel should only be considered for a one or two-night stay before trekking the Atlas Mountains. It has a great location, you can walk almost everywhere including Jemaa el-Fna, but the rooms aren't that great and the real problem is the staff, unfortunately. The rooms are cleaned in numerous steps (first they clean, then they leave, then they go get one towel, they leave again, in a total of five times where your room is sometimes open and unnatended). Our breakfast was OK but, yeah, no second OJ...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pat-bsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place would only be given 3*s if it was reviewed by Stevie Wonder. I was part of an organised trek across Morocco with this hotel being the Marrakesh base. First impressions were that of a rather basic, badly decorated lobby with a bored looking front of house chap sat behind the desk. We were given the keys to a first floor twin room which can best be described as an unfortunate mixture of my grandmother's house and Del Boy Trotter's flat. The room smelly of damp and horse piss, and the beds had itchy mismatched flowery blankets on them, ideal for the 53 degree climate. I was delighted to spot a 1970's phone, however to my dismay this functioned purely as a toy and not as a phone. It was obviously considered an authentic ornament to brighten up the room. We were amused to see that in the corridor there was a glass cabinet marked “Fire extinguisher”, however this contained bottles of dirty water and no extinguisher! Nice one Health and Safety.
The bathroom was appalling. We had to ask for towels, loo roll and soap. All of which caused the grumpy reception man to act as though we had asked for truffles or diamonds. My other complaint was that of the flickering strip light above the mirror. I reported it to two different members of staff, explaining that whilst the disco shower was fun to start with, I was mildly concerned about becoming epileptic. They told me that “no-one is here to fix it”. It materialised that despite there being 4 male staff members standing around admiring the ceiling, none of them were capable of changing a strip light. I offered to change it myself, but they refused.
Having stomped back upstairs to my disco for one, I discovered a cockroach scuttling across the dressing table! I soon realised that the men downstairs were for decorative purposes only and would not be of much help, although one was comically dressed as an army sergeant, which cheered me up momentarily.
Breakfast was by all accounts ridiculously rationed and dull. One extremely over-cooked hard-boiled egg, one cheese triangle and a bread roll. Due to being yeast intolerant I asked if I could have another glass of orange juice, considering that I couldn’t eat the bread, and the surly waiter looked as if I had requested a BBQ’d kitten and told me that I would have to pay 20 dirhams for the OJ. I fed my egg and cheese triangle to the rather lovely cat family that were playing in the trees outside (the only positive element to this hotel), all the time being watched by the breakfast police.
The pool is great if you do not value the 7 layers of skin you were born with and quite fancy a free chemical peel. At this point I could not wait to start the trek and escape, but later found out that we would stay a total of 5 nights here throughout the journey. Splendid.
I would only recommend this hotel to people that I really do not like. There are plenty more hotels around this area, I suggest you try those instead.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzi_Newman1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here pie and post your, as others.....first night was not good, given a room with no view and a mouldy bathroom ceiling.
Breakfast next morning was served by grumpy guy who want keen on offering second chip of coffee.
On return trip, was given a much nicer room, both a bath and shower included, shower was hot and powerful.
Nice view over pool, WiFi extended up to room on first floor, so that was a bonus.
The pool was nice, warm even at 6.45 in the morning.
Breakfast was a while different affair too...helpful smiley service.
There may be complaints about it being quite basic, but it's more than I would help myself to at a buffet.

Second impressions worth it this time.

Quick walk to medina too and supermarket round the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loup65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here last week on 2 occasions, with my 2 children, at the beginning and end of a trekking holiday. I don’t know the room rate because we were booked as part of our trip, so can’t comment on it from a value for money point of view -but suspect if I was able to, value for money would not rate highly. But beds and a pool, after the mountains, were welcome.

It is very close to a real supermarket -yay! –a Carrefour –open good hours so cheap water, snacks, toiletries etc for holiday makers are easily available. Also two banks, with ATMs, are close by.

It's about 20 minutes walk from the medina.

Both rooms were a bit scruffy. When the hot taps were turned on (shower/bath, basin, bidet) the water ran orange for a short time -scary. The aircon struggled. The hot water failed completely in the late afternoon, presumably when everyone wanted a shower (although occupancy was low).

The public spaces –corridors, reception, dining etc were fine, although the overall impression is of tiredness.

The outside space is good, and the pools very good although heavily chlorinated.

The breakfasts were simple but OK. We ate lunch there once, and the quality and cost were fine. Friendly staff although breakfast service was not up to much! Front desk service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catzzndogzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 separate times over the course of our Morocco holiday. Every time there was something wrong. Firstly, people being sent to rooms that were still dirty and not made up. Second visit there was no hot water. Final visit the cleaners stripped the beds and cleaned the room before I was even checked out, feeling like I was rushed out the door. On all visits, the maids would come knocking on everybody's doors between 8.30-9am to see if they could clean the room, one cleaner even walked in on someone while they were still in bed. I find this unacceptable

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 85Laur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#397 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#160 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#228 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#179 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#162 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Property: Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 96

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing