We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“mediocre at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Save
You added Hotel Le Grand Imilchil to your Saves list
Ranked #472 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mediocre at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The good: location is within walking distance to the new city and the area is relatively safe.
The bad: lackluster service at breakfast (orange juice, coffee and a croissant), poor plumbing in bathrooms where everything gets wet. Internet did not work most of the time.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirish18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    34
    21
    10
See reviews for
7
12
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset/Dorset border, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I was a little under-whelmed with this hotel; it was rather characterless and very noisy at night with dogs barking and loud traffic. Like most hotels, the public areas were better with some lovely seating areas, the rooms were just OK - a little tired.

Breakfast was fine; I didn’t use the pool but it would be very welcome in the summer, albeit noisy as on the main road.

It did feel safe at night, with a ten minute walk to the medina on a main, lit road with a large Carrefour supermarket situated just two mins walk away.

Staff were OK, not wonderful and not awful, but acceptable,

If visiting Marrakech again though, I’d stay elsewhere for a decent night’s sleep and better ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank English-Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
247 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

stayed here for two nights. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic, but very clean. I stayed in two different twin rooms over the two nights, one of them had a dodgy shower (lukewarm water and shower jet not working properly), while the other had perfect shower pressure and temperature. Rooms have reverse cycle units, small tv, balcony, safe in the cupboard, plus extra pillows and blankets. No hairdryer though. I thought the rooms were well insulated from noise, my rooms were off the main street and i heard very little noise from the street or neighbours.
Breakfast was a bread roll, crossiant, tea/coffee and fresh orange juice which was quite adequate. Would have been nie if the crossiant and bread were warm, but it was ok.
Wifi in the lobby area was good.
We also had dinner there, soups, chicken tagine and yogurt for dessert. Not reccomended - while edible, it was not great and i'd suggest going elsewhere for a meal.
We als exchanged money at the hotel as it was a sunday and banks were closed. They charged 50mad commission.
One really bad thing about this hotel was that all the public areas, such as hallways and lobby smelled strongly of diesel. Not sure why and if that is the norm.
In terms of location, only 10 minutes walk to the main square, and in a very safe and clean area.
If you are deciding whether or not to stay here, i would suggest no. Try staying in a riad instead, where it is more homely and authentic.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were promised a family room. However, when we arrived at the hotel, we got two double bedrooms on different floors, which is not very convenient when travelling with children. One of the rooms had a door that was very difficult to lock. On our day of departure we had to leave early, but the staff could not even offer us a cup of coffee or tea. We did not feel welcome at all at this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

The location is not in the center but fun walking there. In summer the pool must be nice only you can look into it from the street side. Don't know if you want that since a lot of woman are dressed with veils.

BIG MINUS:
Noise is hell! When I asked for another room they gave me one on the same side and I ended up in a discussion that I had issues with the noise and they told me there was no noise. I gave up but will never return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IngetH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed for 8 nights. Sometimes the reception staff were friendly and helpful but more often they were disinterested. They did not seem to have an efficient admin system. My bill was paid in advance from the Uk but they had no record of this and they became uncomfortably confrontational and accusing. When a phone call clarified the misunderstanding, no apology was given to me.
I had one room at the front which was reasonably spacious with a balcony. Then I was given another room at the back which was small, no balcony and poorly furnished.The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.
The breakfast was very basic and not good value at the price although the staff in the dining room were courteous and seemed to enjoy their work.
Overall its asset is its location and then its pot luck what you get .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maltonian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a holiday with a walking company. The hotel was roomy, plumbing in bedroom poor dripping taps no plugs., Water however was hot and plentiful. Bed very very hard. Breakfast hard roll and danish pastry, took 3 days to get bread. No choice of jam during stay. Coffee luke warm. Service dreadful, it was quicker to get your own breakvfast. No plates used only very thin paper serviette to place on table or your lap. Dinner boring same soup served each evening until request for atlernative made. Likewise no choice other than tagine. Pudding either fruit or yoghurt.. On one night we had creme caramel I asked for fruit told no fruit available. Difficult to eat food around the low round table of 7 people. Most people ate their food on their knee. Collapsable chairs were litarally that,when I pushed my chair back it folded and I fell flat on my back the waiter was amused and did not take my complaint seriously. Chairs still reappeared at other times despite their unsafe condition. The worst hotel for service and food variety I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bahrainhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#399 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#196 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#91 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#163 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#249 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Property: Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #472 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 96

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing