We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean budget rooms, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Ranked #463 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
258 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“clean budget rooms, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

stayed here for two nights. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic, but very clean. I stayed in two different twin rooms over the two nights, one of them had a dodgy shower (lukewarm water and shower jet not working properly), while the other had perfect shower pressure and temperature. Rooms have reverse cycle units, small tv, balcony, safe in the cupboard, plus extra pillows and blankets. No hairdryer though. I thought the rooms were well insulated from noise, my rooms were off the main street and i heard very little noise from the street or neighbours.
Breakfast was a bread roll, crossiant, tea/coffee and fresh orange juice which was quite adequate. Would have been nie if the crossiant and bread were warm, but it was ok.
Wifi in the lobby area was good.
We also had dinner there, soups, chicken tagine and yogurt for dessert. Not reccomended - while edible, it was not great and i'd suggest going elsewhere for a meal.
We als exchanged money at the hotel as it was a sunday and banks were closed. They charged 50mad commission.
One really bad thing about this hotel was that all the public areas, such as hallways and lobby smelled strongly of diesel. Not sure why and if that is the norm.
In terms of location, only 10 minutes walk to the main square, and in a very safe and clean area.
If you are deciding whether or not to stay here, i would suggest no. Try staying in a riad instead, where it is more homely and authentic.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    34
    22
    13
See reviews for
8
16
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were promised a family room. However, when we arrived at the hotel, we got two double bedrooms on different floors, which is not very convenient when travelling with children. One of the rooms had a door that was very difficult to lock. On our day of departure we had to leave early, but the staff could not even offer us a cup of coffee or tea. We did not feel welcome at all at this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

The location is not in the center but fun walking there. In summer the pool must be nice only you can look into it from the street side. Don't know if you want that since a lot of woman are dressed with veils.

BIG MINUS:
Noise is hell! When I asked for another room they gave me one on the same side and I ended up in a discussion that I had issues with the noise and they told me there was no noise. I gave up but will never return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IngetH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed for 8 nights. Sometimes the reception staff were friendly and helpful but more often they were disinterested. They did not seem to have an efficient admin system. My bill was paid in advance from the Uk but they had no record of this and they became uncomfortably confrontational and accusing. When a phone call clarified the misunderstanding, no apology was given to me.
I had one room at the front which was reasonably spacious with a balcony. Then I was given another room at the back which was small, no balcony and poorly furnished.The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.
The breakfast was very basic and not good value at the price although the staff in the dining room were courteous and seemed to enjoy their work.
Overall its asset is its location and then its pot luck what you get .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maltonian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a holiday with a walking company. The hotel was roomy, plumbing in bedroom poor dripping taps no plugs., Water however was hot and plentiful. Bed very very hard. Breakfast hard roll and danish pastry, took 3 days to get bread. No choice of jam during stay. Coffee luke warm. Service dreadful, it was quicker to get your own breakvfast. No plates used only very thin paper serviette to place on table or your lap. Dinner boring same soup served each evening until request for atlernative made. Likewise no choice other than tagine. Pudding either fruit or yoghurt.. On one night we had creme caramel I asked for fruit told no fruit available. Difficult to eat food around the low round table of 7 people. Most people ate their food on their knee. Collapsable chairs were litarally that,when I pushed my chair back it folded and I fell flat on my back the waiter was amused and did not take my complaint seriously. Chairs still reappeared at other times despite their unsafe condition. The worst hotel for service and food variety I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bahrainhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

For: Reasonable sized rooms, very clean, new aircon, room-width french windows onto balconies, 15-minute walk to the Medina, quick drive to airport. Breakfast until 10 and checkout until 12.
Against: General dilapidation. Plumbing in need of attention (leaks, drips, loose taps etc.), french windows ill-fitting, resulting in a lot of noise from busy road outside. Staff fairly witless, especially at breakfast.
To sum up: Ok for a night but not an extended stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woohouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

The concierge was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast food was good. Pool was refreshing. Would consider staying here again--good value for money.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#422 of 495 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palais Al Bahja
Hotel Palais Al Bahja
#310 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Racine
Hotel Racine
#273 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Relax Marrakech
Hotel Relax Marrakech
#316 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#164 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#398 of 495 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Property: Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Imilchil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing