We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Tranquil Oasis in the Heart of Crazy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Sekkat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Sekkat
Ranked #18 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Tranquil Oasis in the Heart of Crazy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The most at home I have yet felt traveling in my entire life was at Riad Sekkat. The staff are the most welcoming and gracious people. Upon our late night arrival we had missed breakfast and lunch due to an exasperating series of plain rides. It was Thanksgiving, but we weren't expecting anyone in Morocco to know that. However, to our delight and surprise, the riad manager, Siham, and the talented cook, Raja, had researched and spent all day preparing a traditional thanksgiving dinner with a Moroccan twist! It was beyond awesome!

Our stay was the best! Every day I looked forward to waking up and just hanging out in the riad. Whenever we got overwhelmed by the persistent merchants in the Souks we could retreat back to our tranquil oasis and unwind.

I highly recommend Riad Sekkat for anyone who is looking to have a stay in Morocco that they will remember for the rest of their lives!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shemscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vavvoil, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It seems evident for a Guest House to take care of our guests and Tanksgiving dinner was the way to welcome you
You are right a quiet and peaceful riad is necessary the Marrakech médina center effervescence. To seeing you, Valérie, Siham, Raja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The staff in Riad Sekkat was amazing. Siham, the riad manager, would happlilly take us out and show us the ropes of Marrakech and help us plan activities. Raja, the riad cook, took us out on a tour of the market and even bought us baby chicks.

There is plenty of room to rome around in the riad, so you don't feel the need to get fresh air. the bedrooms are cozy, and the living area is awesome. I would highly recommend Riad Sekkat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vavvoil, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We are very happy about your satisfaction in Riad Sekkat. It has been a pleasure to Siham & Raja to introduce you to the real Marrakech way of life
See you later .... Inch Allah ;-)
Riad Sekkat team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1,205 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed in Riad Sekkat for 3 weeks with my husband, 5 kids and parents on holiday. It was the perfect oasis within Marrakech and we enjoyed everything about the property. The roof deck is wonderful, the bedrooms are all very cozy and the living areas are perfect in both warm and cool weather. The staff is excellent and we ended up eating almost 1/2 our dinners in the Riad because the chef was excellent. The location is convenient to all the sites within the medina so we only needed to use a taxi once. The staff also helped us book a few excursions to the sahara and the coast. I would recommend Riad Sekkat to anyone traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vavvoil, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I apologise to answer so late, but very I was busy
Thank you for this gentle comment, the Riad Sekkat staff has really enjoy your time in Marrakech,
You are a wonderfull family ! Hope to see you again
Best regards ; Valérie, Siham, Raja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

In march this year I stayed six days at Riad Sekkat, with my girlfriend. Last year I was there a few days by myself, and I find the place as nice and welcoming as I found it last year. I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pontus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stumbled across this Riad on Tripadvisor. There are 4 rooms. It has a great location if you want to be in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech. The rooms were quiet, and the heater worked well. The hot water worked without an issue. The terrace on the roof is a nice spot on a sunny day. We didn't use the plunge pool as it was too cold during our stay. The caretaker doesn't speak English, but my French was good enough to get by, and he was very helpful. Although it's a small location, it's a great location for kids since they have rooms with two double beds, and it's small enough that you would feel comfortable with your kids in another room. Our kids felt very welcome.

This riad is difficult to find and not accessible easily by car. Generally, a taxi will park a 5 minute walk away, and a porter will take your bags to the riad in a cart.

A few notes for the frugal:
You can expect to have extra fees here for bottled water, the porter from your taxi to the riad.
The riad wants to be paid cash, which was a huge issue for us as the ATM will block the daily amount that you can withdraw, and we had 3 rooms for 4 nights (which adds up). We had to take multiple walks to the ATM to get enough dirhams for payment since our USD were not welcome.
Dinner/lunch at the Riad is a great value and high quality, but must be requested at breakfast time so they can prepare. The restaurants in Marrakech seem to be very expensive, and average quality. We found Khalid's cooking to be higher quality and less expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBS0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this riad for one night following a mix up with my original accommodation bookings and on the advice of some friends who had previously stayed a couple of nights before me. Jeff and Valerie are wonderful hosts and made me feel very welcomed and they went out of their way to ensure that my stay in Marrakech was trouble free. The riad is a lovely little oasis right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech Medina and in the mornings you can even wake up to the sounds of birds. I would definitely recommend eating a delicious homemade Moroccan meal which is offered for a very good price. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable and the whole riad feels like a private little refuge from the energetic city outside. I would have loved to have stayed longer and will definitely be recommending this riad to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I travelled to Morocco this summer and stayed in Marrakech for the last 2 days of my holiday. I feel extremely fortunate to have spent the last night of my trip in Riad Sekkat as the location is fantastic: very central (5 minutes from the main square) however the riad was beautiful and it felt like and escape from the hussel and bussel of marrakech into a picturesque, peaceful paradise. My partner and I opted to eat dinner on the terrace which is covered in pretty flowers (and also provides a good private area where you can sunbathe and relax). The food was fantastic- although I had stayed in a very expensive 5 star hotel before staying at Riad Sekkat the meal eaten on the terrace was the most delicious meal I had eaten throughout my stay in Morrocco and was also very reasonable. If you drink alcohol (as I do) this is also offered at an additional cost and is very good quality.
The owners of the Riad are absolutely fabulous: not only extremely informative about options about what to do and where to go but also made us feel very comfortable and provided lovely accommodation where we could feel secure and "at home". Everything is kept nice and clean and the beds are very comfy.
I will definately be returning and would highly recommend to anyone travelling in Marrackech.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valvoil, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much Lizzie for this very beautiful comment. In when your next session of massage? :-) Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#153 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Souad
Riad Souad
#17 of 266 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sekkat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sekkat

Property: Riad Sekkat
Address: 40 derb el Farnatchi | Rue Ahl Fes, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Riad comfort and tradition 5 minutes walk from the souks. Our steward on site throughout the year will be happy to assist you with any questions. Tranquility, calm space ... you are at home at Riad Sekkat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Sekkat Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing