We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second stay at Riad Sekkat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Sekkat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Sekkat
Ranked #18 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“My second stay at Riad Sekkat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

In march this year I stayed six days at Riad Sekkat, with my girlfriend. Last year I was there a few days by myself, and I find the place as nice and welcoming as I found it last year. I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pontus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stumbled across this Riad on Tripadvisor. There are 4 rooms. It has a great location if you want to be in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech. The rooms were quiet, and the heater worked well. The hot water worked without an issue. The terrace on the roof is a nice spot on a sunny day. We didn't use the plunge pool as it was too cold during our stay. The caretaker doesn't speak English, but my French was good enough to get by, and he was very helpful. Although it's a small location, it's a great location for kids since they have rooms with two double beds, and it's small enough that you would feel comfortable with your kids in another room. Our kids felt very welcome.

This riad is difficult to find and not accessible easily by car. Generally, a taxi will park a 5 minute walk away, and a porter will take your bags to the riad in a cart.

A few notes for the frugal:
You can expect to have extra fees here for bottled water, the porter from your taxi to the riad.
The riad wants to be paid cash, which was a huge issue for us as the ATM will block the daily amount that you can withdraw, and we had 3 rooms for 4 nights (which adds up). We had to take multiple walks to the ATM to get enough dirhams for payment since our USD were not welcome.
Dinner/lunch at the Riad is a great value and high quality, but must be requested at breakfast time so they can prepare. The restaurants in Marrakech seem to be very expensive, and average quality. We found Khalid's cooking to be higher quality and less expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBS0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this riad for one night following a mix up with my original accommodation bookings and on the advice of some friends who had previously stayed a couple of nights before me. Jeff and Valerie are wonderful hosts and made me feel very welcomed and they went out of their way to ensure that my stay in Marrakech was trouble free. The riad is a lovely little oasis right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech Medina and in the mornings you can even wake up to the sounds of birds. I would definitely recommend eating a delicious homemade Moroccan meal which is offered for a very good price. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable and the whole riad feels like a private little refuge from the energetic city outside. I would have loved to have stayed longer and will definitely be recommending this riad to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I travelled to Morocco this summer and stayed in Marrakech for the last 2 days of my holiday. I feel extremely fortunate to have spent the last night of my trip in Riad Sekkat as the location is fantastic: very central (5 minutes from the main square) however the riad was beautiful and it felt like and escape from the hussel and bussel of marrakech into a picturesque, peaceful paradise. My partner and I opted to eat dinner on the terrace which is covered in pretty flowers (and also provides a good private area where you can sunbathe and relax). The food was fantastic- although I had stayed in a very expensive 5 star hotel before staying at Riad Sekkat the meal eaten on the terrace was the most delicious meal I had eaten throughout my stay in Morrocco and was also very reasonable. If you drink alcohol (as I do) this is also offered at an additional cost and is very good quality.
The owners of the Riad are absolutely fabulous: not only extremely informative about options about what to do and where to go but also made us feel very comfortable and provided lovely accommodation where we could feel secure and "at home". Everything is kept nice and clean and the beds are very comfy.
I will definately be returning and would highly recommend to anyone travelling in Marrackech.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valvoil, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much Lizzie for this very beautiful comment. In when your next session of massage? :-) Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at the Riad early in June 2012 and had a fantastic time. I would therefore recommend this Riad to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech.

It is positioned just off the north of the market and therefore a 15 minute walk into the main square. Coming from the hustle of Marrakech into such a tranquil place is quite incredible. All of a sudden you are faced with the sound of birds and an oasis of plants and peacefulness. The terrace is a great place to relax and I would recommend eating on it (we were offered this) as the setting is great and the food is very tasty. On a good day you can look out over the rooftops and see the Atlas mountians in the distance.

The service we received from everyone at the Riad was second to none.

The rooms are of a good standard and had everything you would expect.

Overall, I beleive this is a great value for money Riad which will not disapoint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I had chosen to stay at Riad Sekkat having looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor. We took advantage of the 3 nights half-board package which was very good value.
I have to admit I had my reservations as we had to pay half of the reservation upfront to secure the booking and had to do it by bank transfer. However Valerie was very helpful and all went smoothly. She was responsive to all emails and queries.
The whole stay from arrival to departure went smoothly. Khalid, who managed the riad in Valerie's absence, was very hospitable, friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for anything more. They prepared lunch for us on the roof terrace al fresco which was a very nice surprise as it was a very sunny day. We informed Khalid the day before when we wanted our breakfast and dinner and he was always obliging.
The riad is about 7 minutes walk to the souks and about 15 minutes walk to the main square.
I thoroughly recommend the riad for couples, families and groups. They have 4 rooms and it is possible to book the whole riad.
Just be aware that they only speak French, although our friend managed to communicate with Khalid via Google Translate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank futomaki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valvoil, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
A big thank you for this good comment ... 2012 target for Khalid and myself: try to improve our English. See you soon I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

From our initial enquiry through to being taken back to the airport at the end of our stay, we could not have asked for more. All our questions prior to arriving were answered and our every need catered for when there. We were made to feel very special and welcome. Beautiful roses were in our room, courtyard and dining area. In the evening fairy lights and candles illuminated the private courtyard.

We were the only guests at the riad. Khalid and his wife were so attentive and thoughtful. Khalid patiently imparted his cooking skills to my husband in spite of the language difficulties given that my husband does not speak any French or Arabic.

Khalid hired a car and drove us to one of the beautiful valleys. He also took us to purchase our tagine and mobile accessories. On top of this he arranged for me to go to a traditional hammam that I requested and also for a massage for my husband.

We enjoyed most the personal attention that we received from Valérie when booking and prior to arriving as well as that of Khalid and his wife at the riad. We also enjoyed the calm and convenience of the riad. What we least enjoyed was leaving. We expected 7 days to be too long in Marrakech. In fact, we still have lots more to see and do so we will be going back to Riad Sekkat at the first possible opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#90 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#150 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Souad
Riad Souad
#17 of 266 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sekkat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sekkat

Property: Riad Sekkat
Address: 40 derb el Farnatchi | Rue Ahl Fes, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Riad comfort and tradition 5 minutes walk from the souks. Our steward on site throughout the year will be happy to assist you with any questions. Tranquility, calm space ... you are at home at Riad Sekkat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Sekkat Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing