We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVENLY”
Review of Riad Zayane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Zayane
Ranked #212 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We decided to get away from Agadir for a couple of nights, so hired a car and drove to MArrakech over the Atlas Mountains. Firstly, its a 4 hour hard drive as at the moment its the only route from Agadir To Marrakech. The roads arent to bad, but the trucks and coaches and other road users, its a bit mental to say the least. You really are in the middle of knowhere when you get to this mountain range. So if you are a nervous driver at all, get public transportation. Half way to Marrakech, we got stopped by the police, when we asked why he said y ou were speeding. Mmmmmmm! It cost us £40.00 for a ticket and he basically said we do it to most of the tourists, coz we can! What can you do eh when they have a gun holstered. Nothing, pay it and go!
Arrived in Marrakech, the place is crazy. You dont have a clue where you are going, even though youve done your homework, nothing prepares you for it really. Someone, tagged onto us and got us to the medina which was 5 mins away and then took us in the medina to find the hotel, so that costs you another £10.00, and they will not, under any circumstances take any less, they are a right bunch of thieving gits. Anyway, got to the hotel thankfully in one piece and and was like walking into a little piece of heaven, it was so lovely, very authentic. They gave us a lovely welcome and showed us to our room, i think there are only 5 or 6 rooms in this riad, but it really is perfect haven in the middle of a bustling medina. Each room has a different theme and these surround the most gorgous little courtyard which is open aired. A small dining area, and i mean small but divine and a little lounge with books comfy chairs, lots of scatter cushions. The place is lush. Alexandre is the chap that manages the place and he will introduce himself to you. Very nice fellow and very amenable if you need advice. His staff are all very helpful too, nothing is too much trouble. When you get there, head to the roof top. Its simply stunning! This riad is a little more expensive than other riads but it really really is worth the extra few pounds it might cost you. And after seeing some of the other riads there in the medina, and there are apparantly 1500 of them, you wont be disappointed if you decide to stay. Its about 15 / 20 mins from the main square. but dont go through the medina to get to it or it will probably take you an hour. Go round the outside perimitor to the main mosque and then turn left. Its quite easy then.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    35
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
143
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
B
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in April 2010. Beautiful "oasis" in the hubbub of Marrakech - wonderfully relaxing after all noise and excitement of the city. Excellent and helpful staff - they even offered us a meal on late arrival. We had the cheapest room which was more than adequate but, if you can afford it, perhaps a larger one would be a treat. Situated in the medina about 20 minutes interesting walk from the main square.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Riad Zayane for 4 nights and were made to feel very welcome from the minute we entered the hotel. It is decorated beautifully in a Morrocan chic style with a good sized roof terrace that's great for sun bathing & relaxing. It is located about 10 mins from the main square & souks, 10 mins from the Yves Saint Lauren gardens & 5 mins from La Maison Arabe (expensive but spectacular restaurant) & about 7 mins from Cafe Arabe (a relaxed restaurant with good food & nice terraces for cocktails/wine).

Each morning we had a traditional Morrocan breakfast (served between 7-12pm so lay-ins can be had) in the open riad coutyard. We opted for an evening meal on our final night and were given a traditional & tasty 3 course meal for around 20 euros each, it is also possible to purchase wine & beer on site for a very reasonable cost, although the riad's Morrocan tea is worth trying!

Riad Zayane also orgnised for me to have a hamman at a local riad/spa 3 mins away called Riad d'Arain which was truly excellent. Whilist I had a tradional hamman treatment and an hour massage (for around £50) my partner was able to relax on the fabulous roof terrace whilst taking in a few beers. We ended up spending an afternoon there after my treatment finished drinking winie and chatting with the french owner who was very helpful (despite not speaking English).

Marrakesh is quite a hectic place, which made us realise how fortunate we were to have such a relaxing riad to come back to. Alexandre & his team really did their best to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable and we had a great time with the Riad Zayane being a great highlight!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravel026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

I stayed at the riad with my partner for a birthday weekend away in March 2010 for 4 night. It is a lovely little place and far exceeded our expectations...particularly for the price.

The riad is beautifully decorated with a lovely central area and a gorgeous terrace. You can have breakfast on the terrace if the weather is good - a great way to start the day. The staff were courteous and nothing was too much trouble.

It is quiet and tranquil and a wonderful place to come back to after a day in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The riad is about 20 minutes walk from the central square and seemed perfectly fine to walk back to at night. You can also get a petite taxi back very easily as the riad is close to the medina wall - it's quite a challenge to find one prepared to put the meter on but that's another story!

I would highly recommend the Riad Zayane - we will certainly go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemissblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

On a recent weekend trip to Marrakech from London I chose the Riad Zayane based on the TripAdvisor reviews. I was not disappointed! I found it to be a charming property that has been very elegantly restored. I stayed in the Oasis suite. It was very spacious and beautiful use of fabrics to add to the romance of the room.

The staff was very willing to assist with arranging my sightseeing, cooking lesson, and massage for the weekend. The tour / taxi company they partner with does an exceptional job.

I would also specifically commend the night attendent at the hotel. He was extremely helpful while i was there and served my breakfast each morning.

There was some limited renovation work going on during the day while I was out, and always magically cleaned up each evening so the courtyard could be candlelit.

Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingDadChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Spent four days here ,it was very good , staff are so helpfull and very pleasant .Good clean surroundings a real little gem .Security is very good,Please remember you are in the old part of town the street leading to hotel is like a market street selling all aray of foods for the locals, once you open the hotel door it seems you you have entered into a differant world ,all of a sudden peace away from the hussel and bussel of the street. The main shopping arears are all within walking distance, 10 mins and you have more shops than you could imagine

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We've just come back from a fantastic holiday in Morocco. We'd only intended to stay in Riad Zayane for two nights of our eight night holiday but we loved it so much we ended up staying there for six nights! The Riad was perfect for us. It was gorgeously designed and very clean. We loved coming back to the tranquility and loveliness of the Riad after a day sightseeing. Our room was fab, and we were made to feel very special. The dinner we had and the breakfasts were delicious. Alex, Jaourd (sp?) and the lady who did the breakfasts / cleaning were amazing. They were so friendly, welcoming and accommodating. We will be recommending the Riad to friends and if we come back to Marrakech we will definitely stay at this lovely Riad again (and maybe next time we'll bring some little children with us Jaourd?....). Ah, to be back there now!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank The_touring_twosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#222 of 500 in Marrakech
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zayane Atlas
Riad Zayane Atlas
#304 of 1,153 in Marrakech
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#41 of 1,153 in Marrakech
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad les Hibiscus
Riad les Hibiscus
#418 of 1,153 in Marrakech
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sable Chaud
Riad Sable Chaud
#99 of 1,153 in Marrakech
241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Bayti Marrakech
Riad Bayti Marrakech
#108 of 1,153 in Marrakech
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zayane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane

Property: Riad Zayane
Address: 36, derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala - médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zayane 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé à deux pas de la Mosquée Bab Doukkala et des transports en commun, le Riad Zayane est une magnifique maison d'hôtes de Marrakech à cinq minutes à pied des Souks et quinze minutes de la place Jemaâ El Fna . Outre ses 5 chambres et suite climatisées à la luxueuse décoration métissée, le Riad Zayane dispose d'une terrasse sur le toit avec solarium, d'un salon et d'une salle à manger ainsi que d'un magnifique patio aux zeligues bicolores avec bassin et fontaine traditionnelle, où vous pourrez vivre un dîner aux chandelles des plus romantiques autour de mets savoureux typiques de la tradition culinaire marocaine, concoctés par la cuisinière du Riad. Le personnel est disponible 24h/24 et vous aidera à organiser excursions et visites guidées de Marrakech et ses environs, ou encore à réserver une table de restaurant et autres billets de spectacles. Un service de navette pour l'aéroport vous sera fourni sur réservation préalable. Enfin, l'accès Wi-Fi est gratuit dans tout le bâtiment. Un parking payant se trouve à proximitéIdeally located near Bab Doukkala Mosque and the public transports, Riad Zayane is a beautiful Marrakesh guesthouse within a 5-minute walk from the Souks markets and 15-minute walk from Jemaa El Fna square. In addition to its 5 luxury guestrooms and suite exquisitely decorated, Riad Zayane has a rooftop terrace with solarium, a lounge and a dining room, as well as a beautiful patio tiled with zeligues and boasting a traditional pond and fountain, ideal setting for a romantic candlelit dinner over tasty dishes of Moroccan cuisine, concocted by Hayat, the in-house cook of the Riad. Staff are available 24/24 and will help you organize excursions and guided tours in Marrakesh and the surroundings, or to book a restaurant and tickets. A shuttle service to the airport will be provided on prior reservation. Eventually, a free wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Charged parking is available nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Zayane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing