We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly staff, clean and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ihssane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Ihssane
Ranked #328 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Boulder
1 review
“Friendly staff, clean and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Dar Isshane is a charming, traditional-styled riad. The staff could not have been more friendly, the room we had was very nice and very clean. Breakfast was great, and we loved taking in Marrakech from the rooftop terrace. The location is perfect; right between the big square (Djeema El Fna) and the souks, so it's easy to pop out and in during the long days haggling with vendors. For a charming riad at a very reasonable price, choose Dar Isshane.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMaeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    70
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
67
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A beautiful Riad, very competitively priced. Strongly recommended!
The guys running it are super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the Medina area, eg, they told me where was a Bureau de Change with great rates, and the handiest teleboutiques for unblocking a phone and getting a new simm.
Excellent location, handy for walking to the souks, or down to Jemaa el Fna square, or south to the Mellah, or westwards and north into Gueliz.
Quiet rooms. I stayed on the first floor in the Zineb double room, the one with the split-level for a shower and toilet, with a half height wall separating the bedroom and bathroom. Very Scandinavian :-) Clean and cosy, with an extra blanket and oil electric radiator for those chilly December nights. In the morning you can hear bird song from the roof....just magical!
The whole Riad has the charismatic, laid-back feel of a restored 18th Cent Moroccan home. The terraces and climbing plants, and furnishings in the shared areas are all charming. There are several alcoves to relax in, and even a small 1st floor library, where you can chill-out after a souk blow-out and read, or use the house wifi.
Tasty and ample breakfast - cheese, olives, orange juice, coffee or tea, bread, jams, etc.
I also got the special deal of a free evening meal for staying more than two nights. Delicious chicken tagine, aubergine and sautéed carrots, and spiced orange slices for desert.
To top it all, just at the end of the same branch of the derb is the well known and very trendy Dar Cherifa, a sort of cultural cafe with shows by local artists, a very Marrakech mix of French chic and Moroccan authenticity.
All in all, I loved it. I plan on being back in Marrakech in the next few months.
I intend staying here again, no hesitation :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are good. First floor rooms can be slightly quieter because not on same level as courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondinMarrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This riad has a very good price/quality ratio. It's very close to the Djemaa el Fna square. The only negative thing is that you can hear other guests when they are having breakfast or a cup of coffee (dependend on the room you got).
The staff is very friendly and helpfull and the breakfast is fine.
The first time it's quite hard to find. A tip for this would be implementing the coordinates of the riad into your phone, which works overall fine. Don't walk with locals, because they will try to get a lot of money of you, or discuss the price in advance. Otherwise they will probably threaten you afterwards if you don't pay.

Overall: a very nice riad with a very good price/quality ratio and very helpfull staf!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Dar Ihssane is a lovely riad located in the medina, a short walking distance from Djemaa el Fna square. Good value for money, nice staff, tasty breakfast. Lovely patio, relaxing atmosphere, quiet and peaceful, nice rooms. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mireiuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent value for money, very close to main attractions, very nice room, friendly staff - helpful and hospitable. Highly recommended. Breakfast was a bit minimal but tasty. At first we struggled to find it but once we were guided there, we found it more easily afterwards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hostel is located in the middle of the souk, but don't think it means noise and chaos, it's a really peaceful riat in the middle of everything that serves both as a brilliantly located headquerter for exploring the city and as the close and perfect spot to relax.

The rooms are beautiful and the staff is just always willing to help.

We booked a 2 day tour with them which was better than expected and the complementary dinner they welcomed us with after the tour was delicious. Do not doubt about choosing this Riat.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the second floor to get a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A wonderful place, very friendly and welcoming atmosphere/ employees, and perfect location.

Our room was comfortable, clean, and beautiful. Mohamad, an employee at Dar Ihssane, was very, very friendly, helpful- very professional.

I recommend this place to people!

Ibrahim

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travle_usa_peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#261 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Julia
Riad Julia
#419 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Essaoussan
Riad Essaoussan
#662 of 1,171 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#123 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Radya
Riad Dar Radya
#262 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ihssane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ihssane

Property: Dar Ihssane
Address: 14 Derb Chorfa Lakbir Mouassine | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Ihssane 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Ihssane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ihssane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing