We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Dar Ihssane”
Review of Dar Ihssane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Ihssane
Ranked #393 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our family of four had a wonderful time at this relaxed hotel. The kids loved wondering all over the riad and relaxing on the roof terrace. We all loved the cool architecture, especially the blue bathroom and open stone walled shower and the kids room. The staff were very very helpful, and we're especially talented at helping us navigate the souks. Breakfast was in the courtyard and was a very relaxed affair, usually with fresh juice, bread and pancakes and a choice of tea or coffee. All in all a wonderful stay at very very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Range of rooms to choose from. Not all have glass windows, so we were nervous our noisy kids would w...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Dar Ihssane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 195 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

Our family stayed in "Dar Ihssane" for 5 nights. We had a great time and also our children (13 and 11 years) enjoyed it very much there. We booked two rooms with a connection-door; that was very convenient for us. The service was good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Also the breakfast we enjoyed very much. We could do all sightseeing by foot. The Riad is in the heart of the Medina but very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juergen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Had the most wonderful time, definitely considering going back. Staff were friendly and more than helpful..even took the time to show us how to make Morrocan Tea! All arrangements made by the hotel via email went without issue, from picking us up from the airport to a trip to the atlas mountains (though this can be found cheaper if you shop around).

It was an experience showering in your room with no curtain.....especially when travelling with a friend, but we got round this and didn't find it an issue.

Food was lovely, fresh orange juice, bread and we looked forward to the little surprise we got in the form of a Msemen or Beghrir.

As I said before, I am definitely considering going back to this Raid but this time it would be for longer!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjb0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed for six nights in Dar Ihssane. It is a very quiet and lovely place in the middle of the bustling medina. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The building dates from the 16th century, has been carefully renovated and has a wonderful roof garden, where you can listen the call of the muezzins.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights. The location of this riad is superb - only a few minutes walk from Jamaa El Fna and within an easy walk of the whole Medina. In spite of its location, the riad was very peaceful - we returned to its roof garden for a quiet break from sightseeing on most days. Our room was fine, and the bathroom had its own door! Each day started with a good continental breakfast - even the day we had to leave at 7am to go on a trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They arranged a taxi to and from the airport - not cheap, but it made life easier. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor, and was plenty warm enough in early March. We talked to someone stay...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

good location, 5 minutes walk from the shopping centre. Staff at the riad friendly and helpful
We went in mid February 2012 for 5 days, and it was quite cold during the mornings and evenings,The room we stayed in was very basic for the price charged per night and didnt have a door separating the bathroom from the bedroom, only a small wall and no shower curtain, considering it is a muslim country, and as a muslim myself I found very odd and not appropriate, as there was no privacy at all, there was a heat/airconditioning unit above the door but didnt provide much heat. The food which was served in an open area (very cold and uncomfortable at that time of the morning) located near the reception was the same every morning, coffee, bread, jam, butter and a small pancake or a moroccan fried bread, had to ask for tea if required, and also there is a toilet/wetroom next to the reception and if someone is using at that time of that time of the morning it certainly puts you off your breakfast, as every noise can be heard!
The sun terrace is very small and only 2 very old rusty sun loungers! I wont be going back again.
Its ok for a short stay but if going for a longer holiday I recommend stay at a hotel, I found it to be a very cold and uninviting riad!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raabhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This Riad was absolutely fantastic, very relaxing and right in the middle of Marrakech with only a 5 min walk to Jemaa el Fna. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were beautiful. This Riad was in a quiet part of Marrakech without being too far away from the main square and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#206 of 502 in Marrakech
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dalia
Riad Dalia
#45 of 295 in Marrakech
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Moulay
Riad Moulay
#616 of 1,160 in Marrakech
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
#72 of 1,160 in Marrakech
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Limoun Amara
Dar Limoun Amara
#535 of 1,160 in Marrakech
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad la Fibule
Riad la Fibule
#409 of 1,160 in Marrakech
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ihssane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ihssane

Address: 14 Derb Chorfa Lakbir Mouassine | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $32 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Ihssane 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Ihssane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ihssane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing