We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Location in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar-K

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar-K
Ranked #34 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were recommended to go to this Riad and it was everything we hoped it would be. Close to the bustling Medina, but so quiet as soon as you close the door. You felt very safe within the walls of the Riad which was very stylish with its simplicity decor. The rooms were very nice, newly renovated with stylish features. We stayed in a first floor room, large in size and it had everything we needed. Hairdryer in room, safe deposit (even though it wasn't screwed down to anything) towels changed daily and beds made.
You must have dinner at least one night in the Riad. The fire was set, rose petals around the table, a very romantic experience and the entire lounge area to ourselves. We controlled the fire and chilled out on the cushions in the corner whilst listening to the music. You can control the Bose docking station with an iPod already in place to set the local ambient of your choice. Lovely 3 course dinner and wine made by the in-house chef. 18 euros each plus 10 euro for a bottle of Red.
Jeep trip to the Atlas Mountains was very enjoyable through the rough terrain of the hills. Lunch at the top and a smoother drive home cost 150 Euro for 2 or if you share a trip with another couple like we did, it will cost 100 euro per couple for a full days tour. We got to experience a Moroccan house in the mountain including the toilet!!!!!! An experience you need to have just once at least.
New year we went to the restaurant Le Foundouk which was 2 mins around the corner to the Riad. This was a very classy restaurant at very high prices but it was new year. It worked out with wine to be around £230 for the evening but as I said it was new year and we had an amazing 6 course meal. Must try on a normal night though.
Overall the trip was very enjoyable and the Riad was in the middle of the old town 1 min from all the Souks. Will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzarapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
177
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar-K for 5 nights in Dec 2012, at the Patio room and the Suite. We loved both rooms. The riad is very stylish and peaceful, a very comfortable place to relax after walking around the bustling souks of Marrakech. The location was very good.
Sarah, Malika and Yasim were very helpful and caring. We felt we were very well looked after. They even guided us to local restaurants so we wouldn't get lost in the medina.
We had the dinner at the riad for 3 nights and the food prepared by Malika was the best we have had in Marrakech. After travelling for a while and eating out everyday, the home-cooked food was very comforting.
Overall the experience was excellent. If we return to Marrakech, we will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our family and friends.
Thank you Sarah, from Jady and Jono.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a beautiful Riad with lovely views from the roof and a very warm, friendly and helpful host Sarah. The staff were also very friendly and lovely. They made our stay there over New Years really pleasant and a great relaxing break. We also ate in the Riad for one night by the fire, and the food was great and the setting very peaceful. From the pick up to the drop off the whole experience of the Riad was great.

The decor is modern and beautiful and looks every bit as good as the photos.

They made the stay really pleasant and the Riad was a peaceful haven from the madness of Marrakesh.

We went to the Atlas mountains on an excursion which was good. The mountains are beautiful but it’s more a case of going and having a few photo ops on the way rather than any walking or adventuring.

A great place to go and alot of fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegreenbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband, my 2 yr old daughter and I stayed here for 5 days, and It was by far the best experience I've had. The owner Sara was very welcoming, kind, and professional. She answered all of our questions, and had reservations ready whenever we needed them. The atmosphere is relaxing where you feel right at home. The staff members Yassine and Malika were great in every way! Yassine showed us around the the old city, gave us so many tips and pointers, and most of all, my daughter loved playing with him in the open yard. Chef Malika is one of the greatest cooks. We loved her food so much, that i had to ask her to give me some cooking lessons. You have a few areas to choose where you would like to eat your meals. they are all great choices, from the roof top where you can see the whole city, to the court yard downstairs, to the balcony in front of your room. We had such relaxing mornings with some great breakfasts, best way to start your day. The Madina offers a whole new shopping experience. From all the small shops, to the open area full of performers and restaurants. Every street in this old city has a taste of its own. I would go back there in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom suite. Nice size, and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatima212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our trip to marakech was made 10000000 times better by the caring of Dar K. What a wonderful experience in all ways. Everyone on the staff is lovely and warm. The food was the best I have had anywhere for a long time and ...I'm fussy! All in all a lovely experience. Sarah the owner is a gem. Trust the reviews on this one and enjoy a beautiful experience! My only sorrows was that I had to leave...and without letting Sarah know how she embodies graciousness and hospitality!
Thank you!

Room Tip: Loved the suite but all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lobesju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just returned from Marrakech which we thoroughly enjoyed. What made the trip so special was this amazing santuary in the Medina. It is simply but beautifully decorated and Sarah and the rest of the staff were absolutely lovely and went over and above the call of duty. The location is perfect for exploring the city. Marrakesh is a crazy but wonderful place and it was great to have such a nice place to come home to each day. I would recommend drinks on the terrace in the evening too - lovely! Would be very surprised if anyone did not enjoy this riad. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Recently stayed here on a visit to the bustling city of Marrakech. If you are thinking of going and are looking at different riads then stop and book this.....if its not already sold out! There are only 4 bedrooms in this fantastic Riad. We were welcomed by Sarah the GM and given mint tea whilst we filled out the paperwork. We were then shown to our very large, spacious and beautiful room. There wasn't any clutter in the room nor any tv but in a bustling city like Marrakech there isn't really a need. The riad served breakfast each morning which included tea, coffee, fruit, breads, pancakes etc. The Riad had free wifi. The plunge pool is covered over in the winter months. Staff are all very friendly and make you feel extremely welcome. The roof top has nice seats to relax in in the hot afternoon sun and if you squint you can see the Atlas Mountains. The Riad is approx 10 mins away from the main Jemma El Fna square and the route takes you through the spice souks and 'normal' souks where you can buy lanterns, mirrors, clothes, shoes and pretty much anything else your heart desires. This Riad is a definite winner and a must if your staying in Marrakech....you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank de18oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#4 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#15 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad El Zohar
Riad El Zohar
#14 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#8 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#9 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar-K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar-K

Property: Riad Dar-K
Address: Derb Boucetta lekbir No23, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar-K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing