We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Magical little gem of a hotel hidden inside the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Housnia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Housnia
Ranked #237 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical little gem of a hotel hidden inside the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We took our time selecting a hotel for our stay in Marrakech - and Dar Housnia turned out to be the perfect choice for those looking for an oasis in the hustle and bustle of the old city. The souks and Jemaa el Fna Square are 10 minutes away on foot, so you're right in the heart of Marrakech-but the riad is quiet, cosy and just the right thing after a day out in the city.

Be aware that with most the riads within the medina, your taxi won't be able to drop you off by the front door (streets are too narrow for cars). Dar Housnia arranged out airport transfer and for someone to meet our taxi in the city, carry our luggage and show us to the hotel (a 3-minute walk from the drop-off point). From the moment we set foot inside, the riad felt like home. Staff go out of their way to accommodate guests, and the layout is wonderful-even though you know there are other people staying, you somehow feel that you're the only people there.

We had the Fes and Mogador suites, which occupy an entire floor and have a shared sitting room/lounge area, so it was really like our very own house in Marrakech. Both suites are spacious, airy and beautifully decorated, with big bathrooms (Mogador has a huge bathtub as well)

Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, and if I had to nitpick, I'd say a choice of plain green tea and something savory for breakfast would have been nice (they offer traditional mint tea with sugar or coffee, alongside pancakes or pastries) - but that really is nitpicking for the sake of objectivity :)
They also offered us a complimentary dinner on our second evening there (delicious food, much better that most of what's on offer in the city)

The riad also offers hammam and massage services, and even though we missed out on the hammam, the hour-long massage after a day hiking in the mountains was perfect.

Basically, Dar Housnia really is a gem, and for those who shy away from big-name hotels and want to be in the heart of it all, the perfect choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    8
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
32
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend (4 nights) stay at this wonderul riad. We were looked after magnificently by the very friendly and helpful staff who gave us the impression that our comfort and care was their only concern. The riad has beautiful local architectural features which are shown off well by the restrained but very tasteful decor. We had breakfast on the roof terrace but, as the evenings were cool, on the nights that we ate in dinner was served in a dining/sitting room separated from the courtyard by heavy curtains. There was a wood fire burning in an open grate which you could curl by on luxurious sofas and cushions after dinner. The food was superb. I would recommend booking transport from the airport with the riad as they also arrange a porter to transport your luggage from the nearest drop off point and who will guide you there. Also, if you are arriving late afternoon/evening, you may wish to eat in that night as it can take you some time to orientate yourself in this part of the old town if you are not familiar with it. We did not use the spa, but I was told by another guest that it was superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

An absolutely brilliant riad in Marrakesh. Located in a quiet corner, you'll be in for an amazing experience once you walk through the doors. We had a two storey 'room'. In it, two bedrooms and a lovely living room, and direct access to the pool. The rooms were nicely done, lovely bathrooms too. The staff were terrific, food was delicious. Only regret is we stayed there only for 3 nights. Don't think twice, just go for it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asadliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was my second visit. It is a tastefully designed riad which immediately soothes you when you enter. All the rooms (there are only 4 or 5) are unique and distinctive (one has a sunken tub, one has a private loggia, you can see them on the website). It is not overdone or fussy or that fake Moroccan style. Colours are mostly white, beige, and green. The staff are very accomodating. It is impeccably clean and well kept. The food is wonderful. Breakfast on the roof terrace is the best start to a busy day. I find it always good to arrange a dinner at the riad, it is delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My family and I stayed in the separate Douriria with our own sitting room, roof terrace and bedrooms. Every comfort has been thought out and the team that look after you at this romantic and beautifully designed riad exceeded all expectations.

Situated in the busy, narrow streets of the Medina, the riad is ideal for exploring the true heart of the city, the souks and the museums. It allows you to experience the hussle but takes out the bussle as you enter the riad doors the peace and quiet takes over. It was quiet and restful and the delicious food made it hard to leave. We are well travelled and have stayed in some very special 5 * hotels but this riad sits comfortably among our favourite spots. A true find!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Dar Housnia. We have both travelled extensively to some of the most remote areas of the world and stayed in some really wonderful places but this has to be the one of most beautifulI experiences we have ever had. We flew from Bristol to Marrakech (3 hrs) and were met by a charming taxi driver (which Dar Housnia organised on our behalf) he then arranged for a porter to transfer our cases a short distance through the medina to our Riad.
The Riad was absolutely stunning, our room was off the courtyard and was spacious and full of beautiful touches. The courtyard was lit by candlelight and completely peaceful - almost impossible to believe that the hustle and bustle of the medina was so close. After we had had an opportunity to settle we were taken onto the roof top where we were served the most delicious morrocan supper. Again the attention to detail was wonderful, the Morrocan wine which we were served was superb and the service extremely friendly but also very descreet, definately the most romantic meal that I have ever had. The breakfasts were also delicious and we even opted to have our leaving lunch at the riad because we knew it would be hard to find anything else that could be so special (and we werent disappointed).
The staff were all lovely, extremely helpful and very friendly but also discreet.
The lap pool was situated on a different rooftop and again was very tranquil.
One of the things we really appreciated staying here was that we were right in the heart of the Medina so you could easily walk out of the door to the souks and museums and then when the crazy atmosphere got too much we could retreat back into the tranquility of the riad. I honestly believe it would be hard to find anywhere else as beautiful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, I think that the Patio room was the best but the upstairs rooms are sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is my first ever trip advisor review and i just wanted to let everyone know that if you are after a luxury Riad right in the centre of the Medina then look no further than Dar Housina. My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here for three nights in September 2011 and cannot praise it enough.
The Riad itself is lovely, beautifully designed from top to bottom and has everything you need - Rooftop terrace, plunge pool, swimming pool, free internet, lovely rooms, amazing free breakfast (cooked each morning by a wonderful chef) and the evening meal we had on our first night was the best we had during our stay. Looking back we wish we had eaten at the Riad every night instead of eating out elsewhere in the city, it was that nice!
All the staff are superb and really couldnt do enough for us and made us feel really special.
Although it is not the easiest place to find in the dark, the location is perfect in terms of being only a 5 min walk from the souks and only a ten min walk to the square.
I would defo go back to this Riad and would strongly suggest to others to try it rather than stay at the soul-less, so called 5* hotels outside the city walls.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#179 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#31 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#323 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Tchaikana
Dar Tchaikana
#105 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#89 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar al Assad
Dar al Assad
#343 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Housnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Housnia

Property: Dar Housnia
Address: 2 derb Lalla Azzouna, Medina de MKH | Medina de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Housnia is an elegant guesthouse, unique in marrakech, comprisinga Riad and a Douiria wich articulate around an inside terrace with a lovely swimming pool.Dar Housnia was renovated in the true style and spirit of Arabian Andalusian architecture, using traditional methods.Dar Housnia is located in one of the most authentic district of the Medina, only at 5 min walking from the Medersa Ben Youssef and a 15 min from the legendary Jemaa el Fna square.The riad has 4 suite junior and the Douiria 2 rooms, each with a bathroom.An traditional hammam as well as a massage room allow to enjoy wellmess cares at dar Housnia...just next to your room.Rachida, our cook, can offer you a choice of dishes for lunch or dinner.having a candelight "tte-à-tte" dinner on the roof terrace, listening to a quiet music is a blessing!Free wifi, Guard 24h/24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Housnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing