We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful terrace restaurant!”
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
Ranked #71 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant of La Sultana offers a traditional Moroccan cuisine to reflect the flavors of the season with the Tasting Menu, the Traditional Lamb Couscous with Seven Vegetables or the Home Made Duck Foie Gras.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful terrace restaurant!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here. As a moroccan I know quite well the difference between what tourists are served up in the square and what authentic moroccan is, and this is really it! It tasted just like home. Delicious moroccan courses in great portions will have you unwilling to move. We had the wood pigeon pie and beef tajine, and some moroccan mezze. Delicious! The terrace was stunning with a night view over the medina. The oud player was very talented and played some arabic classics really well. The service was impeccable and the waiter spoke great english for my guest. We were the last people to leave and they waited on us out of sight allowing us to enjoy the terrace and appeared only when we had decided to head home. Very discreet. We also had the pleasure of watching a moroccan wedding procession happening down bellow. It was magical really. After the dinner we were given a tour of the stunning riad. All in all a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone in Marrakech for friends, family or couples.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    116
    45
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A special meal”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friends and I decided to have a special evening out on our last night in Marrakech. We chose the Restaurant of La Sultana based on the reviews and its location close to our riad. We were not disappointed. From the time we arrived the service was attentive and professional. The setting is wonderful and the food excellent. While not cheap (we paid about AU$60 per head) I would say this is one of the best meals I have eaten. Certainly worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VixKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow Tres Magnifique!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This amazingly beautiful riad/restaurant is set back out of a bustling busy street in the Kasbah area. From the moment you walk down the red carpet, the decor, lighting and music all combine in a feast for the senses. The food, while fairly expensive by Moroccan standards, is no more than you would pay for a meal in Australian/European cities, but is so much better than more expensive meals I have eaten! In fact I would have to say this was one of the best meals I have ever had (spinach risotto with the most amazing champagne cream sauce!). The service was incredible too, and nothing was too much trouble. Could not recommend this highly enough!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ambient dining”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great meal, service and location at La Sultana. Has to be top of the list if you are looking for fine dining. Very romantic location and great service - a must do if you can afford it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, lovely atmosphere, elegant service”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Food is expensive, but not unreasonable, particularly compared with US and European cities. The atmosphere is lovely and the service was excellent - attentive and friendly without being pretentious. The food was delicious. Moroccan appetizers were 130 dh and main dishes were 250 dh. European entrees were more expensive. At 100 dh each, the desserts seemed way overpriced. We had the Harrira soup (we shared one portion, which was plenty for two people), red sea bream tagine and chicken tagine. Everything was excellent, but the chicken tagine was especially memorable with the most delicious sweet tomatoes that tasted like candy. The chicken was moist and the dish had a great balance between sweet and savory dishes. Highly recommended and a nice splurge/change of pace from the heavy cooking at many of the smaller, less expensive restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing