We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice ambiance when dinner is served” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
Ranked #44 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $132
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant of La Sultana offers a traditional Moroccan cuisine to reflect the flavors of the season with the Tasting Menu, the Traditional Lamb Couscous with Seven Vegetables or the Home Made Duck Foie Gras.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance when dinner is served”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The food was good, the service is also good. The dinner is served around the pool yard with life music.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank globaltrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    101
    40
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford,UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Stylish and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We dined here on the last night of our trip and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was a little hard to find, there is a small sign on the wall of the main busy street indicating the turn. We had a tour of the sumptuous riads before dinner. Fabulous decor, very stylish indeed.
Drinks are served on the top terrace pior to dinner which starts at 8pm.
The fixed menu was 650dh per person. There was also an a la carte with starters around 150 and main courses 250dh . We had foie gras with an apple compote and home-made warm pain d'epice. Then my husband had beef fillet and I had ostrich and duck. Both delicious, very well presented . My dessert was an almond and cream pastilla . I think my husband had a creme brulee. We had a bottle of wine and the total bill was around 1500 DH which we thought was fine for food of this quality and the ambience .
All the tables were full and this is a venue which must be booked .
Perfect for a special celebration and a welcome change from the more usual food in Morocco which can get a bit tiring after a while .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“THE NEC PLUS ULTRA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

When you discover this restaurant located very discreetly in the Kasbah of Marrakech you enter an incredible world of luxe, quietness and beauty. Before entering the courtyard where the tables are organized in order to feel as at home ,you will receive a very warm welcome from the staff always smily and efficient.The card offer traditionnal moroccan and international dishes of top quality.The service is excellent as the waiters will always look at your table,ready to bring some more bread, pouring wine and water in your glasses.There is also a continuous but low music played by musicians so that you feel in a palace of one and thousand nights! The prices are at the level of the quality and service but as you are in Morocco they are much lower than in europe!really one of the best restaurant in Marrakech at present !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeannick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect finish to our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Hidden amongst the chaos is this oasis of luxury and quiet. We didnt book and were lucky to get in with a table next to the pool. Recommend you book to ensure a place as it is well worth it. Set taster menue 620dh each. Wine 180 dh for merlot. Expensive but plenty of food and great quality plus setting and live traditional music. Staff very attentive and spoke good english with good humour. Perfect end to our holiday.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great....up to a point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

An absolutely stunning room for dinner. The most beautiful of our trip. The hotel's dining room (courtyard) and adjoining room were stunning. The food too was superb and perhaps the best we had all week, but......it's dear. Dir 250 for a main course (about £20) and the service was a little haphazard at times. On the whole I would recommend it though.

Helpful?
Thank AndrewN916
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing