We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely superb but not cheap!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
Ranked #41 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $132
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant of La Sultana offers a traditional Moroccan cuisine to reflect the flavors of the season with the Tasting Menu, the Traditional Lamb Couscous with Seven Vegetables or the Home Made Duck Foie Gras.
nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb but not cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A real experience . It is a stunning setting and has food and service to match. But comes at a price.
Food is predominantly moroccan with a bit of international

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    96
    37
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Have eaten at here twice and would go back, the riad is newly built but stunning with a gorgeuous roof terrace and central area with a beautifully maintained pool. Musician played the whole time during our meal and it felt time we stepped back in time. Not cheap but worth paying extra for. Booking essential as they dont allow walk ins!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dining at La Sultana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had breakfast daily on the rooftop terrace and also had dinner once on the same terrace. Both were excellent. However, although there was plenty of the local Casablanca beer in our room fridge, there was often a shortage in the bar area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful atmosphere, wonderful musician playing the mandolin. The fish was fishy, the veggie tagine was only a serving dish, and they served us foie gras (yuck) after we told them we didn't eat meat. No dessert. Two glasses of wine. For that we paid more that $100. What a waste.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2s2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“You are paying for the atmosphere and service, as for the food it's a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Me and my wife visited this restaurant, it is tucked away in the old kasbah area. The atmosphere is amazing and the service exceptional. The food however is nothing special and overly priced.
My advice if u want to go is order from the a la carte menu rather than the large fixed menu.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jollyhols77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing