We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay, genuine staff, quaint house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Le Coq Fou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Le Coq Fou
Ranked #180 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“comfortable stay, genuine staff, quaint house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

we loved our time in this house.
- location: not so hard to find, very peaceful inside, dont get to hear prayer calling too loud
- staff: beshir explained sights and how to get to everywhere very clearly once we arrived; he showed up during breakfast and near dinner time to see if we needed him for anything and left us for privacy during most of the time (important, because at some other guesthouses the staff might seem to be too "hard-sell" i.e. wanting to bring you to their friends' stores to buy carpets etc); Layla is a very adorable, passionate, and kind lady. we love her warmth while talking to us, making us feel like a family (we left in a hurry and felt very bad that we forgot to take a picture with her :( Another staff, youssef, whom we didn't get to interact much also is a polite and helpful guy, just whenever we asked him about directions, taxi fare, those kind of things.
- breakfast was huge, Layla is very generous on the portion and pays attention to what you eat and not eat. she will give you more of what you ate the previous day :)
- house is cute and very clean. terrace and sun beds are very nice. it was too hot to go up there during the day. so we only went up to see amazing sunset and chatted looking up to the starry night at midnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    31
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
83
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The walk to the Riad was rather different, I mean small streets and definitely a difficult place to find. I would suggest booking the taxi service provided by the hotel trust me it's worth it. You don't want to get lost in Marakech, people will try to help you and if you fall for that they will then demand money. Even Bashir and Yousuf warned us about that. Bashir personally came and picked us up from the taxi and walked us to the Riad. Yousuf takes care of the place in the evenings. They both were great! On arrival Bashir drew us some maps of places to visit and things to see, they take their time in doing that which is perfect. Loved the mint teas served in unlimited quantities at any time of the day and night. Leyla and Fatima were also great making sure we were comfortable during our stay. Loved the breakfast! We even had dinner at the hotel Terrace which was set up with candles creamery cozy atmosphere. Loved it! One night I had a bad throat and Yusuf made me some hot tea... He is absolutely wonderful and goes above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Overall a home away from home.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent a wonderful 5 days at the riad le coq fou in November. The owners could not have been more helpful, collecting us on arrival, drawing maps so we could find our way round the medina, just outside the front door and always interested in our day and plans. The hotel was small and beautiful, we had a private internal terrace overlooking the courtyard where we ate wonderful breakfasts, and access to a beautiful roof terrace where we drank wine in the warm evening sunshine and listened to the calls to prayer from the mosques. We loved this hotel, intend to go back and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerogata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
304 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

It's a wonderful place situated in La Medina, with very friendly people, very nice and I complete and very good breakfast. Fantastic. A 10!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had a wonderful three night stay at Le Coq Fou in April, 2011. The rooms were nice: we have three children (14, 11, 6) and the layout was perfect, with a small private courtyard and table between the kids' rooms and ours. The roof is amazing with great flowers. Best of all, however, was the service. Our travel plans changed; we left a bag in the desert hundreds of kilometers away; we needed other assistance, and Mohammed helped with everything. We even got our bag back. He was fantastic. The other staff were also great, but did not speak English. Thanks for a wonderful visit!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wuerthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

If You are looking for true hospitality, a calm hide away and the most delicious Moroccain breakfast in Marrakech stop Your search in here. Not one second we needed to feel unsafe or unwanted in Riad Le coq fou. The breakfasts on the rooftop teracce were unforgettable; home made youghurt, pancakes and other delicasies. Thank You Fulvio and his excellent team!
Ps. An insider tip for dinner in the square; try out the stall number 14.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna-Lyydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our second visit to Marrakech and the Riad Le Coq Fou. We were met at the end of the medina by Lahcen the manager of the riad. This time he had a man with a barrow with him for our luggage! But we did have to tip him. A short walk brought us to the riad and we were made very welcome by the staff. What a great start! Throughout our week's stay we were looked after royally. Nothing was too much trouble - I could use the internet whenever I wanted to, foc. Breakfasts were delicious, as much coffee as we wanted, whenever we asked. I would recommend this riad to anyone - no pool, no fancy extras but the care and attention by the staff was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Bamboo
Riad Bamboo
#129 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Le Coq Berbere
Riad Le Coq Berbere
#155 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Kenzo
Riad Kenzo
#301 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Habib
Riad Habib
#62 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chi-Chi
Riad Chi-Chi
#132 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Coq Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Coq Fou

Property: Riad Le Coq Fou
Address: Ryad Laarouss | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Le Coq Fou 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coq Fou is a traditional Moroccan house with a patio in the center and fountain. It has a lovely terrace with a breathtaking view and a solarium. At sunset you can enjoy aperitifs followed by delicious dinners typically Moroccan. It is connected through the terrace with the twin Coq Berbere and together can accommodate up to 27 people with a total of 11 rooms and suites. An oasis of peace in the bustle of the Marrakech's medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Le Coq Fou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing