We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone MUST Go here!! ”
Review of Le Trou au Mur

Le Trou au Mur
Ranked #7 of 1,073 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $17 - $51
Description: Le Trou au Mur brings a breath of fresh air to the Marrakech restaurant scene. Chic, laid back, fun, relaxed, intimate and comfortable but, above all, totally serious about food. Set in a small riad in the oldest part of the medina, the décor is a unique blend of superb local craftsmanship with the best of modern European style.
Restaurant details
Description: Le Trou au Mur brings a breath of fresh air to the Marrakech restaurant scene. Chic, laid back, fun, relaxed, intimate and comfortable but, above all, totally serious about food. Set in a small riad in the oldest part of the medina, the décor is a unique blend of superb local craftsmanship with the best of modern European style.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

This was our favorite restaurant in Marrakech—we went two nights in a row! The staff was AMAZING and incredibly friendly. There was a rooftop with beautiful views, they offered blankets when it got chilly outside, the menu had a great mix of traditional Moroccan food and international food, and they even serve alcohol (rare for restaurants in the Médina)! At the end of the night, there was even someone there to walk us home to our Riad to ensure we made it home safely without getting lost. Finally, this restaurant is open late for anyone who is looking for a late dinner or snack. I cannot recommend this place enough and hope more people will give it a try!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

We definitely agree wholeheartedly with your title!! Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your visit to Le Trou au Mur! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope very much that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 210 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2018

We've been to Marrakech six times now and had heard that some of our old haunts (Fondouk) had gone a bit down hill so we were excited to try a new place. Very interesting menu with only one tagine (thankfully), the proprietor explained that they had trawled traditional Moroccan recipe books for interesting ideas which is very apparent from their offering. I had a house specialty - meshui - slow cooked lamb (3 ways) which was out of this world. Incredible flavours and delicious rich tomato sauce on the side and harissa to add to taste. For the more adventurous there is tripe and for those wanting home comforts they have a whole European menu with classics such as berber Shepherd Pie (sounded intriguing). Having gorged on lamb I didn't have space for a pud until I saw the next table's chocolate melting middle cake arrive. We shared one of these and it was divine.

With a very approachable and artfully cooked menu and understated beauty this great new spot sets new standards in the medina and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

This is such a fantastic review of your visit to Le Trou au Mur and especially great since you clearly have a good understanding of the Marrakech restaurant scene after 6 visits! We are delighted that you enjoyed your Meshoui and managed to find space to squeeze in a chocolate fondant.

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderfully kind review. We very much look forward to seeing you again for your 7th visit to the Red City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

We had a delicious dinner here in June. We sat on the roof terrace and enjoyed the evening sun. The menu was varied and interesting offering both Moroccan and International dishes. Everything sounded fantastic. My meal was extremely good with lots of flavour. The chocolate fontant was incredible! Would highly recommend. Great service from friendly and knowledgable staff.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElenaOP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Le Trou au Mur, we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening sitting up on our roof terrace as well as the food! We are very proud of our team who love talking to our guests about the dishes so I am delighted that shone through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Behind the Museum of Marrakech, in so small street, is hidden the Trou au Mur. This freshly opened restaurant is already one of the best -if not the best- place to eat in the ochre city. The choice between international dishes and traditional Moroccan foods will become your main issue as all is perfectly executed! And for a very reasonable final bill at the end ! I could go on and on about this fantastic discovery but the best is to try... I consider myself as an expert of Marrakech as I've been coming every year since the late 90's. I can't remember the last time I had such a great dinner !

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zitoun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a wonderful review. This is hugely kind of you and we hope that we can look forward to seeing you in Marrakech and Le Trou au Mur again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

We came here after reading an article on the internet regarding food in Marrakech. It’s a diamond in the rough hole in the wall restaurant and guess what...the restaurant name literally translates to “hole in the wall”.
Service was exceptional. Try the Casablanca beer to get the Moroccan local flavor. Venture out on your second round to the blonde Belgium beer (quite refreshing). I ordered the berkoukesh starter as my meal and was very pleased as it was delicious. My husband had the Tangia entree plate and was quite happy with the selection of the tender lamb shank that you could mix with the accompanying couscous. They bring a mix of breads out with the meal. WiFi is available at the request of a password. They speak English and French and accept credit cards. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Le Trou au Mur, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal especially the Berkoukesh which is an old moroccan dish that is rarely found outside the home these days. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Trou au Mur also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Trou au Mur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing