We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE new restaurant in the Medina”
Review of Le Trou au Mur

Le Trou au Mur
Ranked #116 of 1,017 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $18 - $53
Description: Le Trou au Mur brings a breath of fresh air to the Marrakech restaurant scene. Chic, laid back, fun, relaxed, intimate and comfortable but, above all, totally serious about food. Set in a small riad in the oldest part of the medina, the décor is a unique blend of superb local craftsmanship with the best of modern European style.
Restaurant details
Description: Le Trou au Mur brings a breath of fresh air to the Marrakech restaurant scene. Chic, laid back, fun, relaxed, intimate and comfortable but, above all, totally serious about food. Set in a small riad in the oldest part of the medina, the décor is a unique blend of superb local craftsmanship with the best of modern European style.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Behind the Museum of Marrakech, in so small street, is hidden the Trou au Mur. This freshly opened restaurant is already one of the best -if not the best- place to eat in the ochre city. The choice between international dishes and traditional Moroccan foods will become your main issue as all is perfectly executed! And for a very reasonable final bill at the end ! I could go on and on about this fantastic discovery but the best is to try... I consider myself as an expert of Marrakech as I've been coming every year since the late 90's. I can't remember the last time I had such a great dinner !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zitoun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a wonderful review. This is hugely kind of you and we hope that we can look forward to seeing you in Marrakech and Le Trou au Mur again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

We came here after reading an article on the internet regarding food in Marrakech. It’s a diamond in the rough hole in the wall restaurant and guess what...the restaurant name literally translates to “hole in the wall”.
Service was exceptional. Try the Casablanca beer to get the Moroccan local flavor. Venture out on your second round to the blonde Belgium beer (quite refreshing). I ordered the berkoukesh starter as my meal and was very pleased as it was delicious. My husband had the Tangia entree plate and was quite happy with the selection of the tender lamb shank that you could mix with the accompanying couscous. They bring a mix of breads out with the meal. WiFi is available at the request of a password. They speak English and French and accept credit cards. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Le Trou au Mur, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal especially the Berkoukesh which is an old moroccan dish that is rarely found outside the home these days. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018

Cocktails were served on the roof-top with a view of the Medina and the sunset. Then we (group of 4) were guided downstairs to the dining hall. Our Berber waiter explained the different ways lamb was prepared and served and each ordered according to their preferences The meat was so tender and seasoned just right. The only sound you can hear from our table was hmmmmm yummmm and ohhhhh. Even if we were already full we still ordered our dessert. Again, our waiter told us what they offer. If we had stayed longer, we would have dined here every night!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank agroe61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

This is such a great review thank you very much! We are all thrilled that you enjoyed you meal so much and hope that you will return on a future visit to Marrakech!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

A great place to eat in the old town.
James and his team make you feel most welcome and the food is exquisite. The stuffed Calamari, the tempura veg, the Mac n cheese (divine) and the Shepard’s pie all throughly recommended.

So god we went there twice.

Oh and don’t forget the Marinis.

1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Thank your this glowing review of your visit to Le Trou au Mur! We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening but particularly pleased you enjoyed our Martini list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

What a find! Cannot fault it. The food, service and setting is excellent and very reasonably priced. Absolutely loved it. Try the sardines and shepherds pie - amazing! Staff are wonderful and make you very welcome.

1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Le Trou au Mur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Thank you very much for this great review of your visit! We are delighted that you enjoyed the Sardines and Shepherds pie. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Trou au Mur also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Trou au Mur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing