We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A little piece of heaven in Morocco...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ecolodge Quaryati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ecolodge Quaryati
Ranked #19 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven in Morocco...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Me and my other half visited Morocco for the first time in May and after a loooooong trip from London Gatwick (we caught the flight just after 6am, shudder...), we arrived at the Ecolodge. We had arranged with Francoise to have a taxi pick us up from the airport which we were so grateful for after a long trip and the driver was great, very patient with us frantically looking around for an ATM too!

After coming away from the craziness of London life, to be greeted with biscuits and some delicious mint tea (which we both got absolutely hooked on whilst we visited) was simply divine. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and we loved our room. The hotel itself feels luxurious but also down-to-earth and it's simplicity was perfect for us. Warning: the pool is freezing but trust me, if you arrive in over 30 centigrade heat like we did, you'll be grateful for it. The place itself is also full of peacocks and very lovely cats who we enjoyed making friends with.

The food is really great and very reasonably priced. The first night we were there, we had the tagine and it was delicious! My boyfriend and I kept ordering this and the mint tea and loved sitting outside when we could in the evening. The staff and Francoise were very warm and genuine which made us feel so welcome! Francoise was incredibly helpful when we wanted to go into Marrakech itself, lending us a Lonely Planet book and even drawing on a map for us! The hotel is about half an hour from the hustle and bustle of Marrkech itself but believe me when I say, this is perfect: after visiting this bright and intense city, you are grateful for the peace and quiet to relax in afterwards.

Whilst we visited, we also booked a private Hammam for the two of us which was fabulous and very relaxing! My skin felt so smooth afterwards.

It's now June and, even after a month, my boyfriend and I are still recovering from our post-holiday blues that we had after leaving this place! We're already discussing returning and we can't wait! I really cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you to Francoise and all of her lovely staff for such a wonderful & romantic holiday! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    34
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
86
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Thankyou Francoise, for a lovely holiday!
Have just got back to the UK and am missing the lovely ecolodge quaryati already.
Just as others have said, beautiful grounds, friendly and polite staff, healthy and delicious food...
we did some trips while there - quad biking, trips to medina.... but were also grateful to return to the tranquillity of the grounds.
We will be back!
Angela and family

Room Tip: They all seemed lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelofthemarches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our stay comprised 7 days 20–27 December, the first time we had been away for Christmas since we were married back in the mists of last century. We had neither of us been to Maroc, nor even to Africa, and had no real idea what to expect.

In the dark, Quaryati Lodge seemed a long, long way up a bumpy track from the main road but our cab driver (ordered ahead of time, a good idea) hung tough and we were relieved and delighted to arrive.

It all made better sense the following morning. Our apartment was comfortable and spacious enough, the main building welcoming and stylish with its open log fire in the evening, the staff as helpful as could be, and the grounds a delight. The view from the roof puts the location into context, and at dusk the effect of the sun's last rays splashing the peaks of the snow-covered high Atlas to the SW quite spectacular

Ours was pretty much a hideaway holiday and if this is what you're after, I cannot recommend it strongly enough. Even so, dinner on Christmas Eve, in the French style, was very jolly with several very different anglophone couples getting on famously.

The daily navette to Marrakech is a useful service, but we visited only once, preferring poolside peacefulness. Daytime temps were as high as 23C but the water in the pool is cold...very cold!

Our thanks to Françoise and her staff for a great holiday experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinH916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We are back from a 3 night stay coming to rejuvenate after a week travelling. We have 3 children who were made to feel very welcome. We really liked the decor, the place feels luxurious enough without imposing on he the surrounding area as it is built in traditional style. The food is also very good and Francoise was really helpful. There is not much to do with children however and it would have been easier for us if we would have kept our rental car to have trips in the countryside nearby.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GLr845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

+

The location of Quarayti is stunning, there's a beautiful pool and a view of the atlas mountains. The reception area and rooms were really lovely too, very clean and welcoming. It had a relaxing atmosphere and was very peaceful, not the place to go if you want entertainment and activities but somewhere to go if you want a little escape. The staff were generally good and friendly. We did enjoy our stay here however feel there are some things which need to be noted, to other staying and also to the attention of the staff so they can improve.

-
Food - Both not eating meat we had more limited options, which we expected and was fine, but the food could definitely do with improving. It was limited and very bland at times, really not what you want to sit down to after a relaxing day.

Facilities and 'Extras' - We booked on Groupon where it was stated we would get a hamman each and 1h Morrocan cookery course. We booked both of these and were then told the hamman was broken so we wouldn't be able to use it. We were disappointed and we'd waited all holiday to get one, but didn't make a fuss as there's nothing that could be done, and we were offered some wine as compensation. The 'cooking lesson' involved 15 minutes of us awkwardly standing in the kitchen watching the chefs, with a small amount of explanation from one of them. It was quite literally a joke.. I'm not sure whether it's because it wasn't peak season and we were the only ones, or whether it was because we booked on Groupon, but it was absolutely awful.

Overall, good, but a few extra things and you could really be running a 5* place, rather than a 3.5* (my opinion).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F_F27_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a 5 night visit at the Quaryati Eco Lodge. The lodge has been open for just over three years and the staff/owner are all very helpful/friendly. What I liked was the hotel recruits local village workers, who work here full time and some of the families helped build the hotel. Was strange having a hamam then being served dinner by the same person.

There are peacocks, chickens and cats roaming around the grounds freely and the gardens are well presented.

The staff leave you alone and are laid back. Don't expect things to happen at a snap of your fingers - remember you are on holiday so relax and enjoy.

The location has both positives and negatives:

Positives:

Isolated so you can relax away from the busy city.
Breathtaking views of High Atlas Mountains.
Half way between Marrakesh and Atlas Mountains.
Ideal for a short get away.


Negatives

Isolation means nothing else to do in the area.
Unless you catch a taxi to Marrakesh in the evenings ~ 400 MAD each way, you are restricted to eating at the hotel. to be fair the average price was 120 MAD pp.
Would be nice if the hotel put on some evening entertainment.
There is free wifi but if more then 4 people are connected you get connection problems.

Overall had a really nice time with my partner and would consider visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a roof terrace so you can star gaze and see the Sun Rise/Set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaleem a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend at the beginning of September. On balance we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, but there are definitely things they could improve. The pool and gardens are amazing. If you want a relaxing week, this is definitely the place to come. Its out of the way, and all we did was sit by the pool for 5 days, sunbathing in the 30 degree heat. The rooms are pretty basic, but nice and big and comfortable. The negatives for me were the mozzies, of which there were loads, but we were told this is not common, and in fairness only last for 2-3 of the days. Also the food was very samey. Bearing in mind you cannot go out to dinner as there is nothing around, I found it surprising they didnt vary the menu much. If you stayed here for more than a few days you would crave different food. Saying that, the surroundings more than made up for it. I would come back again in a heartbeat, but only if I wanted a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megeve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
13.4 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#115 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.8 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
10.3 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#101 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#208 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
13.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecolodge Quaryati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge Quaryati

Property: Ecolodge Quaryati
Address: Douar Tounsi, Sidi Abdallah Ghiat | BP 548 Marrakech Principale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ecolodge Quaryati 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Ecolodge Quaryati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing