We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, remote place with great view of the Atlas mountains. Difficult to find!”
Review of Ecolodge Quaryati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ecolodge Quaryati
Ranked #23 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place is lovely, very remote and good value. Great pool and good food in the restaurant and a good buffet breakfast. There is a Menu which as far as I gathered you could order off as long as you were not ordering at the meal times. In which case you would get the meal of the day.

The dining room and communal area complete with an open fire is great and it has a very social atmosphere with a lot of chatting amongst guests etc until the evening about the various adventures of the day.

The rooms are spacious and clean and have everything you need.

If you go there make sure you contact them well before and arrange transport from the airport with the hotel. The Expedia address and phone number we had were not correct and taxi drivers will not necessarily know where it is and Generally charge you quite a bit of money for a long and stressful drive. Check the website of the hotel for the correct details and call or email in good time to book a car to pick you up! Pretty much everyone we met there had had problems getting a cab or driving there themselves there and contacting the owner. It is not easy to find and barely signposted, once you are close you could be driving around in circles for hours and be none the wiser. The communication from the staff is not great and you have to ask if you want to know something, if the owner or her kids are not around make sure you brush up on your French. Once you get past those small issues its a beautiful, quiet and natural place to stay, which is actually only 30-40mins out of Marrakech. Take ear plugs the peacocks can be a bit loud at night/early morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XavierSheriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 225 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked a few days before arriving having read favourable reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed.
The hotel is positioned midway between Marrakech and the foothills of the High Atlas Mountains (Approx. 30mins either way). It is about 10-15mins down stone tracks off the tarmac road but is well worth finding.
Staff, lead by Francoise are superb and very helpful and attentive. Francoise is the only one who speaks good English, the others speaking French, but we all got by very well indeed with no issues at all.
Food is excellent quality, all homemade, and organic. We tended to go for the 3 course set menu each night at 165 MAD (approx. £13.50) which was very good value. All washed down with a bottle of very nice local red wine at approx.. £12.00. The beer, Flag, is also very tasty.
As others have said, we really do recommend asking the hotel directly to arrange to collect you from the airport, as it would seem that not many taxi drivers who picked up other guests knew where it was, and also tried to charge extortionate prices.
We took advantage of the free transport into the city on three occasions which all works very well setting off at 10.00am and collecting you at 5.00pm.
We also hired a car which was arranged through the hotel, which we used to explore the mountains. Francoise gave us maps and advice on best routes etc. and both days were fantastic and very different.
The rooms are delightful, they are set within beautifully tended gardens with resident peacocks and very, very friendly cats, although they never came into the rooms.
There is a lovely pool, although water was freezing when we were there.
We also had a full body massage on the last day on site, in a special room in the gardens that they have. This lasted virtually 1 hour and was very good value at approx. £28.00 each.
If you want to stay away from the city in an amazingly peaceful and tranquil setting we highly recommend this accommodation. At night the only noises we ever heard were from the amorous peacocks and frogs, no traffic or city noise at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kencnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel lived up to all our expectations. The setting was beautiful, the staff friendly, the food delicious, and the rooms spacious and comfy. The pool was amazing - and there was nothing like sunbathing whilst looking out at an amazing view of the snow capped mountains. We loved everything about it and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LucyC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After a short flight from London we arrived at the airport, greeted by our (pre-booked-highly recommended!!!) taxi driver. It would have been impossible to find otherwise, especially in the dark. However, we came to appreciate the tranquility and distance from Marrakech itself. Waking up in the morning and seeing the Atlas Mountains was a daily treat at Ecolodge Quaryati.

This is one of the reasons why we booked it. The landscape is incredible, the daily visits from the donkeys, cats, peacocks, birds and various other forms of wildlife at the lodge were welcomed.All the staff were lovely, Francoise the Manager oversees everything and her hospitality was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and she helped us to book a day trip into the mountains (with a guide) and a trip to Essaouiera by taxi and back. A Daily taxi also leaves the lodge at 10am returns at 5pm for a trip into Marrakech itself. It may have been nice to have an evening taxi service to be able to go and see Marrakech for a few hours as this is when it comes alive with a different vibe. I'm sure you could book a taxi separately for this though.

The accommodation itself was great (we had a twin room) and spacious- the rooms cleaned every day. The breakfast was also lovely, I need to go on a bit of a diet now I'm back! as there was plenty to choose from. Delicious breads, cheeses, yoghurts, pancakes, fruit, fresh orange juice etc and lots of strong coffee!! There wasn't a set evening menu as such but staff were able to prepare a range of tagines, salads, soups etc. Just ask. Speaking a bit of French goes a long way.

It was really laid back here and it was good to go with the flow and be able to relax by the pool and soak up the tranquility. We were pretty lucky with the weather too, it got up to 30 degrees on one day, It's not great in the UK at the moment so it was really hard to leave. 5 days was not enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here on a last minute getaway - and that's exactly what it was, a real getaway! Out of town by a fair distance might have been a problem but for the arrangement by the hotel for a free shuttle in and out of Marrakech.

Francoise and her staff were fantastic, so friendly and accommodating, the rooms were large, clean and the beds were made and we had clean towels every day. We loved the food, which was tasty and always well presented. Cold evenings were warmed as we sat comfortably by a wonderful log fire with a glass of local wine.

We loved our stay, a perfect distance from the Atlas Mountains and Marrakech.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpyField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I would highly recommend the Quaryati Lodge to couples and families--the views are spectacular, rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, and the staff is beyond friendly. We've been to Marrakech several times but the Quaryati provides a different kind of experience. Of course it has easy access to the medina but also offers wonderful countryside excursions and a relaxing setting that might tempt visitors to just stay put. Food was delicious and the rabbit tagine is not to be missed. Staff was also very willing to prepare simple fare for children. My children loved everything about the place--especially the peacocks--and are already asking to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Lovely place, friendly staff. Need to improve the quality of service from firendly to professionnel need also to review the restaurant Chef, i had the feeling to eat at home & not in a hotel (As I am Moroccan).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeVeR2LaTe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
13.3 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#82 of 502 in Marrakech
677 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#334 of 502 in Marrakech
234 reviews
13.7 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#5 of 304 in Marrakech
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Riad La Rose Du Desert
Riad La Rose Du Desert
#11 of 304 in Marrakech
282 reviews
10.2 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#2 of 304 in Marrakech
395 reviews
11.1 mi away
Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa
Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa
#71 of 304 in Marrakech
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecolodge Quaryati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge Quaryati

Address: Douar Tounsi, Sidi Abdallah Ghiat | BP 548 Marrakech Principale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $67 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ecolodge Quaryati 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ecolodge Quaryati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing