We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Aguaviva
Ranked #11 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

You'll never chance upon Riad Aguaviva, it's tucked away down a very low ceilinged alley with no signage, but you'll be really glad you sought it out. It's an oasis of calm in the madness of Marrakech, yet still only about 15 - 20 minutes from Jemaa el Fnaa.
Sara, Oti, Simo and Cesc simply cannot do enough for you - Sara took us out on our first afternoon and walked us through the Medina, through a myriad of labyrinthine souks, pointing out reference points and way points, and out to Jemaa el Fnaa; then she let us find our own way back. And it's a brilliant way to orient yourself! Because of this we packed as much into our first afternoon as I expected to in our whole time there.
Breakfast, up on the terrace, begins the day with a casual chat and an outline of a suggested route and things to do, Sara annotating the map with hints, tips and guidance. We were good students and didn't go 'off piste' much but the grounding we got made us feel confident enough to step out on our own path every now and then.
As I said, Sara and co cannot do enough for you - my wife was unwell and they looked after her, letting us stay in our room after checkout and even bringing her something simple to eat and drink while we waited for our cab.
It's a lovely atmosphere staffed by friendly, caring people. Go there and have a fabulous time - we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
365
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It has been a few months now and I finally have taken the effort to review this unique Riad which is within the Medina but close enough to the Medina wall to get out of the old city too.
The hospitality of the entire team was amazing. Cesc & Oti giving providing us with a personal experience by e.g. advising on where to go, drawing us maps on how to get there as well as the wonderful breakfast result in a refreshing customer focused experience all the other staff as well (Thais, Simo, Ibtisan & Sukain). The kitchen producing those delicious breakfasts and the decoration within the Riad are giving it a real identity too, esp. the paintings made by owner David.
That all on walking distance from all the big attractions and at such a reasonable price - try to book this place when visiting Marrakech!
Micha & Rose

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodTravelManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 5 days in Marrakech and I am sure we will remember this holiday also for the warm welcome and the fantastic people we met at the Riad Aguaviva.
We enjoyed a lot the breakfast with home cooked specialities. A very special thank to Sara for her suggestions and the first tour in the old Medina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not far from the hustle and bustle of Baba Kashish on the northern tip of the old medina is a special oasis called the Riad Aguaviva. As one navigates the mazes of the old alleyways and attends to the over stimulation of noise, sounds, and smells, in the most unassuming 'hole in the wall' is the entry to Riad Aguaviva. We booked the entire Riad for a week and each day that we returned from adventures, our collective sense of immediate calm and relief was immediate as we stepped through the threshold of the Riad. The staff at the Riad was enthusiastic, passionate, and caring from the beginning of our stay to our early departure to the airport on our last day. Orientation to the medina, hospitality, food choice, story telling, and comforting weary travelers were undertaken with good cheer, humor, love, and care. The Riad Aguaviva has earned its reputation for being an outstanding home away from home.

Room Tip: Each room at the Riad has its own character. The online web site are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LevGonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Riad for 1 week. It is a jewel hidden in the maze of alleyways of the old Medina. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable, felt at home and were able to negotiate the wonderful craziness and enjoy the historic sites of Marrakesh. laundry was done, money was changed, trips arranged and local treats and refreshments were provided after long days in the markets. Cesc, Sarah, Aina and Simon Muhamed were gracious, warm, knowledgable, genuine,helpful and wonderful. We also learned about Catalan history and saw David's beautiful artwork on the walls of the Riad. We have travelled around the world and have never stayed in such a genuinely warm, welcoming and helpful environment. Thank you Cesc, David and Manel! Ted and Liza

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Aguaviva for our honeymoon. The service was exceptional and the staff were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about Marrakech. The Riad itself is lovely too - we enjoyed home-cooked breakfasts each day by the pool, which helped prepare us for the craziness of the city. We were given a personal tour to the main square, Djemaa El Fna, so that we could learn to navigate the alleyways without getting lost. Their local knowledge is amazing and they will really go to any length to ensure your stay is enjoyable. They helped us with restaurant reservations and helped organise a day-trip for us to the Ourika Valley. I really can't recommend Riad Aguaviva enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_N82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Words cannot express our gratitude for the wonderfully attentive and superb service we have received here. Many thanks to David and Manel and all their wonderful staff for the personal tours, recommendations and attention to detail. If you want a wonderful oasis of calm within an otherwise manic Marrakech, this is definitely the place to stay. Beautifully prepared breakfasts, mint teas and plenty of good company/hospitality. I cannot recommend highly enough. If you are considering, then do book!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lorriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#7 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#3 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Property: Riad Aguaviva
Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing