We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous exotic oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Terra Bahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Terra Bahia
Ranked #230 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“A fabulous exotic oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

What a beautiful hotel. It really is a little oasis in the centre of Medina. We could only stay one night, but would have loved to stay so much longer. The hotel is really tastefully decorated, staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. It only has 6 bedrooms so at times it almost feels like your own home. There is a pool on the rooftop with cosy seating areas for shade day / night-time eating. If you are staying in Marrakesh, don't miss it. The suite at the top of the house is definitely the best option to stay, grab it if its free.

Room Tip: The top floor suite....its opens onto the terrace with the pool and beautiful seating areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good points:
Location of the riad was good, it was just off a main road but as we arrived so late at night (1.30am) it proved difficult to find for the taxi driver. Re-iterating a comment below, ask the taxi driver to take you to La Tanjia restaurant (which is very well known) and it is down the narrow street to the right of the restaurant maybe 150 yards or so. Even though we arrived so late, the night staff had been waiting for us and offered us tea when we arrived.
We stayed in the superior suite which was very spacious and well decorated and included a sofa, plenty of mirrors for getting ready and good facilities. It looked even better than the pictures. Our room was the only room on the roof terrace which was nice and we often had the space to ourselves to use the pool and seating areas with nice views.
Saeed the manager was very friendly and welcoming, he was always willing to help us and provide us with information when we needed. He told us about and booked us a day trip to the Atlas mountains which was one of our best experiences we had on our trip.
The food at the riad was delicious and nicer than any restaurants that we ate at including La Tanjia, we highly recommend eating there.
All the staff were very helpful, kind and friendly and whenever we asked for anything it was provided quickly such as ironing, tea, breakfast and lunch which was kindly prepared for us on a last minute request.
The riad was close to Jamaa El Fna, about a 10-15 minute walk, as well as other places to visit such as Palais de Bahia and Palais El Badi. The riad was also only 10-15 minutes from the airport.

Bad points:
There was nothing that we were particularly unhappy about during our stay. However, although wifi was provided and was good around the whole riad we didn’t get very good signal from our room on the roof terrace. This was not a big issue as we had wifi outside our room on the terrace in some spots. We spoke to Saeed about this who informed us that they are looking into getting some additional connections which would be good for future guests. The only other thing was that the breakfast was very limited compare to other riads we stayed in.

Room Tip: Make sure to pick the superior suite. It's well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razwaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
274 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This place could be wonderful. Firstly it is ve Ryan well sited and within easy walking distance of everything in central Marrakesh. The room we had which I understand is the best one was nicely furnished. Shower rather limited though. Sprayed all over the place as needs attention to shower head. Also somewhat variable in temp and force. Also bed like a rock! Breakfast is v limited indeed and we did eat there on first night but found food poor and overpriced compared with places we ate in Marrakesh. Nice rooftop area with plunge pool which is an excellent spot to spend hot afternoons. Also has a verandah area where you can eat/ drink. Only problem was that it stank of cat piss and it was easy to see why when we were up there. I like cats but I don't want them marking their territory as one large Tom does constantly where I'm eating. Staff v helpful although at times we wondered where they were. Overall I think this is an OK place to stay but it could and should e so much better with some attention to detail. One other thing. Helps if you speak french

Room Tip: Atlas room best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Magnificent place in old Medina....well decorating.. like that you are in past time of old Marrakech....sitting on the terasse and looking at Atlas mountain....is unique expirience .....Lovely place..nice food ...and atmosphere ....top customer service and nice location in Medina ...U must visit this place !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serg1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The place is in the old Medina and is a real oasis! The monent you go throug the door you feel like in the fairy tail! The owner is a very pleasant french women who decorated the place herself with a lots of style, preserving the original style of the beautiful atrium house from 18th century. Rooftop terrace w a small swimming pool and a great service... One of the best places I ever visited :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milutin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here and found it to be a haven from the bustle of the medina outside. It was also quite close to the outside of the walls so easy to get a taxi etc. The rooms were tastefully decorated and quite roomy with a comfortable bed. The shower was also good. The rooftop area with its view across to the palace walls and nesting storks, and the snow capped High Atlas mountains beyond, was a real highlight. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the whole place had a good feel to it. The only disappointment was the food. The breakfasts and dinners were quite mediocre and seemed to get smaller each day. I would still stay here again but would probably eat dinner elsewhere. There were plenty of options but we'd had enough by the end of each day and decided to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The Riad has been thoughtfully put together, both the rooms and common areas are very well decorated. Wifi was a bit dead in my room, but not the end of the world. My room was comfortable, clean, well decorated and had a very comfy bed. The location is ok, maybe a little further from the main square than most would like, but it is quiet and there is a nice bar with good music around the corner. The staff were nice, but could not speak great English. The breakfast was ok. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BDBSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#77 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#161 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#147 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#74 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Nesma
Riad Nesma
#138 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Terra Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Terra Bahia

Property: Riad Terra Bahia
Address: No9 Derb Jdid, | Quartier Assalam, Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Terra Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Terra Bahia dates the 18th century, he was renovated and decorated in a Moroccan and modern style at the same time. It is situated in 5 minutes on foot of the Palace Bahia, the palace Badi and the graves of Saadiens as well as in 10 minutes on foot the square Jema El Fna and of Koutoubia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Terra Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing