We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil haven amidst the hussle and bussle - a fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Slawi
Ranked #90 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tranquil haven amidst the hussle and bussle - a fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

From the moment we stepped through the door into the Riad we knew we'd arrived somewhere special. The warmth of the welcome extended by Adam was just so genuine. On the first evening he took us to a local cafe and, so that we didn't get lost, he came back to show us the way home. This level of service was maintained throughout our stay.

This Riad is not about 5 star opulence. It is about the generosity of spirit and friendliness of the team working there. It is about the calm and tranquil atmosphere. It is spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are varied and excellent. The one evening meal we had was a feast! Riad Slawi has a real honesty and integrity about it. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Caviars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    39
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
224
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

It is excellent and lives up to it's reviews, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
355 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

Visited this guest house in late May. Never having been in Morocco we were a little taken aback by its surroundings in comparison to the rave reviews we had read. A venture out to the local market place had us wanting to go home immediately!!!
However we have led sheltered lives and after getting over the initial trauma of wandering in narrow alleyways ( jumping out of the way of mopeds, cyclists and cars) we really started to take notice of the people and the different pace of life. We thoroughly enjoyed the hustle of the main market, got into the way of haggling (kind of) and could return to our 'little oasis of calm' which is the Riad Slawi. Our host, Mustapha, was genuinely kind and helpful and spoke great English along with several other languages.
We also noticed that he cares for the well-being of his guests, going out late one night to look for people he thought might have gotten lost returning to the guest house! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, organising taxis, guides, even preparing breakfast with my not so easy to use gluten-free flour.(take your own if you need it cos I don't think it is readily available) The rooms have fridges that are well stocked with mostly branded soft drinks at reasonable prices, great for relaxing on the roof-top terrace with.
Our main tip would be to get Adam or Mustapha to organise your taxi transfers to/from the airport - as apart from being unable to, independently, find the guest house from where the taxi drops you, it works out much cheaper - typically 100/150 dirhams(around £8/14)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravellingmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

Riad Slawi lives up to everything that people say about it on Trip Advisor, and more! The place is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We were made very welcome by Adam, who also cooked a traditional Moroccan meal for us on two nights - delicious food. Breakfast was great too. The riad is situated well into the medina, so there is a good 5 to 10 minute walk from the taxi drop-off to the riad, but the walk through the alleys and narrow lanes was never threatening and always interesting. You can find your way round within a day. Adam arranges for your luggage to be carried by hand-cart to and from the taxi, as well as the taxi from the airport.
Our stay was enhanced by our fellow-guests, who were extremely friendly and pleasant, and we spent a very enjoyable time chatting on the roof terrace a couple of times a day.
We found the souks very busy and noisy, but fun! To get rid of any over-insistent salesmen, just tell them you've just bought whatever it is/you'll come back later/you can't stay because your friends are waiting just over there! It usually works but if they persist, just say "Non, merci" firmly and walk away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

We arrived Marrakech and took a taxi straight to Riad Slawi. A carter took us to the door and we were welcomed by Patrick's father, (sorry can;t remember his name now!!). We were given mint tea while we filled in the forms. Our room was long and narrow with a tiny bathroom and shower. There was a tiny fridge and still room for an extra child's bed.

Patrick;s father was trully amazing. He arranged for a guide to take us to the medina free of charge. It was late and we would never have found it down all those back streets! I needed a taxi early the next morning and it was going to be late. No problem, Patrick's father sorted it all out. He couldn't do enough even though he was working past 10 pm. I was so impressed I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Marrakech is mad, and this place balances it all out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shropshirelass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Just returned home after staying 2 nights at Riad Slawi on our first vist visit to Marrakech. An ideal Riad for first time visitors as the manager, Adam, did everything he could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Arranged a taxi pick up from the airport and helped with advice and directions. Although the Riad is a some way from the main square, once we had found our bearings it was no more than a 15 minute walk if we went the most direct route but we had great fun getting lost in the maze of alleys and stumbling on new sights at every turn. The Riad is beautifully decorated, has a lovely roof terrase and our room was very clean and comfortable. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wewannagoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Slawi is a great budget riad, managed by Adam, who is incredibly helpful to all who come (and especially during the volcanic ash storm, when so many travellers had so many issues to deal with). It has a traditional Moroccan feel and comfortable rooms..definitely worth staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#121 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#87 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#68 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#51 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#119 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Property: Riad Slawi
Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing